We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fresh Seafood Right on the Beach”

Tropico Beach Bar Restaurante
Ranked #32 of 151 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood Right on the Beach”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I ate a long, leisurely lunch at Tropico on a slightly overcast day, with a friend who is a frequent visitor. I had been there once before for dinner and was very impressed with the fresh seafood and excellent, friendly service.

We were not disappointed. The service was really good and we were very well looked after ( including a couple of complimentary re-fills of an excellent local Port). My friend had a prawns with rice dish that he pronounced truly excellent. Although I just had Chicken Piri Piri, it was perfectly done, spicy but not too hot and came with an excellent fresh salad.

The prices are very reasonable for food on the beach and the food is definitely way above the average. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    69
    19
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avoca, Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Without doubt the best restaurant in Alvor!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Can highly recommend Tropico as the best restaurant in Alvor. We knew Mario and Amandio from their previous restaurant and sought them out on this trip - as always great service from very friendly staff. The fish is so fresh and beautifully cooked and on our last night we both had steaks - cooked to perfection and melt in the mouth. EVERYONE should visit Tropico in Alvor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fab restaurant located on the beach where you are always welcome.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We just love this place where you can relax and enjoy the many options that this restaurant has to offer. Be it an early morning coffee or juice, fab lunch or snack, a beer in the afternoon or dinner in the evening...this restaurant has it all. Congrats to Mario and Almondio who make this restaurant special and a place we love to visit regularly when on holiday in Portugal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Yummy lamb chops”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Basic restaurant on the beach, food was very good went for lunch and evening meal here and both were very good and reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank debbieq217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We ate lunch at this beach side restaurant on 2 or 3 occasions.

The selection of food here was a cut above the norm for lunch in the Algarve and the beach location was great too.

Service was always friendly and reasonably paced.

We didn't make it here for an evening meal but got the impression that the standard of cooking would have stood up to the extra expectation of dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee_Parlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropico Beach Bar Restaurante also viewed

 
Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Tropico Beach Bar Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing