We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean friendly and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Wembley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean friendly and a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Just got back afterour first time in Portugal and we loved it,if clean n basic is all you require then these apartments are for you.The pool is big and clean and all the staff are friendly.The location is perfect 10 min walk to the beautiful beach or quaint cobbled street town,restaurants and cafes to meet all budgets.This was just what we wanted somewhere to relax but still had some life to it.Hopefully we will be back in September.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing the road,we were nt bothered but the dogs normally start barking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    121
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
122
99
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Just got back from our 11 night stay at the Dunas and are we glad to be home! We were in room 302, very spacious but very out dated. With a bit of tlc, this apartment has potential to be lovely. Set in a good location, just ten minutes walk from a fabulous beach and five minutes walk from the center of Alvor. The apartment itself...well where do we start? FILTHY! Shower curtain was covered in mould, fixtures and fittings were grubby and shabby, broken toilet seat, cutlery and cutlery draw minging! In the eleven nights of our stay, we had the bed linen changed once and towels changed twice. On the fourth day We headed to the reception area and asked for some clean towels. We were told by a very unhelpful receptionist, that it wasn't their policy to give us clean towels on the fourth day. Only for the fact that our Thomson rep was in reception at that time and said a few words in Portuguese, were we able to get a towel change. The cleaners 'cleaned' our apartment every other day, but emptying a bin... Well we wouldn't class that as cleaning! The balcony was very spacious, but covered in bird muck which wasn't cleaned once. There was bare wires hanging from the walls and one working light in the living area.
When entering the reception area, the smell of the toilets was overwhelming. We found the lady behind the desk, very unhelpful. Everything we asked her, her answer was 'I don't know'. Dog muck littered the pavement outside the entrance area and getting suitcases in and out was a challenge.
We visited the pool area once and that was enough, we lasted 15 minutes on the mouldy sun beds before we headed back to the fantastic beach. The lifeguard at the pool was very rude towards us. After giving him our name and room number, he still tried to charge us for the use of the pool area.
This holiday was booked through First Choice/Thomson holidays. We have used this travel agent twice a year, for the past 5 years. The reason we chose this accommodation was due to the fact that Thomson has awarded this a Gold Award. We suggest they go back to the Dunas and have another look. We will not be booking a holiday through First Choice/Thomson ever again, they let us down big time! Thank you very much First Choice/Thomson for sending us to a Gold Award DIVE!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Just returned home after a fantastic holiday. The apartments were spotless and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Very convenient location and a few minutes walk from an amazing beach. I would recommend these apartments to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Dean,Chichester United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We got a late deal for the Dunas and the whole time we were there I had to remember how little we had actually paid! But I just felt it could do,so much better! The location as has previously put put on here, is brilliant! Literally 5 minutes from one of the best beaches I 've ever been to and 5 minutes from the fabulous old town of Alvor with it's many bars and eateries etc. But I must admit that I found the "hotel" tired, dated basic and one of the noisiest places I've ever stayed! The rooms are spacious but I would not like to be more than two in there! Although the sofa apparently goes into another bed, it would be a pain and there was barely enough hot water for two showers so definitely not four! The fittings are cheap and plasticky and the most rediculous thing of all, the microwave kettle and toaster, all,have to be juggled around the one and only plug on the kitchen work top! Weeded up with the kettle on the floor but obviously you couldn't do that if you had children in the room! Rediculous! Thin little towels and I asked forma towel change on the third day and it was done but I asked again later in the week and was told only one change allowed! Thomson rules! So I asked if I could pay for clean towels! The receptionist was going to look into it......

We were on the roadside which apparently is quieter! Really? The road sweeper and leaf blower come through before 8 every morning and Thursdays and Sundays, a coach arrives to pick up formthe airport at 6am and is outside running for about 20 minutes! It is also over a bar which seems to be solely for very loud Portuguese men!

The Dunas could do so much better! Then maybe instead of running at what looked like 30% occupancy, it would be full! Also charging for using the Internet? Even b& b's have wifi now! Don't pay to use their computer! Goes to Marco's and have a lovely glass of his smooth red wine or a vino verde and wifi included.

I wouldn't rush back to the Dunas. Look around on Tripadvisor first!

Room Tip: Roadside very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsH0lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Our first time in Portugal and we chose Alvor due to excellent reviews. We found a late deal at the Dunas apartments and as other contributors have said it is basic but very clean and comfortable. The location of the apartments is first class as they are convenient for the beach and the many bars and restaurants in the centre of Alvor. We would happily return to the Dunas and certainly Alvor.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms facing the bars in the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at the Dunas 21 – 28 April, 2013. When we arrived at the apartments - earlier than check in time - we were delighted to find our room was ready. What struck me first was just how clean the apartment was. It was light, airy and plenty big enough for just the two of us. Our room was room 137, and whilst initially slightly disappointed to be facing the road and not the pool area, it soon became clear this was actually a good thing. The bars adjacent to the pool, whilst not terribly noisy, did prove to be somewhat noisy of an evening so the road side suited us just fine.

In terms of the apartment facilities, there is a hob, microwave, kettle and toaster. No hair dryer or iron, so if you want these be sure to pack them! Also, the charge of a safe lock is €20 week + €10 deposit.

The pool area was nice, however even in the low season we struggled a little. There were plenty of loungers by the pool though only 6/8 had the stretchy fabric to offer some comfort, the others were just hard plastic. The pool man, Gollum, as we nicknamed him, was less than happy about providing mats. Every day we arrived at the pool to see him closely guarding a few mats, on one occasion I saw a couple arrive and he picked up two mats – I thought he was taking them over to them, but no he in fact locked them away, as he did most days! I don’t know if things are different in the height of summer, probably, and it certainly didn’t cause us too much of an issue though a little comfort from a mat would have been nice.

There is a small convenience store within the complex, however there is a larger supermarket at the top of the road (no more than 2 minutes’ walk) which has much more choice and is cheaper than the convenience store on site.

Bottom line; I would absolutely return to the Dunas! It is in a great location for the beach, boardwalk and the centre of Alvor which has some fabulous restaurants, and by comparison to other hotels/ resorts is extremely budget friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shar_JX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Location.. The Dunas is ideally located within a 10 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the town centre, the centre has an abundance of bars and restaraunts open from early morning to early in the morning. the quaint harbour town has several day trips available and fishing expeditions plus cave tours around the area

About the Dunas..
you may read on here that the Dunas Du Alvor in Alvor Portugal is a little basic in its accomodation and this is true, the apartments themselves are functional with basic cooking facilities, such as a toaster, microwave, kettle and 4 ring hob with no oven, but remember that this is a 3 star hotel complex and whilst the apartments are sparse in their offerings it is the location and the facilities which in my opinion makes this a hotel more than worth staying in and going back to year after year.

The bedroom arrangements are made up of 1 or 2 rooms with 2 single beds and a pull out bed settee is available in the main room of the apartment, whilst they arent the comfiest beds in the world they are more than adequate for sleeping on as i can tesitify having stayed there for the last 4 years.

so lets discuss the complex, well to start with its clean and tidy through out with Maid service either on a schedule or they can be requested via reception if need be, we found ourselves with a broken TV aerial cable which was replaced immediately by the lady on reception, Internet access is available in the downstairs reception area although a little pricey and other such facilities can be found elsewhere on the complex usually cheaper.

Whether...we usually go to Alvor at the end of August beginning of September and we have yet to have a temperature lower than 30 degrees, for obvious reasons i can't guarantee it to be this hot but it has been for the last 4 years we have been there, in fact in 2010 it hit a high of 38 for the 2 weeks we were there, even the Alvorians couldnt take it, evenings are cooler with temps in the range of 25 -26 degrees which makes drinking outdoors a pleasure, however the downside is that is hard to sleep as the complex doesn't offer Air conditioning in its apartments, however i do believe that you can have a fan for your room if you ask at reception.

Facilities... (see my video here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUJFZtv22bs)

The Dunas has several places to both eat and drink, you have probably heard about the Catus II bar, this is run by a chap called Mark and his wife, he likes to play guitar and sing in the evening for the entertainment of his guests and to be honest the guy is good at what he does, he is a funny bloke with a great sense of customer knowledge and you are guaranteed a laugh and a good night of fun, his drink prices are 1 euro for a beer from midday until 9pm and he does a nice set of cocktails both alcoholic and non alcoholic so the kids can join in.

Round the corner is the aptly named "Chill Out Bar", this is run by a nice guy called Lionel and as the name suggests there is no loud music just a chilled atmosphere, although he has Music playing on TV's facing outside and also shows the footaball matches as well, The Chill Out bar has beer again at 1 euro a glass and this is all day until he closes (usually only when its gone quiet). Lionel also does food from midday until 7pm and does a toasted sandwhich which he claims is the biggest in Alvor and i dont doubt it.

The complex has its own hair salon and mini market which sells a range of good, some prices are a little high, others are reasonable however there are several other supermarkets in the area and Pingo Doce (Asda/tesco) a short walk away. Or you can take a taxi to Portimao and visit the Continente shopping centre.

Other places to eat include a sandwich bar by the pool which does snacks and other hot food, a terrace bar facing out onto the road and marco's (see my review here http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g642199-d1791643-r141347316-Marco_s_Bistro-Alvor_Portimao_Algarve.html). where ever you eat the food is freshly cooked and is always hot and tasty.

The pool is no doubt the crowning glory of the Dunas and if you take the time to do a google earth view of the Alvor area you will see that it has the biggest pool in any of the hotels that are in the area, it starts out cold at the start of the year and as it is fresh water it warms up towards the middle of July, however when the temperature is hot a cold pool is a delight.

About the area...

The beach is no doubt one of things most of us go away for, and you wont be disappointed, its a couple of miles long and is breath taking, bear in mind however that it leads to the Atlantic which can be cold, however once it comes in onto the warm sand it makes paddling a pleasure,
Their is a little shop that sells cold drinks and cold beers if your thirsty, however again a little pricey so it may be best if you take a cooler box and take your own drinks.

All in all i would say that compared to the likes of other complexes around the Alvor area this one is definately the best of the bunch, just stay there one time and you will fall in love with the place.

Room Tip: Drink beer at 1euro, double spirits are 2.50 in the cactus or chill out bars before heading out to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank judslat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas do Alvor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Property: Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Address: Estrada da Barca, Alvor, Portimao 8500-002, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas do Alvor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunas Do Alvor is a large, modern and stylish complex is located close to Alvors sandy beach and the resort centre. The spacious sun terraces that surround the pool have bars, shops and restaurants, making this an ideal choice for families and couples seeking a relaxing holiday. LOCATION-400m from Alvor beach; 300m to Alvor village; 50m to nearest supermarket; 3km to Alto golf course. FACILITIES-Free-form swimming pool and sun terrace; independently-owned shops, bars and restaurants. Holiday Highlights are free kids, subject to availability. ACTIVITIES-Tennis court. ROOMS-1 bedroom apartments (2-4 persons) have a separate twin bedroom, living area with telephone, TV, kitchenette with fridge, full bathroom and a balcony or terrace. Some apartments have a microwave oven (subject to availability). Prices are based on 4 adults sharing on Self Catering. CHILDREN-Splash pool; cots free. Child prices: age limit 16. Option Offers:- Great group deals available, pre-bookable flowers available - £33 and pre-bookable champagne available - £30. Please note: this property is located on a busy side road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunas do Alvor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Do Alvor Apartments Hotel Alvor
Dunas Do Hotel Alvor
Dunas Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing