We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent self-catering hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent self-catering hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

Modern hotel, minimalist style, good sized rooms,and balconies most with sea view, very well furnished and with well-equipped kitchen area.
Good location for walking into the main town (about 10-15 mins). Beach is about 5-10 mins walk with young children.
Staff are most courteous and helpful.
Pool not heated but the indoor section warms up fairly quickly when the sun is shining, and pool area is well-equipped with loungers and not at all crowded.
The restaurant provides breakfast and light lunches - omelette, salad, pasta, pizza etc., but with so many good restaurants in Alvor we only used it once.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCO_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    110
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
111
202
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

After spending our first 5 days of vacation partying and touring Albufeira and it's beaches, it was nice to sit back and relax at this hotel. It is a modern new hotel just about a 7 minute walk from the beach. It's in a very quiet location, which was exactly what we were looking for after a crazy few days in Albufeira. When we went in April, it was very quiet and the pool area was never packed. The indoor pool was heated, but the outdoor one was not. The indoor pool area was beautiful and we very much enjoyed the hot tub. However, we were quite disappointed that the hot tub and pool area closed at 7 p.m. Also, we found it quite strange that the hot tub was only hot from 8 a.m. - 11 a.m. and then 4 p.m. - 7 p.m. Hummm.... Other than that little criticism, our room was beautiful. Very spacious with a modern, well-appointed kitchen. There were two very big marble bathroom with plush, cozy bathrobese. Also, we had a ground floor unit with a lovely terrace over looking a beautiful garden. Would definitely come back for some R&R. However, if you are looking for shopping, partying and lots of action, I would recommend going to Lagos or Albufeira. Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mccannon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

We arrived in Faro and were met straight away by our minibus driver as a group of 5 girls we were quite impressed .... We were happy to realise that as we had booked a return transfer we were to get a free bottle of wine the guy was great and because there was 5 of us he gave us 2 .. He obviously realised we were in serious girly holiday mode..
We booked the transfer on the internet WWW.ALGARVETRANSFERSFAROAIRPORT .COM .We went to Praia da Oura one night for a a livelier night out As Alvor is quiet in the winter and we booked the taxi with him too. It was a different driver on the way back to the Airport but weren't disappointed he was also cute!
Our Hotel was nice ,modern and clean rooms fab ,but had no atmosphere the staff were ok but the reception was very often not manned an we had to wait for for service. The swimming pool was too cold to use but in the summer it will be a lovely setting.
I don't think the Algarve in the winter is ideal for a group of young livley girls especially Alvor.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marc0nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

My husband and I ( we are in our late 20's ) stayed at this hotel from 29 dec to 2 jan. The apartment itself is very impressive: large, comfortable, clean, tiled throughout the living area, carpets in the bedroom, sufficient linen and wardrobe space, floor to ceiling mirror, 1 toilet and shower in the living area, another toilet and bath ensuite in the bedroom, balcony with 2 lounge chairs and a table and chair set. The kitchen is sufficiently equipped with a microwave, toaster, mini fridge, oven and cooking utensils. There are also 2 small tvs - one in the living room and the other in the bedroom offering 15 viewing channels - several english ones - mainly news like bbc, cnn, channel4, etc - euro sports, a german channel, spanish, etc. Perhaps, the only other piece of equipment they lacked for my liking was a dvd player...but I might just be asking for too much!

The facilities offered in the form of outdoor and indoor swimming pools, jacuzzi ( my favourite form of relaxation during the holiday ), steam room, sauna, 8 jet power shower, and gym were very good. These are available at 2 main periods during the day and the indoor pool and jacuzzi were heated.

The hotel itself seemed very scarce and quiet but not eerie. There was always someone available at the front desk even though they were in the little room behind the desk for the majority of the time. The room was cleaned almost everyday. We were also able to park our rented car for free in the hotel carpark.

There are a few supermarkets within walking distance ( 10 mins at very slow pace - hey, you're on holiday! ), tourist booking centres ( i would recommend not using the first one you come across at the bottom of the hill, try the ones further on, near to the bus stop ).

The main village area near the harbour has several very good quality restaurants. I can personally recommend Vagabondo ( owned by a swedish couple, cosy ambience with a working wood fireplace, and whilst they do not serve traditional portuguese food, they have a very delectable menu available - try the garlic beef - lovely! ) and Adega D'Alvor - slightly more traditional and good quality. There are a few pubs and sports bars around that area. One experience that's a must have in this part of the Algarve is to have a grilled sardines meal with steamed potatoes and a salad ( very well seasoned and tasty ) on the harbour at Ze Morgadinho.

Overall we would definitely return to this hotel, especially for the ambience and charm of the Alvor village!

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — No dvd player
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank stroalki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Was pleasantly surprised with the hotel, the room and Alvor itself. We were given a 4th floor studio with wonderful sea views. The studio was cleaned daily to a high standard. With it being late season the hotel was very quiet - the bar was empty apart from one evening. We did TRY to swim in the pool but as a previous review has said-IT WAS FREEZING! Even on the sunniest, warmest day it was icy. The breakfast package was reasonable but the breakfast too was only reasnable. Luke warm food every day, (even when we went 5 mins before the restaurant opened, the food was still just warm! ) The staff were lovely especially Ricardo who went out of his way to please!
We had a problem with our car hire and needed to phone England. We used the hotel phone. BEWARE! The bill put me in shock. I know hotels charged an inflated rate but 52 euros for an 11 minute call was more than inflated. The phone info in the room said 0.35 euros per unit to phone England depending on the time of day. Only after the bill arrived was it made clear that a unit worked out at less than 5 seconds. Perhaps we should have clarified the charges first. A shame that such a lovely hotel overcharged guests to this extent- but perhaps it's not unusual in Portugal. Even the cold pool, cool breakfasts and high phone charge did not put me off this hotel. I would recommend it to all for a superb realxing holiday.

  • Liked — Spacious well equipped rooms
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank griffpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

We picked the Pestana Alvor Park after reading many good reviews and we weren't disappointed. We had a studio on the 4th floor which was large, modern and spotless, as were all the public areas in the hotel. Most of the other guests seemed to have time-share apartments in the complex, which meant the hotel was relatively quiet compared to the Pestana Alvor Delfim just up the road (again very high standared but too busy for us). The resaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch at the Park, which does mean you have to go into Alvor for dinner. ( or you could walk to the Delfim)
Alvor is a delightful village about 10 mins walk away with lots of choice of restaurants. Didn't understand comment in other reports about a difficult walk. Wide traffic free road with plenty of space at the side to walk, and very well lit at night. The best we found was Taverna do Guedes ( known also as The Green Door) which is near the harbour but a little difficult to find. Well worth the search though
Chrisandsonia.

  • Liked — Elegant, relaxing and quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris99robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macclesfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

Exchanged our timeshare from Pestana Grand Madeira for Pestana Alvor Park .There was only a studio available at the date we wanted to visit.However the apartment allocated was excellent plenty of space for 2 people. Very clean and everything you could need for light meals ie.breakfast (no oven)The pool area very good sauna and steam room excellent.15 mins walk to great beaches same distance to Alvor plenty of restaurants to go to.The weather was excellent while we were there one night bad storm but sunny next day.In our opinion the hotel had nothing going on in the evening the bar was empty and the restaurant closed.The Hotel was full so everyone must have gone elsewhere.However we would go again to the Alvor Park the staff all very nice really enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ritie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.3 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
0.3 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Alvor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Alvor Park Hotel

Property: Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Address: Adega, Quinta Do Ribeiro, Alvor, Portimao 8501-904, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#2 Family Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Alvor Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Pestana Alvor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Alvor Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing