We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
English Lakes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet hotel”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from The Alvor Park, and what a fine time we've had!
Comfortable and well equipped rooms, kept beautifully clean by the fab housekeeping service.
We prefer late starts, enjoying a lie in and a leisurely breakfast on the balcony. We just put the "I'm in" notice on the door, and left the room about midday, and never once were we disturbed. This is important to us.
The hotel has good car park and is conveniently placed to get to all parts go this lovely part of the world.
We would highly recommend this hotel, it is amazingly quiet and peaceful (beginning of March, though), but a great base, with fine restaurants and a gorgeous beach on your doorstep!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneyB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    119
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
130
214
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester,uk
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Lovely well equipped rooms and very clean and comfortable.10 minutes stroll into the village.
Indoor and outdoor pool area lovely and very friendly staff. Bar well stocked, didn't eat here so cannot comment re food

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank db270861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed at the Alvor park on many occasions but this was our first time in February. I'm not too sure what people expect at hotels but furniture is an item that is a personal taste we find nothing wrong with the decor. We do not stay at hotels to sit on furniture all day or watch TV. Surely holidays are to enjoy the locality. The Alvor Park is close to the town and is a pleasant walk there and back the easy goung charm and friendliness of the Portuguese people a delight. Although this time we stayed in a studio apartment it was easily big enough for two people. We always find the staff most courteous and helpful when asked. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and any problems are always sorted very quickly. The only thing the staff could not provide was a little more sunshine !! Once again we had a most enjoyable experience thank you Alvor Park.

Room Tip: If more than two persons the two bed apartments are better as the cooking facilities are better if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Friendly staff, clean and bright with first class facilities. Close to Alvor centre (10 minute walk). Wifi in reception and library. Book exchange, bar, pool, jacuzzi, sauna, gym, restaurant. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We chose this hotel as it had kitchen facilities and was in a quiet area of Alvor. We visited in December for a few days and the weather was lovely and warm.the outside pool was shut for refurbishment,but the inside pool was open,which we used on one occasion.Pool towels were given by reception.The lighting around the pool was dim,as we used the pool at night.We did not use any other facilities,other than sitting in the libray area in order to use the wifi.
The hotel was very quiet,but the rooms given to people were near each other,so there was somenoise from other rooms.The receptionist was very friendly and the few other staff weencoutered seemed so too.We met the resident cat also.
The only negative was limited cooking facilites and we had asked for room on top floor,but ended up on 2nd floor.Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasider67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

After reading all the good reviews we were really looking forward to stating at the Alvor Park, but having stayed at two Pestana's in Madeira we were really disappointed. Sorry to disagree with everyone !
Our rooms were large and fairly comfortable (lovely beds but the settee was very uncomfortable ). Everywhere was spotlessly clean, but the kitchen was very basic with utensils etc. Why can't Pestana get non - stick pans?
The shower room was the smallest I've ever seen.
We both scalded our hands on a defect kettle -though when we complained it was replaced immediately. The loungers on the patio were both broken and we couldn't sit up to read on them, just lay flat. The TV 's were old with poor sound quality and the remote controls were temperamental . Then the outdoor pool was closed and the garden roped off so we couldn't go outside. There was a lift to another hotel pool once a day, and return 8 hours later - not very useful.The indoor pool and Jacuzzi etc were fine. I know it was low season and the maintenance needs doing sometime, but we should have been told before we arrived.
I sound like an old moaner, but we are somewhat disabled and the hotel had no restaurant, just an empty snack bar - I never saw anyone use it.
It was at least half a mile to a restaurant and a mile to the beach or the centre of Alvor or the harbour, where the best restaurants were, and it was all downhill, so obviously an uphill drag back. Luckily we had a car, but there was nowhere at all within our capability of walking.
The welcome evening/party felt rushed and although there was plenty to drink, the canapés consisted of a few crisps and nuts.
Having said that, I can understand that fitter people during the season would enjoy a stay here.
Alvor is lovely , with beautiful beaches and quaint old streets with lovely restaurants, and our holiday was redeemed by fantastic weather - not a cloud in the blue, blue sky all week, though we were told by locals that this was unusual for November.

Room Tip: ground floor patios are roomy and on the garden side are quieter and get the sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jabManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week with my wife from 27 October and was very impressed. I have to admit that I did not use the pool or jacuzzi during my stay as we were blessed with great weather and we decided to make the 10 minute walk to the beach. That said the indoor and outdoor pools both looked fine and we did manage to visit the bar in the pool vicinity a couple of times and that was also very pleasant. The maid visited our room daily and the reception area were very helpful when we needed help on a couple of matters.

This hotel has a very relaxed appeal to it and the room we stayed in was a good size and had kitchen facilities if you felt a need for a break from Alvor's lovely restaurants. It is a 10 minute walk to the town and there is a hill involved but I don't think this should dissuade the majority of people.

I cannot recommend this area of Portugal enough and the Alvor Park hotel is an excellent place from which to enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alswanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.3 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Address: Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#2 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Alvor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing