We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine location to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Dom Joao II
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
wiltshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fine location to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

Hotel located next to beach with lovely gardens and large pool area. Book a room with garden/sea view or you will overlook the carpark. All areas of hotel very clean. There is an indoor Spa area with an indoor swimming pool. Sadly the water was freezing making it unpleasant to swim in. Rooms have been refurburished with a very modern theme and are comfortable. There was no information on the hotel or the resort in the room nor was there a hairdryer in the room, the latter could be obtained from reception. There was a small fridge which was useful for keeping drinks cool. The safe deposit box was Euro 2 per day. Clothes storage might be a problem as the 'wardrobe' has more shelving than hanging space. Coathangers are very small making it difficult to hang clothes up.
The hotel runs a courtesy bus in to Portimao and there are service bus stops outside the hotel.
The hotel is a 15 min or so stroll into Alvor where you can find many varied places to eat. DO NOT miss the opportunity to call into the Cactos II bar in the Dunas Appt complex on your way. There you and your family will be made most welcome and you can enjoy a pint of Super Bock from a frozen glass at only Euro1!
Summing up this hotel is in a good location for a relaxing break and is comfortable to stay in however the biggest minus for us were the reception staff who were unhelpful and unfriendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birthdayoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    609
    201
    52
    61
See reviews for
426
678
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

Myself and my boyfriend have just got back today from this hotel and we loved it. The staff were so helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean ( recently refurbished ) and the rooms were a good size. (The glass window in the bathroom was a bit different but cool)!!
Our view was amazing over looking the pool, gardens and the fantastic ,clean beach.
It was just a short walk to Alvor which is beautiful and to top it all we had fab weather as well.
We were on a Bed and Breakfast basis which suited us as we love eating out and trying different places.
Although we did not eat any other meals there I noticed that they were quite expensive and the drinks certainly were so nearly every evening we had a little drink in town.
This was the only down side as on a whole the place was great and we will go there again when we return next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavicNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork, ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

stayed in Pestana Dom Jaoa in February 2009. Have to say that we were very impressed. Hotel recently renovated and is now beautifully presented. The hotel ticks all the boxes. staff were pleasant, rooms small but elegantly furnished. We went on a B&B basis, a pleasant breakfast ensured a nice start to the day. The hotel has a beautiful position facing the beach and is a short stroll of about 10 minutes to Alvor centre.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norrie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

We returned from the Dom Joao on 28th April 2009 after a thoroughly enjoyable week in this excellent hotel. I booked it purely because of the beachfront location and, having read some of the reviews on this site, didn't expect it to live up to it's 4* rating. I couldn't have been more wrong!

The hotel has very recently been completely refurbished to a very nice standard. I've stayed in plenty of 4* hotels and this is one of the best. We booked a 'garden view' room and put in a request for a first floor room (we have a 3 yr old and didn't want to be on a higher floor). We were given a lovely first floor room with great view over the gardens and the sea beyond.

The breakfast was excellent, a huge variety of breads, cheeses, fruits, yoghurts, hams, cereals, plus hot food too. I'm not saying there was a full English breakfast, but why would there be - it's in Portugal not England.

Having read the reviews on the food we booked B&B, but having tried the dinner we wish we had booked half board - the price wasn't an awful lot more if booked in advance, but if you buy the dinner there it is 28 euros per person per dinner - we couldn't afford it every night, but wish we could have because dinner consisted of a massive buffet with loads of different salads, soup, about 6 different hot dishes, fantastic desserts - we were very impressed.

I've got to say that the staff in the hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful. In fact we found the same in the local restaurants and that the Portugese in general are warm and kind people.

We are hoping to be back at the Dom Joao in September and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a beach holiday (a QUIET beach holiday!) there is no night life here to speak of, but ideal for us with a young child.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillSouthWestEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

This hotel sits within view of the ocean. The rooms have a glass wall between the bath and the room making it appear much larger than it is. (there's a shade to draw if you want your privacy in the bath.) Done over in baby blues, whites, creams and reds, it is sleek, modern and funky without being over the top.
Restaurant staff very nice. Beautifully landscaped pool. Within walking of the small town and it's restaurants. You can see this town can get packed during the high season, but mid April was perfect weather and not that many tourists. Too cold to go into the water but not too cold for pool side sunning.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, ON Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

We have spent a most enjoyable month of March at the Pestana Dom Joao 11 Resort and Villas in Alvor, Portugal. Alvor is a very pleasant area with ample interesting restaurants close by and beautiful seashore access

We stayed in a Villa which is very spacious and adjacent to the sea. The Villas are undergoing renovations at the present time. The Villa which we stayed in had newer carpets and the sofa and chairs had recently been reupholstered. The kitchen will require further updating with a new cooking unit, together with suitable pots to use. The management did supply us with some more suitable cooking pots - an improvement! The addition of an electric kettle would also be a welcome addition to the kitchen.

The grounds are well kept and the Dom Joao11 Hotel has recently been remodeled and provides a variety of entertainment.

All in all, our stay at this location was good and we will no doubt return

Helpful?
1 Thank Kinogama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

This hotel is located directly on the beech, it has a good swimming pool. The bar is expensive compared to local pricing and the age profile at this time of the year is quite old, we think I was the second youngest couple in the hotel and we are mid 30's!

The broadband is a disaster, when you log on they get you to register to the hot spot and then bill your credit card, after that the message comes up that you have to go to reception to get a login code and that your registration is useless, at €8 an hour is a rip off too.

The Good:
Location, our 5th floor rooms seemed brand new and very comfortable

The bad:
The bar was pricey, and the hot breakfast is poor

The ugly:
The broadband is a disaster....

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holeinthehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
0.4 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Dom Joao II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Property: Pestana Dom Joao II
Address: Marginal de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Family Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing