We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids had a great time, apartment was huge!”
Review of Clube Alvorferias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clube Alvorferias
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Cambridge, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kids had a great time, apartment was huge!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent a week at the beginning of August at this hotel and had a great time. We were in apartment 621 which was very spacious and clean with lovely balcony with sea and pool views.
The sports and kids club were loved by all, the children still talk about Dario now and wish they were back there. It was nice for them to go off for a couple of hours and play games or a do a craft activity. They boys particularly enjoyed the football match with Claude.
I felt the rooms over the bridge were nicer too and the pool didn't feel as crowded.
Only 10/15 walk to main resort which was a nice walk to the cobbled streets and harbour, Alvor beaches are beautiful!
We decided to go to the BBQ/mini disco held at the hotel on our last night. It was excellent value for money and the food was very good. Kids loved the reptile show and mini disco although I think the show is more about making money from taking your photo with a snake or a tortoise but we all had a nice evening.
I was a bit worried about this hotel from the reviews I read but I have to say, the hotel and resort had everything we wanted for our family holiday.
The only down side was the man on reception was a bit grumpy and not that welcoming, having said that he managed to check us all in early and gave us the rooms on the side we had requested. And the phone in my parents room didn't work so it became an issue when he wanted to book a taxi as he was unable to do the walk to the restaurants and the taxi didn't always turn up!
Overall a lovely holiday and would definitely go back as would the kids, thanks to Claude and Dario for making their holiday!

Room Tip: Room 621 was dated but lovely and clean with lovely views. Choose over the bridge if you can. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank parasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    284
    209
    108
    71
See reviews for
473
197
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

After a disastrous stay in a hotel in Praia de Oura - we were moved to this hotel by Thomsons and believe me this was heaven in comparison! The apartment was spacious and clean, the kitchen and bathroom could do with being updated but were clean and usuable. We enjoyed our stay in what I consider a family friendly resort with the choice of 2 pools and restaurants. We didn't eat dinner at the restaurants only lunch on a few occassions as we like to explore, but what we did have was good. Entertainment was provided in the pool for the kids which seemed to consist of a man throwing rings/floates etc in the pool and the kids retrieve them, a bit repetative after a while but the kids seemed to enjoy it! We didn't have any noise issues, is by a fairly busy road so cars do go past, but wasn't a problem. As we went in school holidays you obviously pay more and to be honest I would expect more for the amount we paid but guess this would be the same wherever you went at this time. Beach was a bit of a walk and was a long sandy beach, but if you walk a little further to the left you will find a lovely cove hidden by rocks. All in all a nice place and definitely an improvement to our awful apartment in Albufiera!

Room Tip: I think the best rooms seemed to be in the part opposite the childrens play area and overlooked some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have just returned from a weeks stay and although it not ruin my holiday it did not enhance it.
We had 3 bed appt which was spacious but bathrooms were very dated and shower only ok and ran out of hot water easily. Bedrooms ok but beds were temporary beds and bedding didn't fit and were not comfy.
cleanliness could be improved, cleaners came most days but cupboards and wardrobes were already dirty and place generally needed a good spring clean. Additionally windows were broke and maintenance not
completed.
on the positive side the pools were nice and the bars were reasonable but this is not enough to warrant a return visit or recommend. Alvor is lovely but find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alvor hotels

Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a great stay at clube alvorferias, so glad we didn't listen to some of the reviews as we didn't experience half of the things that were wrote and find them hard to believe.

We stayed here five nights our apartment was very clean, and ideal for what we wanted. We spent most of our time at the hotel pool which is great always something going on for everyone, and we headed into alvor town for dinner which is a ten minute walk definitely did not need a taxi.

We stayed at the reception side and don't see what the difference is over the bridge they are identical!

Great staff, Ricardo makes the best mojitos we will definitely be back to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abbey96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice big rooms. We had the 2 bed apt. No lifts and 4 floors so not suitable for those with mobility issues.
Great pool area, can be busy high season but .always managed to get a
Sunbed. There are 2 pools both identical, opposite ends of complex. A nice children's play area for younger kids, tennis, sports + football pitches at rear of apt.
Bar area is clean but service is slow but friendly. Menu is basic although they do a bbq night. Would recommend self catering rather than half board, there are so many great restaurants in Alvor to choose from which is pleasant 15 min walk away.
If u are a beach lover then these pats maybe not for u as a good 20 min walk to main beach.
Overall a nice complex, good 3 star would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mgt230968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killaloe, Clare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from a two week family holiday @ Clube Alvorferias.

From the minute we arrived, approximately 11.30pm as our flight was delayed, we were met with what can only be described as poor manners and shocking people skills from the reception staff.

We easily took it in our stride having to give 30 euro deposit for remotes, and also to rent a hairdryer, a clothes horse, 5 euro to rent the tennis court-which was concrete etc. We even played soccer on the dirt pitch behind the tennis courts which is totally covered with stones and rocks which caused quite a few cuts on my 7 year old son's legs. We accepted this, we were on holidays and making the most of it.

In Clube Alvorferias when you have a question it states "refer to reception".
Please, please, please read what I am saying and even if you find yourself possibly beginning to doubt selecting this place for your vacation, then don't book it, read the reviews previous to mine.

Reception staff in Clube Alvorferias have no people skills, are rude, very unhelpful and ultimately treat you-if you let them, with no respect. We asked for toilet roll one day so our 5 year old daughter could use the toilets beside the pool and were told "that's the cleaners job to make sure toilet roll was there" We brought our daughter back to our apartment in the end.

Jose Manuel is one of the reception staff - how this man can be placed in a situation where he meets, greets and apparently is supposed to advise you and make your stay enjoyable, is a joke. This man can only be described as ignorant.

My final point on staying here, which is also very important, behind the swimming pool there is small farm, yes FARM, if you want to be woken every morning with cockerel's crowing at dawn and geese then go ahead and take the chance of booking Alvorferias. Also, dogs!!! Barking all night ??????? It's like bloody Noah's Ark-I kid you not. Obviously our apartment was fairly close to the pool.

Positives! Alvor is beautiful i.e. the beach, the village, the best food we have ever had.
I strongly recommend coming to Alvor, but do not take the risk on staying in Clube Alvorferias. We had a fantastic holiday but it had nothing to do with staying in the place.

Room Tip: Book another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jasonfahy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from a week here. Other have pointed out the practicable stuff about booking a room over the bridge, the deposit for the tv and air condition and the deposit for the safe. I would agree that over the bridge, where we were, is perhaps better for a more quiet time. We arrived about mid afternoon and were dropped off at the reception, which is needing updated and is a bit dark and shabby. There was a receptionist on, Olga(?), who was on the phone. So we stood, and she stayed on the phone, and stayed on the phone!, Eventually, after about 5 minutes, she came off the phone. However, rather than concentrate on getting us booked in she decided to do about three other things at the same time, which meant that booking in was a bit confused. She got our booking mixed up with someone arriving later, forgot to give my passport back (I had to ask three times for it), told us we were only due to stay for three nights and not seven! Just silly little things because she was not concentrating on newly arrived guests. Eventually the administrative stuff was done and she told us someone would pick us up on the minibus and take us to our room. So we had to wait for this bus, and wait! Almost 25 minutes after arriving at reception we left to go to our room. Remember we were the only ones checking in at that time. So the bus dropped us off over the road and we were pointed to the building our room was in. Only it wasn't. So we wondered around for 10 minutes, only to find that we had actually been dropped off right outside where we should have been. Over half an hour after arriving we were eventually in our room. The apartment itself was large, clean and decent enough. Towel change and cleaned every second day. The pool was fine, although it is pretty deep for this sort of pool. Friends who had arrived a few days earlier had problems with mosquitos and had suffered a number of bites. There were others who had similar problems, we never had any problems however. Went to the Spar a couple of times. It was fine. I preferred the supermarket at the bottom of the hill nearer the town. Alvor itself is lovely and I would happily go back. Plenty of bars and restaurants. There was a little Italian, Picollo Mondo, that I would recommend, The Phoenix and Steakhouse were my favourites. However there is something for everyone. There is a steep hill into the town from the apartments, a taxi is only a 5 minute journey though and about 4/5 Euros. Final comment to the workmen who were tarring the road at the roundabout outside the complex. They didn't seem to get very far in the week we were there, and watching them try to do whatever they do whilst keep the traffic going was entertaining. No temporary lights for these guys!! Alvor is great, the Clube Alvorferias is decent, but I wouldn't use it again.

Room Tip: Book across the road bridge for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pedrok32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.2 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Alvorferias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Alvorferias

Property: Clube Alvorferias
Address: Estrada do Alvor | Galo Loiro, Alvor, Portimao 8500-322, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alvor
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Alvorferias 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clube Alvorferias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Alvorferias Hotel Alvor
Alvorferias Apartments
Clube Alvorferias Alvor
Alvorferias Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing