We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here again last fortnight in April 14. First time in a studio, usually stay in one or two bedroom apartment. Studio was spacious, kitchen has everything necessary for basic self catering. Apartments are well maintained if dated and are clean. Public areas are also well maintained and clean. Air con very effective in studio. Staff are helpful if you have any problems during your stay and there is someone on reception 24/7. Wi fi is excellent in the public ares, a bit erratic in the apartment at peak times but we usually managed to get one of our devices working well. Great location in Alvor centre.

Room Tip: Request pool or garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoobyLou050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    92
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
84
129
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for a week in May, great location, friendly staff, massive room, (room 112 on the corner), place a little dated but clean as a whistle, pool area and snack bar good, no complaints at all. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SIMON A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for the first time in April / May.
No real complaints except it is looking a little tired and need of a refurb.
Good position for restaurants, beach, harbour, buses, taxis etc.
Good time to go as we had the use of 4 sunbeds (2 in shade, 2 out) :) No problem.
Went self catering so didn't use restaurant.
Good budget hotel.
Alvor is lovely. Our second visit. Fallen in love with the place.
Recommended for a nice peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the sea not the hotel across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have been staying at the Alvormar for two weeks at a time for10 years now ,its always very clean the staff are always very helpful .That's why we keep coming back .As its a great location for restaurant's and bars within two minutes walk and about ten minutes to the beach

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ok-so luxury this place is not! But-it is every bit what we wanted for our short break. The other reviews are spot on. The location is excellent for the town and the beach. The rooms are spotless and large. We had our towels changed every day-even when we did not ask! All the receptionists were friendly and were happy to help us with additional duties far beyond what you would expect from an aparment building. The pool is nice-if a bit small-but hey we went there once-why would you when the beach is so beautiful and close!

Cant realy fault it-we will be going back!!!

Room Tip: we had mroning sun-if i went back i would ask for evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sestevenswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just come back from three days in Alvormar. We loved Alvor but we were disappointed with the Alvormar. The location was good two minutes from bars and restaurants and about 6 - 10 minutes from a beautiful beach. The apartment was basic and clean and had the basics. There is a small pool with sunbeds but the poolside bar was badly stocked and had not even got some basic drinks and lunch menu very limited mainly sandwiches. A lot of noise at night from other guests with banging on doors and shouting. Checkout at 10.00 a.m. is far too early, particularly when you have been kept awake for half the night. Most places we have stayed in the checkout time was 12.00 noon. As our flight was not until 8.00 p.m. we requested a late check-out and we were willing to pay, but we were refused. We were very disappointed as the hotel was not even close to being fully booked. They did however provide a room to wash and change in but the shower extension would not go into holder on the wall so it was quite awkward to wash your hair while holding the shower. I would certainly go back to Alvor but based on the above would not stay in the Alvormar and would be reluctant to recommend it. We booked private transfer from the Airport to Alvor return, with Yellowfish and while a little expensive for 2 people, we found the driver very efficient and friendly and it only took 50 minutes. The transfer would work out much cheaper if there were more people as I think the price is the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Alvormar Apartments last week and overall found this to be excellent accommodation. We had a two bedroom apartment which was huge and spotlessly clean. Two balconies with a sea view, kitchen with oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, kettle etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice pool/garden area with bar/café reasonably priced. Played the nine hole crazy golf on the roof of the hotel and there is a well stocked library for guest use. Great location right in the centre of the village. Will definitely be booking here again and recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossReds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.7 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Property: AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
Address: Rua Dom Sancho I No 9 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500-013, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alvor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Alvor, just 750 meters from one of the Algarve´s most beautiful beaches, and 6kms from Portimão.All 50 apartments (T0, T1 and T2) have a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and most of them have seaview. Internal Facilities: - 24 hours reception- Heated swimmingpool with salt water (no chemicals) - Infant’s pool- Snack-bar near the pool - Lounge / TV Room- Cleaning 6 days a week (except on Sunday)- Internet - Free Wi-Fi (Wirless Internet)- Children's play-ground - Snooker and games room - Mini-Golf- Library - Guest Laundry- Sun terraces- GardensServices available at the reception- Airport transfers- Car rental- Excursions- Golf reservations- Other reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvormar - Apartamentos Turisticos Hotel Alvor
Alvormar Apartamentos Turisticos Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing