We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“winter sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“winter sun”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Pestana Alvor Park is situated a little out of the town of Alvor. The hotel is well run and all facilities are first class. The exception being the gymnasium where the only weights available are pink girly ones. The hotel imposes a 50 Euro utility charge, but the heating is good. Alvor is full or restaurants but there is little in the way of shopping. The main attractions are the beaches and the planked walkways along the river. But beware, we went in February, and although the sun was shining most days there was a cool stiff breeze off the Atlantic Ocean and so you do need a warm jumper and a coat.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the pool and on a high floor so that you get a good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    118
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
127
214
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at the Alvor park 1st week in March 2013.Appearance very clean and tidy, manicured lawns and gardens. Hotel staff very helpful and professional, Apartments spotless good size very comfortable with all you need to cater for yourself if you don't want to use the hotels facilities. Location is just a short walk into town which has a nice little habour. There are also miles of boarded walks around a conservation area just to the side of the harbour. Places to see just a short drive away.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to have views to the sea a short walk away and some the pool area as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was our first holiday out of England with our 17 month old and we couldn't have picked a better hotel! We arrived in our rental car to find free parking, a beautiful lobby and very pleasant staff.
There was a problem with our room and we stayed in a studio for 1 night before being moved to our 1 bed apartment. The studios are beautiful and spacious so this wasn't a issue for us. The next day we couldn't believe how big the 1 bed apartments were, large kitchen with everything we needed, 2 bathrooms (1 ensuite), sliding doors from both the living room and bedroom onto a huge sunny balcony overlooking Alvor town and the sea. Stunning!
We had daily maid service and the place was always spotless, loads of clean towels, robes and toiletries supplied.

The outside area was lovely, very peaceful considering the hotels proximity to the road. We used the indoor pool as the outside was too cold, and it was never busy for this time of year.

We had breakfast for 1 morning and it was lovely, fresh fruit, pastries, cereals and hot breakfast to order all overlooking the pool through the large windows.

The location was perfect, it took no more than 5 mins to walk down the hill to the first part of town with supermarkets and a few restaurants, then a further 5 mins to the harbour. Or you can walk in the opposite direction 10 mins to the beach.

For anyone travelling with little ones this hotel is perfect, very quiet and great to have the separate bedroom to put them down for easy bedtimes while you relax in the living room or balcony for dinner. Even the travel cot was dressed with gorgeous linen. One thing to be careful off is the tiled floor can get very slippery when wet and our little one almost had a few accidents on it.

Our whole experience of this hotel and Alvor and Portugal on the whole was perfect for our first family holiday. Everyone is so friendly and spoke very good English. The weather for Feb/March meant 7 out of our 10 days were sunny with temps up to 23c. We found Alvor to be unspoilt with mostly middle age to mature couples on holiday and loads of great places to eat. We visited a few places including Albuferia and we are so happy we chose this place, it was perfect!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift, can hear a bit of noise from people waiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILOVEWIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Second try in a Pestana hotel - and again, fabulous. The Portuguese are so friendly too. The weather was unusually exceptionally hot but when you're round the pool, drinking your cocktails or napping in your fabulous, air-conditioned apartment - there's no problem. Glad we had a car though it's quite a walk to the main Alvor harbour and shops/restaurants.

Room Tip: Over the pool can be noisy but here it was fine - our room had 3 balconies and it was truly idyllic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy_Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Just returned from a lovely 7 night holiday where we stayed at the Alvor Park. We were upgraded on arrival from a studio to a 1 bed apartment. En suite to the bedroom and a separate toilet and shower room. Everything you could wish for in a self catering apartment, so much space and every utensil and piece of equipment you could imagine! UK channels on the television too. Indoor pool is stunning along with the steam room, jacuzzi and sauna. Staff were fantastic, speak excellent English and cannot do enough for you. Just a cafe bar as the hotel is out of season but it had everything we needed, a pool table and drinks! Beautifully decorated throughout, this hotel is stunning and we will return in the future without a doubt.

Room Tip: High floor is the best option but all rooms are sea view and some pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LyndzHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is a perfect holiday hotel with balcony views over the sea. The little town of Alvor has many excellent restaurants and a couple of good supermarkets. The old town / fishing port has character. The sand dunes are extensive and have many board walks, ideal for those in wheel chairs or on cycles. Walking the board walks was an enjoyable and almost daily experience for the 8 days spent there. Out of season [January 2013] the hotel was no where near half full and the restaurant was no more than the 'cafe/bar'. But the grounds were kept in perfect condition. There are two swimming pools [one out doors that no one used during our stay and one indoors - popular!] Staff friendly yet not intrusive. Free wifi, free car parking, and free bus to and from Portimao each day. This is a special part of the Algarve well worth another visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hisreverence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed at the Alvor Park for the second time in two years between 12th and 16th November 2012. We had a most pleasant and spacious room, quiet, spotlessly clean and excellently serviced. For any one visiting Alvor, staying here will not disappoint. It is located in a quiet area of Alvor 10 minutes walk from a host of excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for views (300m.) of the beach and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank graairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.3 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Address: Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#2 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Pestana Alvor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing