We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at these apartments for a week 17th - 24th June and had a lovely week. We booked with Torralvor through booking.com and everything from the booking to getting shown around was great. The apartment is roomy with a large living area with a well equipped kitchen including a bottle of wine in the fridge !! The bedroom has a sliding door wardrobe with ample space and plenty of towels. The apartment was spotlessly clean and although we saw cleaners around they didn't come into our apartment which didn't bother us as it's nice to just be left alone for the week and as we ate out every night we were hardly in to make much mess. It is in the centre of town with just a couple of minutes walk to the shops and restaurants and a 10 minute walk to the beach. When we return to alvor we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

apartment was spacious very clean .kitchen equipment was basic the only thing we would suggest was some mugs or a teapot for the English tea drinkers . the pool bar in the Thomson catalogue is the pic-nic bar which could not be faulted they are just so accommodating nothing is to much trouble for them . the apartments could not have been in a better situation you were 5 minutes to the town and bus stop and taxi rank in one direction and 5 minutes in the other direction to the harbour or the beach . I would not hesitate to go back there again.on route from the airport we dropped of at other hotels and our apartments were in the best place

Room Tip: we couldn't fault ours we were 110 we were opposite the chill out bar but we ha no trouble with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Second time stayed at the Dunas... we had a brilliant apartment with the added bonus of the roof terrace, ok its self catering so kitchen equipment very basic, but not a problem. The cleaners supplied clean towels, & emptied bins daily, it was spacious, plenty of wardrobe space & drawers, loads of coat hangers too! Hope to return again & again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julie204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our trip in May was the fifth time at this complex in six years, says a lot. We go with Thomson.

Its quite a big place with four bars that do snacks and a recently re-opened restaurant (Albur's)for more formal meals.
The bars have got crazy happy-hour prices of a pint of lager for a Euro and that's for up until 9 at night! I guess the trick is to try to keep you "on complex" rather than you tripping off to the town. The bars are great anyway, with very pleasant staff and entertainment most nights. The bars shut their doors at midnight so you don't get noise late at night.
Our apartment was plenty big enough for two with a massive lounge area and a lovely balcony looking towards the ocean; all clean and tidy.
Kitchen is reasonably well equipped with microwave and toaster, but no grill on the oven. The cleaners come almost everyday (think they missed once).
Remember to take a bath-mat or you'll be slip-sliding around when you have a shower!
Short walk into the town proper or the superb beach (either one is less than five minutes so you can't argue with the location).
Large private swimming pool with many sun-loungers if that's what floats your boat.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Three of the apartments have got massive roof top terraces, you need to contact the reception before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely week here. Booked via Booking.com with Sara & Miguel and was pleasantly surprised given the great value for money. The 1 bed apartment was very spacious with plenty of storage space in the twin bedroom and a huge lounge with well equipped kitchen, dining area, sofa which converts to twin beds and 2 chairs. Also flat screen tv,hairdryer, storage cupboard with ironing board, drying airer and cleaning utensils. The bathroom is spacious with full bath and shower. The bottle of wine in the fridge on arrival was a nice touch. The only thing that was missing was the usual welcome pack I have always found in apartments - washing up liquid, additional toilet rolls etc. The balcony faced into the courtyard with a pool view and got the sun in the morning which was perfect for breakfast al fresco! The live music entertainment ends at midnight so was never a problem. The location is excellent - 5min stroll into the village (10mins to the centre) with plenty of restaurants & bars nearby. The main beach is 5 mins away with the lovely and less windy Praia dos Tres Irmaos 15mins walk. The harbour is less 10mins walk along the boardwalk. The entire complex is spotless and Fernando is very proud of his pool and poolside area, hosing it and sunbeds daily before opening. There were always enough sunbeds but in high season I would think a few more would be handy! There is a charge for mattresses of 1 euro a day if required. This is not a luxury resort but what it lacks in style, it more than makes up for with service, friendliness and hospitality. I would prefer to return here than many of the 5 star resorts I have stayed in previously!

Room Tip: Depends what you're looking for. Rooms with pool views will be noisier up till midnight so no u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Myself and my husband have just returned from the lovely algarve and we're fortunate enough to stay in the dunas do alvor. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel itself. The location is exactly what we needed as my husband is unable to walk very far. A quick 5 minute walk and you are in alvor, 10 minutes in the other direction to the beach. The staff are simply brilliant. Annabella especially. Always greeted with a smile! We did not spend a great amount of time by the pool but it was clean, they could do with more sun loungers but it was rather quiet so not really an issue. The apartments were a great size and very clean!

The only downside I found was an apparent feud between two bars in the square. Constantly trying to out do one another with music as late as 1a.m!! This did not in any way spoil our holiday, however.

One final comment would be about our thomson rep, Jamie. What a charming young man he was and his knowledge of the area was fantastic. It was refreshing to talk to a representative without feeling like he was selling to you. He always seemed interested in our day. Jamie emailed his photos to me from a trip I had been on as I left my camera in the hotel. We were very impressed.

Overall. Great hotel, great location and would certainly return.

Gill

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank Gills H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Nice place in fact better than we expected nice clean open plan rooms, beds fairly comfy for this type of place, excellent choice of bars and restaurants, but the big plus for us was the great pool area which really was top drawer kept lovely and clean and tidy by the friendly pool guy, just a genuinely nice place to take a holiday.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank pauljrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#2 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas do Alvor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Address: Estrada da Barca, Alvor, Portimao 8500-002, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range: £25 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas do Alvor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunas Do Alvor is a large, modern and stylish complex is located close to Alvors sandy beach and the resort centre. The spacious sun terraces that surround the pool have bars, shops and restaurants, making this an ideal choice for families and couples seeking a relaxing holiday. LOCATION-400m from Alvor beach; 300m to Alvor village; 50m to nearest supermarket; 3km to Alto golf course. FACILITIES-Free-form swimming pool and sun terrace; independently-owned shops, bars and restaurants. Holiday Highlights are free kids, subject to availability. ACTIVITIES-Tennis court. ROOMS-1 bedroom apartments (2-4 persons) have a separate twin bedroom, living area with telephone, TV, kitchenette with fridge, full bathroom and a balcony or terrace. Some apartments have a microwave oven (subject to availability). Prices are based on 4 adults sharing on Self Catering. CHILDREN-Splash pool; cots free. Child prices: age limit 16. Option Offers:- Great group deals available, pre-bookable flowers available - £33 and pre-bookable champagne available - £30. Please note: this property is located on a busy side road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dunas do Alvor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Do Alvor Apartments Hotel Alvor
Dunas Do Hotel Alvor
Dunas Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing