We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, good value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just a really comfortable place in a great spot in the lovely Alvor, that we return to whenever we visit Portugal.
Always clean, well stocked kitchen with full oven, large bathroom and living space and always a sunbed around the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself and my husband and 4 year old daughter stayed here for nine days in mid June and the best way I can sum it up is to say that we are planning our trip back next year already! The apartments are very clean, comfortable and cool. The staff were wonderful, playing games with my daughter when she collected our room key after we'd been out. It's a short walk to the beach and only a few steps to the centre of town. The pool area is lovely. Our room (218) caught the evening sun which was lovely. Alvor itself is a great location for a family holiday, everyone was so lovely and they really love kids which is great when you're eating out every day. There was a great little shop near the Alvormar apartments where they sell fresh bread, fruit and wine and the staff are so helpful. I can't recommend this accommodation enough. We loved it there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank foodiewoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We sold our apartment in Alvor last year but still wanted to visit regularly. We did some research and opted for AlvorMar apartments. It is a great place - a home from home. It is not luxurious but our one bedroom apartment is spacious, comfortable, with reasonable furnishings and spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and efficient and it is a quiet oasis at the pool and central courtyard. It is central to the village itself and a short walk to the beach. Other members of the family have stayed here twice and share our opinion. We asked for a balcony with sea view and were allocated apartment 210 - a good choice. Provision of a potato peeler and a pair of scissors would be a welcome addition to the equipment.
We will definitely be back hopefully for years to come with peeler and scissors if necessary!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We didn't hesitate to come back to the Alvormar for our second visit and we weren't disappointed.
We stayed in room 205 a studio apartment which was a good size and spanking clean if a little dated.
The kitchenette was well equipped had we wanted to cook (we didn't) but we did make toast for breakfast daily and found the dining table a bonus.
The small balcony is private and gets the morning sun.
The pool area is lovely with ample beds and a cafe area.
There is a small shop across the road and a larger supermarket a short distance away. The Alvormar is in a great spot for walking to the beach and to the centre of the small resort.
If there is draw back it's that the bedrooms are on the main corridor area which is tiled and the sound of guests coming in late or going out early to the airport can be disturbing. But given all of the plus points we would not be put off making a third visit.

Room Tip: choose a resort view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank passepartout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here again last fortnight in April 14. First time in a studio, usually stay in one or two bedroom apartment. Studio was spacious, kitchen has everything necessary for basic self catering. Apartments are well maintained if dated and are clean. Public areas are also well maintained and clean. Air con very effective in studio. Staff are helpful if you have any problems during your stay and there is someone on reception 24/7. Wi fi is excellent in the public ares, a bit erratic in the apartment at peak times but we usually managed to get one of our devices working well. Great location in Alvor centre.

Room Tip: Request pool or garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoobyLou050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for a week in May, great location, friendly staff, massive room, (room 112 on the corner), place a little dated but clean as a whistle, pool area and snack bar good, no complaints at all. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SIMONA705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for the first time in April / May.
No real complaints except it is looking a little tired and need of a refurb.
Good position for restaurants, beach, harbour, buses, taxis etc.
Good time to go as we had the use of 4 sunbeds (2 in shade, 2 out) :) No problem.
Went self catering so didn't use restaurant.
Good budget hotel.
Alvor is lovely. Our second visit. Fallen in love with the place.
Recommended for a nice peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the sea not the hotel across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.7 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Rua Dom Sancho I No 9 11, Alvor, Portimao 8500-013, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alvor
#1 Family Hotel in Alvor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
Price Range: £42 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village of Alvor, just 750 meters from one of the Algarve´s most beautiful beaches, and 6kms from Portimão.All 50 apartments (T0, T1 and T2) have a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and most of them have seaview. Internal Facilities: - 24 hours reception- Heated swimmingpool with salt water (no chemicals) - Infant’s pool- Snack-bar near the pool - Lounge / TV Room- Cleaning 6 days a week (except on Sunday)- Internet - Free Wi-Fi (Wirless Internet)- Children's play-ground - Snooker and games room - Mini-Golf- Library - Guest Laundry- Sun terraces- GardensServices available at the reception- Airport transfers- Car rental- Excursions- Golf reservations- Other reservations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your AlvorMar - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alvormar - Apartamentos Turisticos Hotel Alvor
Alvormar Apartamentos Turisticos Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing