We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great craic!”
Review of The Black Stove

The Black Stove
Ranked #9 of 21 Nightlife in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great craic!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had two great nights at the Black Stove, lively atmosphere, great live music that had everyone singing along and quite a few up dancing. The owner played some rare old tunes on the tin whistle & bar staff worked hard right through into the early hours. Not to be missed if you are in Alvor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaisypatAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    9
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Irish wholesome food”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Good spot if u want a bit of Irish food as they have potatoes with most meals., great spot to watch a GAA game., huge TV screen with several other tv's in the pub

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartinaD95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly bar staff”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I ate in the black stove a few times this summer and enjoyed my food everytime. The staff are very friendly also and service is great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank irishsunw0rshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here for a cold beer and retreat from sun! Have since been in here 3 more times to watch the footie. This pub is quiet in the day but buzzing at night - especially if a match is on. Had the steak and guiness pie and it was the best pie and mash I have had in a long time! Good home cooked irish food, a break from all the fish;)
So good for footie, beer and grub!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MEA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible service, not nice food. A place to miss”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We chose to eat in the Black Stove and definitely would not recommend it to anyone. On entering the empty bar we approached the bar looking for a menu. The bar maid and bar man continued a conversation away from us, looking over a few times but making no effort to serve us. Another lady working there passed by and said to take a seat that someone would be over soon. After waiting 15 minutes the same lady apologetically came over and took our order. The food ranged from good to very poor. Overall not a very family oriented place, very poor service and low quality food. Not worth a visit when so many other good restaurants in Alvor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackStoveAlvor, Owner at The Black Stove, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Chris,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, although, we are very disappointed that you were unhappy with the service.

Please be assured that we have brought your comments to the attention of the staff and we are confident that this will not happen again.

Best Regards,

The Black Stove, Alvor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Stove also viewed

 

Been to The Black Stove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing