We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and great location”
Review of Maralvor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maralvor
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in apartment 203 which we rented privately from Owners Direct.

The apartments are HUGE! More than enough spare for a family of 4. Our apartment was extremely well equipped with everything you could possibly think of and the kids loved the fact we had flat screen TV and DVD library! We had over 100 books in the apartment to read, along with a cupboard full of games!

The apartment was cleaned on arrival and linen changed once throughout the stay. We had to wash our own towels but this was part of the agreement on the rental so we knew we wouldn't have daily cleaners in.

We stayed for 2 weeks (30th July - 13th August) - the start of August is holiday time in Portugal and everyone decends from the north making everywhere quite busy. Our pool seemed to be used by people other than those staying at the apartments. This mean there were the usual sunbed savers - which got worse towards the end of our stay. To be fair, Edwardo (the guy behind the pool bar who seemed to run things) did come round a move towels off some days.

There is a reception area, but we never saw it open (although as we rented privately we didn't need to use it).

We took two children aged 9 and 12 and there were enough children around for making friends and playing.

All in all a great value holiday, excellently located (10 minutes one direction to beach, 10 minutes other direction to town) and brilliantly equipped.

Room Tip: We had pool view - lovely big balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have just got back from a week at the Maralvor. These apartments could do with a little updating, however the cleanliness and space in the apartments were excellent. There were three double wardrobes with more coathangers than you could possibly need (not always the case in our experience of apartments abroad) The location was a little too far from the village for our liking especially at night when we had to get a taxi as it was too far to want to walk back.

Apart from the location the only real downside was that there are no shops close by (nearest large supermarket 15 mins walk, or 10 mins to a smaller one on another apartment complex!

There is a bar on site near the pool but unfortunately this was not open during our stay (they were awaiting a cash register to be delivered before they could open!)

We travelled as a couple so it was not that bad but I would not recommend these apartments to families with young children wanting icecreams and drinks!

Also the reception desk was very rarely open, we had an early transfer and had to just leave the keys in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Gints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

these apartments can be privately owned so the standard you get will vary we had a big apartment even had a washing machine and an ironing board which you don't intend to use much on holiday but can be useful

Nice pool good size

It is a bit of a walk to the village nice though I would always get a taxi back in the evening though

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom_The_Tailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I have just returned from a weeks break in Alvor, Portugal, and stayed at the Mar Alvor. Upon arrival, I was extremely dissapointed and shocked at how run down The Algarve looked, with graffiti and run down properties at every turn. When we finally arrived at the Mar Alvor it looked tired and run-down and in need of an update. We found the beach, although our route was an up and downhill trek for 20 mins. The beach is amazing, and once located changes your whole perspective of Alvor!!

Further into the week, we located a short-cut to the beach, turn left out of apartments, and then right at the roundabout at the base of the hill and follow the road to the beach, approx 5-10 mins walk max!! My son adored the pool, but did cut his foot on one of the many loose tiles at the bottom.. and after a day of scorching sun on the beachfront, it was lovely just to dive into and have some pool fun.

I ran out of gas on one day, leaving us without the ability to cook and there was nobody on site to assist. The following day, when he was back at work, the gas bottle was exchanged promptly. In seven days, the appartment was cleaned once, but towels were changed every other day. Lumpy pillows, but after all the walking we could've slept on concrete and not noticed!

I would recommend these appartments as a very low budget, cheap get-away, but hire a car as Alvor itself is very small with very limited shops and night-life.

Room Tip: Room 104 over looks the pool with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My wife and I have just returned from the Mar Alvor Apartments and we really enjoyed our stay. The apartments are absolutely massive and although we were a bit disappointed at first with a rear apartment overlooking the car park, we had the sun in the late afternoon, but cool during the day for when we popped back for lunch and a bottle of wine from the Supermarket cost about £1.50. We had previously read a review that the reception is not open after 19.00hrs and you have to telephone for the management to bring a key out, so this was not a surprise and the guy was there within 10 mins. Actually the reception office is never open ( cut backs I guess) and the place is run by Edwardo as well as running the small bar. We actually enjoyed the informality of it all and many of the guests were returning multiple times. The pool and apartments are a bit tired but cleaned on a regular basis. The walk into Alvor is approx 15mins when walking back to the apartments uphill, and the beach is about 10 mins the other way. We loved thecobbled streets and chintzy restaurants our 2 favourite restaurants Casa Do Rio ( fabulous view, slightly pricey but worth it) and Mister Alvor (just really nice). Our least favourite "Jonny Hates fish" we visited this place as a novelty and thought great sense of humour and a play on words supposed to be gourmet hamburgers, but nothing funny about Euros22.50 for 2 basic burgers no garnish and 1/2 karafe of house wine. The beaches are fabulous clean and uncrowded Euros10 for 2 beds and a shade and as we have quite a lot of holidays every year we tend to watch the pennies or in this case the cents so we only went a couple of times. Both times the lifeguards had to rescue people that had gone out too far into the very rough ocean. Oviously the breakers are great if you are a surfer but not so good for small children or weaker swimmers. The resort is fairly small and as far as we could see no night clubs so no stag/hen parties, nothing against everyone having fun but prefer to be away from that kind of resot. All things considered we had a great holiday and have put the Mar Alvor apartments on our list of return visits probably as soon as next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on th front have a better view but would be hot as no air con. Rooms on the back no view but c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 977LeonR977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My family and I have just got home from Maralvor Apartments. The apartments are large with lots of beds, bedding and lots of fluffy white towels. The kitchen was large with all good kitchen equipment in it. The balcony was large with a table and chairs. The manager there was very helpful doing many things around the hotel and was very cheerful around all the guests. I would recommend these apartments for any family going to Alvor as it is very laid back with lots of sunbeds and it has a happy family feel to it. Thanks again for a fantastic holiday Carole

Room Tip: Choose a room above the swimming pool as they have a lot of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toby27Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

We visited as a family of 5. The Only problem we faced was that the reception closes at 7pm and so we got their at 11pm and had to call a phone number which was located near the staircase on the far side instead of the Bar window. Once we called the number a hotel rep came in 10 mins with our apartment keys. The apartment we got was spacious and had a fridge freezer, cooked washing machine, iron, tv and clothes airer. So as a family we had everything we needed. We got plenty of towels and the caretaker in the bar was very helpful. The bar area near the pool had free wifi. The only gripe I have is the mattress and pillows could do with a change(not very comfortable). Overall excellent apartments and ideal for families. The pool is excellent and my kids loved playing and swimming in the pool. If you hire a car then the hotel is hard to find as the road it is on is unnamed. I would advise to driver to alvor town centre and park up and ask taxi driver near main roundabout for directions.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmedpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maralvor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maralvor

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta dos Arcos | Edificio Maralvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-033, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range: £27 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maralvor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MARALVOR apartments stand out for their perfect relation between price/quality/location. These spacious apartments, are located at mere 700 meters ( about 10 minutes walking distance) from Alvor Vilage center and the glorious sands of Alvor beach. This location allows to remain accessible but distanced enough to enjoy a relaxed holiday, escaping the noisy hustle and bustle of a center located unit. Built with comfort in mind, these apartments have an independent kitchen, fully equipped with Fridge/freezer, hobs/oven, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, washing machine and all remainig utensils necessary for a great SELF-CATERING holiday. The bedrooms, are equipped with two single beds or a double, a large wardrope for all the necessary packing space and still have enough space left for 1 or 2 Cots if necessary (no extra cost but will req. To pre-book them on reservation). The living-room, once again ample and spacious, are equiped with a sofa bed or a sofa plus single individual beds, that allow for a maximum ocupancy of the apartment without sacrificing on comfort or giving guests a claustrofobic feel. Equiped with Satelite TV, with all the national channels plus some international ones, allow for a good retriet, when the holiday fun gets a bit tiering. The bathroom, also with good size, has a full bath and shower.He unit has also a SNACK-BAR (privatelly managed and with seasonal operation), were several drinks, cocktails and snack are served thruw the day, and were you can still find games such as darts, snooker and video-games ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maralvor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maralvor Hotel Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing