We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Yet Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Can only repeat what we have previously stated after our numerous visits.Excellent apartments, staff wonderful and great location.
We would recommend the Alvormar Appartments and the wonderful resort of Alvor

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leftoverlear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

I can only echo all the previous reviews that these are great, budget apartments in a fantastic location. Just a few minutes from the centre of Alvor and a 5-10 minute walk to the vast, sandy beach.

Our one bedroom apartment was clean and tidy (although the bathroom was little dated) and well equipped with everything you'd need for a self catering break. Although we only catered for breakfasts and lunches, you could cook proper meals, if you wanted to as they have an oven, microwave and ceramic hob (plus kettle and toaster).

The living area was big enough for 2 kids to sleep on a sofa bed and pull out bed, but, having 2 teenagers, I think we would upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment if we were staying longer than a week.

Wi-fi, air con and a room safe were free while we were there (not sure if they are in high season). Unfortunately, the pool was NOT heated (their website says it is), so was too cold to swim in properly at Easter, although we did brave a quick dip! There is a leisure centre with a large indoor swimming pool right next to the beach though (which we didn't use, but looked nice).

Alvor itself is a lovely laid-back resort with a good range of bars and restaurants -all very family-friendly and welcoming - we spent an average of E50 on a meal for 4 with drinks, which I thought was very reasonable.

If you want to self-cater, I would recommend the large Pingo Doce supermarket (near the campsite), as it was cheaper than the smaller shops and had a much wider range of food and drink.

The board-walk across the dunes is a nice place to take a stroll, with several different marked trails taking you right down to the harbour end of the beach.

We don't usually go back to the same resort, but I can see why there are so many return visitors. If we do return, chances are that we'd stay at the Alvormar again.

Room Tip: We opted for a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool/sea-view. Road/side sea-view rooms would have eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Have stayed here numerous years and like me the appartments have weathered well it's the best location in alvor shops and resturants almost on your doorstep 5 minute walk to beautiful beaches it's a family friendly place nice pool ample sun beds in all a ice place to stay in alvor

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms are ok if u want to sun bathe other rooms have all got balconys with table and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skins09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Alvormar which is located centrally in the beautiful and picturesque village of Alvor. I stayed for the month of March and not only is the location ideal; so is the cleanliness, friendliness, and cost of the apartments.
The hotel is like a second home to some visitors who stay for several months during the winter over a period of years.The staff goes out of their way to accommodate guests, and Margarida who has been here long term is a treasure of information and assistance.
While the apartments are not luxurious, they do provide the necessities for a vacation in a fantastic village with the best beach, boardwalks and restaurants in the area.
I am delighted with my visit and hope to return to the soothing weather and friendly atmosphere of Alvor and the Alvomar.

Room Tip: The views are great from the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunlover563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

can anyone tell me if these apartments are secure i.e. good locks on patio doors - as was thinking of asking for ground floor with children but want to feel secure!?please any advice appreciated! we want to ask for a room that will most suiot our needs with small kids. ta.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
6  Thank hel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have travelled to the AlvorMar for the last 10 years. The biggest plus point of these great apartments is the location. The fact it is located in the middle of Alvor itself means you can walk into town every night and no need for a hire car. The location is unbeatable. The apartments are spacious and extremely clean. Everyone working here is friendly and helpful. For me this place is home and I cannot wait for my next stay here in a couple of months. I love the AlvorMar and would not consider staying anywhere else in Alvor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shef123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Check-in date:30 March 2013

“Good location in village near shops & restaurants. opposite new Wetherspoons [Ben] Apartment complex is quiet with small pool/garden/games area. Well furnished. You can borrow hairdryer/iron from front desk. Recycle bins on site. TV with BBC World/Sky News/CNN/Eurosport plus many non-English channels.
Overall a nice,clean and friendly complex.
“Top Tip: Eating out is reasonable but you can use the local supermarket and save ££££££ on self catering. Wetherspoons offer cheap drink and food.

Room Tip: Some really nice restaurants & bars. Very relaxing place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pgharmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.1 mi away
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Rua Dom Sancho I No 9 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500-013, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alvor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: £41 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Alvor, just 750 meters from one of the Algarve´s most beautiful beaches, and 6kms from Portimão.All 50 apartments (T0, T1 and T2) have a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and most of them have seaview. Internal Facilities: - 24 hours reception- Heated swimmingpool with salt water (no chemicals) - Infant’s pool- Snack-bar near the pool - Lounge / TV Room- Cleaning 6 days a week (except on Sunday)- Internet - Free Wi-Fi (Wirless Internet)- Children's play-ground - Snooker and games room - Mini-Golf- Library - Guest Laundry- Sun terraces- GardensServices available at the reception- Airport transfers- Car rental- Excursions- Golf reservations- Other reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvormar - Apartamentos Turisticos Hotel Alvor
Alvormar Apartamentos Turisticos Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing