We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow what a hotel!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel set in a quiet area about 10 mins walk from the town centre on a slight hill. The studio rooms are amazing and are fully equip with all that is need for a holiday. The bathroom has a bath, shower and hair dryer. The kitchen comes complete with fridge, kettle, cutlery, coffee machine and cooker and the rooms are spacious with air con, satellite tv, a dining and seating area and a balcony with sunbeds and seating. The hotel itself has fantastic amenities and is kept in a superb condition. There is an indoor and outdoor pool. Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. A pool table and games room with table tennis tables and giant lawn chess. The bar area is cool and nicely furnished with sky tv. The restaurant is nice but we only are lunch times here which the food was good. The pool is clean and tidy with plenty of sun loungers and parasols along with free wifi available throughout the public areas of the hotel including around the pool. Altogether this hotel was one of the best I've seen. It has everything and the staff are friendly and happy to help. They will even book trips out for you. Would go back and definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrReviewGuy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    117
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
126
214
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was our fourth stay with Pestana, the first in the Algarve. Our experience of the Alvor Park was consistent with other hotels in the group i.e. well managed, very clean with loyal motivated staff. We really liked the quiet location, just a 10 minute stroll into town, and delighted with our superb one bedroom apartment that had views towards Alvor and the sea. The hotel was very quiet in the evening (no food service) with few people drinking at the rather characterless bar. This was not a problem for us given the choice and quality of restaurants nearby. The only real negative was the perennial problem of dawn towel commandos reserving sun beds around the pool. However, the hotel does offer an adjacent sun bed area in the gardens, where beds were normally available. Worthy of a special mention is the superb beach and boardwalk; with access just 10 mins from the hotel. The beach is 4km in length with an elevated boardwalk at the western end winding its way through the sand dunes … it seemed to go on forever. Stunning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bucsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Spent 9 nights here in this lovely hotel. Reception staff were super friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room had a beautiful seaview and was very spacious. Nice extras like bathrobes, free safe, WiFi etc. pool area was very nice always a free sunbed. Quiet spot ..don't come if you want lively entertainment! Suited us just perfect. Short walk to the beach and center of Alvor where we were spoilt for choice of restaurants etc. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KilkennyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We are 4 adults (2 couples) aged 44 - 58 sharing a 2 bed apartment for one week, we were offered this by a family friend as this is a timeshare hotel. We arrived around midday on the Sunday lunchtime, we used yellowfish transfers. Would defo use them again €108 return for the 4 of us return. Spotless, air con vehicle and friendly professional drivers on both journeys.
Our rooms weren't ready on arrival, the friendly welcoming receptionist offered to take our bags and somewhere for us to change so we could get to the sun and pool. We declined and caught up with fb, twitter and emails in the cool reception.
Room 1207b was ready for us by 13.30 this was the studio part of the accommodation, fab size for 2 plus a child, kitchen, bathroom and balcony was spotless, the 1 bed apartment was still being cleaned, the 2 were joined by a door hence the 2 bed apartment. 1207a the one bed apartment was a fantastic size with ensuite, air con in both living and bedroom and a double balcony overlooking the pool. Also another shower and toilet in the living room if this was being used to sleep another 2 people. Cleaned and towels changed everyday. Shower gel soap and shampoo replenished everyday or when needed, dishcloth and tea towel provided as well. More than enough crockery to cook if needed. Microwave, kettle fridge etc, in both studio and apartment, also in the 1 bedder an oven, we didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on food. Pool area spotless lots of beds and u can have clean pool towels everyday, some selfish guests managed to put there towels on the beds, why i will never know. we spent a lot of time paddling in the baby pool due to my friend recovering from an operation and not able to swim in the main pool, there are tiles coming away and a few sharp edges around the edge which need attention. We went to the beach, if u go left out at the pool gate, lovely beach about 15 min walk, swim round the left to the caves. To the right 10 min stroll u will hit the first lot of shops and bars, we drank and ate in the 90c bar, cheap and cheerful and friendly, we had an evening of kareoke in Michaels bar again friendly, very drunk night. Annie's do a quiz on a Monday night, we also had snacks here, nice friendly owners new to the scene but lots of local knowledge, cactus bar(a big square if kids want a run around) loved it here 7 nights just not enough. We visited Rucculas mmmmm( u do need to book, they are supposed to be updating tripadvisor as the contact details are wrong, not there doing, Vagabondo mmmmmm for meals defo recommend these. Lots and lots of restaurants to try just not enough nights. For food shopping we like the pingu doce supermarket about a 20 min walk past michaels bar and keep to the right up the hill, had everything u could think of here. All in all our first visit to Portugal, friendly,clean family resort. Well done to all in pestana alvor you are a credit to this place. We hope to be back soon and will recommend to others. Courtesy room available on checkout this was looking over the gardens, I must say beautifully kept gardens!!!!!

Room Tip: Pool or garden view top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuzzmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clydebank
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Today we are homeward bound from what I can only describe as a fantastic holiday which was made even more special by our stay at the Alvor Park. We arrived to be greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful receptionist and our request for a studio room on a high floor was granted. The room had more than adequate space for two people and it had fab views of the Atlantic Ocean and the beach. Our room was cleaned everyday with a very friendly and helpful chamber maid. The air conditioning was excellent and kept our room cool and nice to be in after a long day in the sun. We were bed and breakfast and it was very tasty. Fresh fruit and a variety of cerials, rolls, croissants and fruit juice etc for continental. You could also have a cooked breakfast if you so wished. I would deffinitely recommend booking breakfast as it was very good value for money. Furthermore, the waiting staff were very friendly and couldn´t be more helpful. Breakfast is between 8 and 11 o`clock so we were able to go for a nice morning swim and jaccuzzi in the indoor swimming pool, get showered and saunter down for breakfast - sooooooooo relaxing!
Alvor is a lovely little fishing village. It has a beautiful marina where we sat and chilled, watching the world go by. We also went on quite a few trips but the one I would recommend the most is the Lisbon trip. Lisbon is a beautiful city and the guide on our bus tour was very informative about the history of lisbon and its historical buildings and bridges. We booked through our hotel which I would recommend as the bus is very comfortable and the guide was extremely helpful and friendly.

Can you tell we have had a fantastic holiday with the Alvor Park hotel making it so convenient, relaxing and helpful that we don`t want to leave!

If you are looking for a quiet, friendly, helpful and spotless apartment hotel then this is the one I would diffinitely recommend for you. The beach and the town are only about 10 minutes away so the position of the hotel is superb!

My only tiny little gripe is the bed was a bit too hard for me so my sleep quality could have been better.

Room Tip: We were in room 1403 and the view was super! Ask for a high floor room so you can take advantage of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ponsettia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We rented an apartment in the hotel for 2 weeks in late May/early June and were very happy with it. The staff were polite and helpful and any assistance we required was always provided promptly. The room was spacious and the kitchen had everything we needed (although luckily we were able to make the most of Alvor's many excellent restaurants so time spent in the kitchen was minimal). The pools were both very handy as an alternative to the beach and were well maintained. We had just the one meal in the restaurant (breakfast on our first day) and it was fine. All in all, very happy and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 5 times over the last 6 years and up until our last stay at the beginning of July we always found this hotel to be a superb place to stay, however on our latest trip our opinions of Pestana and the hotel have changed dramatically.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon to be told that there was a slight problem and that our 1 bedroom apartment had been overbooked!

We were offered alternative of staying at the Delphim or to accept a Studio for 3 nights until the next available 1 bedroom apartment became vacant.

After various negotiations took place with the manager we accepted the Studio on the basis that we had a guarantee of being moved on the Monday. We asked for this in writing and this was duly completed by the manager.

We were told that we were not the only people to have this happen to them and indeed during our stay we met people who were put in the same position as us.

We did not enjoy being confronted with having to justify our case to the management, and unfortunately we felt that the whole experience has put us off staying at the hotel ever again.

I have noticed on TripAdvisor that other reviewers of Alvor hotels in the Pestana Group are commenting on similar experiences to ours.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor - Fantastic sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RightTurn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.3 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Address: Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#2 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Alvor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing