We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We own timeshare at Pestana Alvor park so visit regularly , we always take my mother who has walking difficulties, an likes routine . So we do all the same things really , have a lazy relaxed time eating in nice restaurants and taking slow steady strolls , my husband and i often go out at night and my mother is happy to stay home as the apartments are so nice and comfortable .
The pool area is all decked and is a lovely comfy place to enjoy an afternoon in the sun .
We have used a transfer company for the last few years called yelloww fishtransfer we always found them very good but this year our driver on the departure was a real treat , he was a very young lad called Jojo , he assisted my mum into the car very gently and very caring , when we got to the airport my husband and I went for a walk, my mum sat waiting for us as she was weary . When were returned we found her in deep conversation with Jojo he had spotted her alone and gone to keep her company while she waited for us . There is not many young men who would do that ! We hope he drives us again next time.
Faro airport is undergoing extensive alterations at the moment and parts of the walking areas are in poor conditions if you have anyone with walking difficulties ask for wheelchair assistance .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    110
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
111
202
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
londonderry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in september
True it's quiet but nothing wrong with that!
Depends what you want, certainly not benidorm !!(nightmare for us )
We love alvor and this hotel is close to the village and nice coffee shops and restaurants
It's a relaxing place to stay and if you want an english breakfast stay in england for that. Lol
We will go back because we also stay in alto club across the road

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mercer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This Hotel has as much atmosphere as a private clinic or nursing home which is fine if you just wish to sleep (on hard beds), lie by the swimming pool or read a book, this is possibly due to the timeshare aspect of this hotel, which gives it a very different if dull character. The bar and restaurant was over priced and much better value was to be had locally. Fortunately Alvor centre and some beach bar restaurants are within an easy 15 minutes walk. Snack Bar Suica on the walk into Alvor did an OK breakfast for €6, good pastries and served a generous Macieira brandy for €3.50 and a 40cl Strella for €0.90 which was rationed by the herself.

There was a key code electronic safe in the apartment with the normal instructions to reset and enter your own code, however the hotel had overridden this, so you had to get the reset code from reception (which was 8888) and a charge of €2.00 a day, sneaky and annoying !!!

This is not a hotel for anyone seeking even a moderate holiday atmosphere and definitely not for parents with young children. I would not go back even if I end up on a zimmer frame.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gannet44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We booked here via Travel Republic for 1 week. We had visited Alvor previously many times but in February staying at Pestana Alvor Praia hotel. We wanted to visit in the summer season, and were not disappointed - the weather was terrific all week and the restaurants in Alvor as good as we remembered.
The hotel was very clean & comfortable - our room on the top floor was a "time-share" apartment with kitchen area large lounge and balcony area with sea-view. The pool area was also spacious with plenty of loungers. There is an indoor pool adjacent to the main pool with sauna facilities (but we never saw them turned on!).
On the negative side, like the previous reviewer commented on, there was very little ambience in the resort, the cafe area near the pool was adequate but the menu was disappointing and expensive and the service terrible with a very dour waitress!!! I had an English Breakfast on one occasion - never to be repeated - it was awful!!!
Having said this would we return here... Certainly, the hotel is near to the centre of Alvor, and there are lots of excellent places to eat, try the "Old Up" - top floor for an amazing breakfast at low cost!
Finally, we booked a Sunset Cruise from Portimao - with ourselves and two other couples on board, Champagne, strawberries on ice and hors d'oevres served - wow a must trip!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BigG99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Clean precise often robotic hotel. Fine if you like that sort of experience on your hols but we prefer a bit of an edge a glimmer of atmosphere. One day we didnt want the housekeeping so just left the DND sign on the door..to our amazemement housekeeping came barging in at 5pm to make sure we weren't dead!! So to sum up if you want a hotel that is whisper quiet with all the personality of freshly filleted cod the pestana park is for you...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baggs1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geordie in Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights with wife in a 1 bedroom apartment. We had asked for a 3rd or 4th floor apartment facing the pool and were given one on 2nd floor facing the gardens and road! Found out later that best apartments go to Timeshare and Vacation Club members which is fair enough. Room was a little tired in places but spacious, well equiped and clean. TV gets 4 English channels including BBC1, ITV, 4.

Not too far to walk to get into town for food and entertainment. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

have just returned from a 12 night stay at the alvor park and while we really enjoyed our stay there were a couple of things not so good.
pros, everywhere in this hotel is spotlessly clean at all times, the apartments are very spacious and equipped with everything you could need, lovely views from the large balcony which are furnished with table and chairs and 2 loungers. pool area is great always plenty of sunbeds and a nice garden area with water features ect. staff mostly friendly and helpful, internet access and library and games room.
cons, lack of atmosphere in the whole place, you sometimes felt like whispering!! no pleasant music or anything in the bar and never anyone in it, which was a shame because thats normally the place to get to meet fellow geusts, maybe the prices had a lot to do with it, but you do expect to pay more in a hotel and we would have used it more if it hadnt been so quiet, such a shame because really nice surroundings. pool snack bar, which is all it is, food ok, but snack bar food at restaurant prices, only used it a couple of times, (needed a bottle of water for our last morning and what cost under 1 euro at shop cost us 3-60 at pool bar)
all in all i would recomend the alvor park, re my title, more good things than not so good.
alvor, we loved, could not believe the choice of bars and restaurants for such a small place, fabulous beach, lovely harbour, great place to watch the sunset, would we go back? you betcha.

Room Tip: top floor, 4th, fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.3 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
0.3 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Address: Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#2 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Pestana Alvor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing