We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 Day stay 15th June”
Review of Maralvor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maralvor
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“7 Day stay 15th June”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Very spacious, clean, well equipped apartment within a 10-15 minute walk to bars and restaurants with a further 5 - 10 mins to the harbour. Beach not too far either probably 15 - 20 mins. Although the pool area was lovely there was a lack of sunbeds and we had to revert to using towels on the small grass area, as this was only June I cannot imagine what this is like in high season. Another potential downside was that the pool side bar only remained open during pool hours if you are someone who likes to have a drink at your apartment at night it is not open late, not a problem for us as so many nice bars in Alvor and a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMEGMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My parents are staying here for several months a year and are always very happy. I had the good fortune to visit my dad this year and had a wonderfull time.
The complex itself was quiet and overlooking a garden and the Alvor city region.
Nearby are the beautifull beaches of the Algarve and everything is in walking distance.The town center is lovely, small and offers enough for everybody. Ate at the Navigador restaurant which was very good. Looking forward returning to Alvor together with my partner. Beautifull country we're anyone can find something to their taste.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creativecontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Visited for 9 nights at the start of October 2011. Apartment 411. Had to check in at the bar as reception was closed when we arrived but no problem. Bar closed at 7pm around the time we visited so after this time check in would be at a different apartment if you arrive later. Not sure about high season. The apartment was massive - could easily have slept 6 people - bedroom - 2 single beds, dressing table and mirror, large lounge diner - with 2 sofas which could be split into 4 single beds, dining table with six chairs, kitchen with kettle couple of pots, fridge, gas cooker (hob oven and grill), table with 4 chairs. Balcony had table and 4 chairs. TV and fridge all worked with no problems. Everything was clean and tidy - spotless really. NO sign of any insects or roaches which was a real worry for the boss. Decor was fine. Safe was 15 euro for the stay - cheap for peace of mind. Parking is available if you rent a car. Walk into Alvor - a little under 1 mile - is up hill on way back so if you are less mobile this location may not work for you. Beaches were a similar distance to walk to but still took us less than 20 minutes. Supermarkets were on the way into town and about a 5 minute walk. Beautiful long sandy beach in Alvor with excellent and picturesque coves at one end. There are bars/snack bars along the beach and also a couple in the cliffs at the coves. One is also a restaurant - not cheap but romantic if that's what you are after. There are also lots of bars and restaurants in the town itself and also by the harbour area. We had a couple of dips in the pool at the apartment complex which was also tidy and clean, we also used the bar a few times - all good nice beer and reasonable. We tend not to sit around on holiday so did not spend a lot of time in these areas. Would have to say that the barman was really friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ColnClar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We booked this apartment for half term (october) and it stated that the bar and facilities closed 1st November. When we arrived reception was closed and we had to ring a number to get the key. Everything was closed, not a good start. Had we known everything closed early we would not have booked these apartments. When we got the keys, we were pleasantly surprised, the apartment was fantastic, huge, seperate kitchen (although no microwave), 2 very large bedrooms, massive lounge and overlooking the pool. The apartments did seem a bit too far out of town but we do have a 4 year old so for every 2 steps forward, we made 1 step back so walking into toen seemed to take ages.
Alvor itself is such a lovely village and we will definitely back next year. Fantastic food at the restaurants and you MUST visit Michaels bar. They were fantastic with our son and when we left all his DS games on the last night, we contacted them via Facebook and they posted them straight back to us at their cost.
The beach at Alvor is fantastic and the waves make it great for body boarding.
On the whole, the apartments were really nice and I'm sure in the season (when everything is open) they would be great but would not recommend for anyone with young children (if you want to walk into town). Alvor itseld I would definately recommend if you want to stay away from the touristy type places.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DebbiePeachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Firstly I would like to say that this was my first holiday with my boyfriend, and first holiday in 5 years. I found such an amazing deal (7 nights, flight, hotel and transfers for 2 people =£380), that I was worried it would be a disaster. How wrong could I be!?!?
We arrived at the hotel at 1am after a long transfer and I was a bit angry that nobody was there to greet us. Reception was closed with a note instructing us to call this telephone number. Luckily we had our mobiles because we would not have found a public phone to do this anywhere near. The guy arrived within 5 minutes and gave us our key. We went up to the room and I stood in shock for a good few minutes. It was absoloutely huuuuge!
We had a seperate kitchen with table, washing machine, cooker, toaster, fridge freezer, pots, pans, plates... everything you would need. A gorgeous bathroom with full sized bath and shower that was better than any other foreign shower I have used, the pressure was perfect and no messing about with hot and cold taps. Seperate bedroom with twins beds that came together for a big double. Extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. The lounge had another dining table, sofa and 2 chairs, a cot, TV, and bookshelf with lots of books to chose from. The balcony had doors from the lounge and from the bedroom and was massive, with patio furniture and drying rail for towels and bikini's etc. The whole place was spotless and smelt great. To our delight, the cleaners came every other day to replace towels, loo roll, empty bins and give the whole place a mop and clean.
The pool was a lovely space. The water is freezing cold so you need to be brave or just dive in! Plenty of sun loungers and private to the hotel. The guy in the pool bar was very nice and friendly too.
We had read other people's reviews about how long it takes to walk into Alvor. I promise you, unless you are walking at a snail's pace, a steady stroll will last about 10 minutes and it was a nice part of the evening. And the hill is not that steep, it's just that it is downhill all the way. We always got a taxi back up though and it cost just short of 4 euro's.
The taxi driver's are amazing. The 1st night we were there our taxi driver took us on a tour of alvor, free of charge because we said we were lost.
We found that the food was overpriced by the harbour. All the restaurants serve the same menu's and nothing exciting. But there are some lovely italian restaurants and we (typically English) found an english restaurant, so if you are craving some home comforts, it's definately worth a visit. Every shop and bar has 'Free Maps' for you to pick up and they show you all the eating places and where everything is. You MUST MUST MUST stop in at Paddy's Bar in the centre. It's an Irish pub that has a guy singing 5 nights a week and it's a great atmosphere.
There is nothing negative that I can say about the Maralvor or Alvor itself. Absoloutely stunning and will be returning to both. Thank You for a wonderful holiday. Hope the photo's do it justice.

Helen and George

Room Tip: Better view with a Poolside appartment but may be noisier in the height of summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheBarber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Just got back from a week in alvor. If you arrive late, you have to pick up key from the Dunas Hotel. The apartment was very spacious. Very large living room, kitchen with all the facilities, eveyrthing you could possibly need. We were situated at the rear of the hotel, although view not great from our balcony, just trees, it was perfect for us as it was very quiet and peaceful. Swimming pool area very clean and tidy and plenty of sun loungers as
not many people around this time of year. If you want towels changed, you have to place them in the laundry basket. Cleaners came in 3 times during our stay. The beach was a 10/15 min walk but was worth it. We walked into town every night again 10/15 walk. Only 3 euro 25 during the day and 3 euro 90 back at night. There were loads of bars and restaurants to choose from. We spent most of our evenings in the irish bars. The black stove, good food and entertainment as was the irish inn next door. Alvor itself is a lovely town, people very friendly, people will always chat to you, no matter where you eat or drink. Very enjoyable holiday, can fullly recomend and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Alvor is the most beautiful place to visit if you don't want to see a McDonalds and go to a disco until 3am! The Maralvor was a great base but if you want luxury from your holiday don't book here. The apartments are huge, a livingroom, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, hallway. Basic but spotlessly clean, nothing a lick of paint wouldn't sort. Sheets and towels were changed 5 days from 7. We are a couple with a four year old boy and he loved the pool although I think it could get very busy in the height of summer (as it's not very large). It's a great base if you don't do much more than use your room as a base and we had a fabulous holiday. For food lovers I would recommend Alvor as the huge choice in incredible restaurants is very impressive. Maralvor is a ten minute walk from the main down, down hill all the way and a 4 euro taxi ride home!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.7 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
0.2 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maralvor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maralvor

Property: Maralvor
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta dos Arcos | Edificio Maralvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-033, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maralvor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MARALVOR apartments stand out for their perfect relation between price/quality/location. These spacious apartments, are located at mere 700 meters ( about 10 minutes walking distance) from Alvor Vilage center and the glorious sands of Alvor beach. This location allows to remain accessible but distanced enough to enjoy a relaxed holiday, escaping the noisy hustle and bustle of a center located unit. Built with comfort in mind, these apartments have an independent kitchen, fully equipped with Fridge/freezer, hobs/oven, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, washing machine and all remainig utensils necessary for a great SELF-CATERING holiday. The bedrooms, are equipped with two single beds or a double, a large wardrope for all the necessary packing space and still have enough space left for 1 or 2 Cots if necessary (no extra cost but will req. To pre-book them on reservation). The living-room, once again ample and spacious, are equiped with a sofa bed or a sofa plus single individual beds, that allow for a maximum ocupancy of the apartment without sacrificing on comfort or giving guests a claustrofobic feel. Equiped with Satelite TV, with all the national channels plus some international ones, allow for a good retriet, when the holiday fun gets a bit tiering. The bathroom, also with good size, has a full bath and shower.He unit has also a SNACK-BAR (privatelly managed and with seasonal operation), were several drinks, cocktails and snack are served thruw the day, and were you can still find games such as darts, snooker and video-games ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Maralvor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maralvor Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing