We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic holiday at the dunas once again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday at the dunas once again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned from a fantastic two weeks in the Dunas - had a fab room overlooking the kiosk, room 236 is a must, apartment was spotlessly clean, and all the staff so helpful and friendly. This was our second stay here and we are booking to go back again next year.The pool was a little crowded at times but you have the lovely grassy area adjacent to the pool which is great. Fernando who looks after the pool area a real character, and always so friendly. Overall a fantastic holiday with much time spent in the brilliant Cactos 2 bar, run by Mark and Ali. We had such a welcome, and enjoyed many a night (and lunchime drink) served by the so fiendly bar staff, Helen who is wonderful, Xana who is mad, and the two Janes. So I thank you all for making our holiday so special. See you next year.

Room Tip: room 141, 236 or 329 are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielj1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    120
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
122
97
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here 13th-27th July 2014.
Second year running at these apartments which are in a great location and are very spacious and clean.
We had an apartment just above reception and a couple of times it got a bit noisy outside.
Despite the Portugese Police being really strict about the bars on the complex keeping their doors shut and finishing any 'Live' music bang on midnight there didn't seem to be a problem with the local refuse collectors emptying the bins at 1am and with most of the bins being full of bottles it must have woken up half the town!!!
I would recommend getting an apartment that overlooks the inner courtyard area.
The pool area is fantastic but , like others have commented , the practice of people reserving loads of sunbeds at 9am and then not turning up till lunchtime or later lets it down massively.
They employ a pool guy but he doesn't seem bothered by this practice.
If he did his job properly then perhaps the problem would be eradicated.
The bars and snack bars on the complex offer a good choice but the Cactos 2 Bar was the best in my opinion.
Ali and Mark and their staff are so welcoming and were pleased to see us back for a second year. Drinks are as cheap as you will find in Alvor and Mark is brilliant at night with his singing and banter with his customers.
Despite the minor faults we will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
les deux alpes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Dunas do Alvor Apts. for one week in July - we were in block C, apt 302 which looks north over the road. Whilst not the prettiest view in the world, it was ok & after checking in, we were pleased to find a balcony off of our lounge/diner. We then checked the bedroom & found a massive rooftop terrace that was 100% bathed in sun from 9am-7:30pm! This was ideal for breakfast and for when we wanted some peace & quiet in the sun.

The complex itself has a few bars (we favoured the Cactos II bar as it served Super Bock (400ml = 1€), had very polite friendly staff and you are welcome to take a plastic glass poolside too. The pool area is quite nice, but (as with most other reviews here) there is a huge problem with the policing of sun loungers... If you arrive after 9am, there will be about 50 empty loungers each with a towel on. We wanted to spend 2-3hrs one afternoon & ended up placing our towels on the grass to lay on (we got disturbed by ants though) - this was quite infuriating as only 22 of the 60 odd loungers had anyone on or near them. The 'pool guy' did nothing to help anyone, nor was there any signage/literature to try to stop people 'reserving' loungers and then going out for the day!
The resort of Alvor is just a short walk away from the complex & has many little shops, restaurants & bars (I recommend Alvor Wines if you want a relaxing vinho - good choice & efficient waiter service)...

The beach can be accessed via the dunes, although we preferred to walk along the road to the Restinga (also a lovely restaurant for an evening meal) and enter the beach that way.
Beware, there are quite a few people walking the beach selling tat. (One insisted I 'have a look' through his selection of cheap plastic sunnies even though I was wearing £150 Rudy Projects - be confident & tell them that you are not interested & they will get the picture.
Opposite the complex is a supermarket 'ALISUPER' - they stock pretty much everything you need to self cater - the staff speak good English too. They bake fresh rolls, baguettes through the day, sell fresh fruit & veg & have a decent deli counter for sliced meats/cheeses etc. There is also a large selection of wines/beers/juices/water etc to keep you going.
One negative aspect was that one balcony window & also the patio doors to the sun terrace had broken locks. We reported this of course, but no-one during our time came to look at the problem. We felt it therefore necessary to use the small safe. A lock barrel & key can be hired for a 20€ charge plus a refundable 10€ deposit (this seemed a bit odd, but we had passports, jewellery, currency, etc). It was also just about large enough to store my DSLR which was a weight off of my mind.

Room service was daily insomuch that bins were emptied / beds put straight. It was unobtrusive which was good. The beds gave us both sleepless nights and back pain as the shallow, hard mattresses didn't suit us, but to someone else, they may prove excellent, so no complaint - we did on two occasions make use of the large futon in the lounge.

As we were in the height of summer, we didn't cook at home. Instead we ate bread, cheese, mortadella, salad etc, however, there are a few pots/pans etc in the kitchen. They could do with supplying a bread board as there was nothing to use a knife on. (We brought some plastic plates & cups along with us, which meant we didn't need open any crockery cupboards. The kitchen has a full size fridge/freezer which we turned up to full power & put all our drink & food into without issue.

The bathroom was a bit of a let down - no window & a bad smell on arrival meant our first job before unpacking was to visit the supermarket for bleach & cleaning equipment. The toilet seat was loose/broken (it was one of the most lightweight flimsy ones I'd ever seen), the over bath shower could do with a decent head & there was also damage to the ceiling overhead. That said, it was quite ok after a day or so of getting used to.

We are a couple in our 20s/30s & I'd have to say that if you are looking for complete relaxation, this is not the place - we like La Palma / Paphos etc, but whilst there are a lot of families with children, it was not over the top.

All in all, for a July holiday on a budget, we do feel that we got reasonably good value for money, but there are some fundamental flaws that could easily be dealt with to make this a fantastic place to stay.
WOULD WE GO BACK? Probably not as we don't like going to the same place twice
WOULD WE RECOMMEND? Yes - for those on a tighter budget (we spent less this year than normal as we have other commitments) I would say this is a good place to go.

Room Tip: A sun terrace is a massive bonus at no extra charge! We stayed in 302 & had uninterrupted sun fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiedogLesDeuxAlpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We travelled as a family but there was 5 family,s staying in this complex as a group , the apartments are spotless and are very spacey , beds are comfy and you don't need for anything there are 3 bar/food bars in the complex but the chill out bar and the pic nic bar are the best for value and serve a great range of snacks and meals , the pool is also kept in great condition and very clean , but the pool man is terrible , firstly there are not enough poolside beds (60) in total for a pool of it's size there could easily be 100/120 and still plenty of room for people to walk around the pool area , the pool has 2 gates that are locked til 9 am , and when he opens them there is a charge by people to get beds , so if you come down at 9-30 am ...tuff ... people then place there towels on them and go off to have breakfast , go shopping or sightseeing and there are lots of beds left unused , we also seen people giving the poolman money or buying him drink to keep on his sweet side so no matter what time they came down to use there beds he never said a word to them , but other people would get grief from him if they came down at 10/11 am which we thought was unfare , if they sorted the sunlounger problem out and put more in, this complex would be 1 of the best around as the pool is huge and the complex itself is very nice ....there seemed to be always someone complaining in reception about the 1 thing poolside beds ?? just sort it out ....

Room Tip: we got a pool view but there are lots of apartments that dont have so ask when your booking if thats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dela10Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just back from the dunas apartments and what a lovely place to stay. The apartments were very clean and spacious and had everything that we required. The oven was very good with a grill and 4 ceramic hobs. You had to look carefully at the dials on the oven to get the grill to work but it was first class. The staff at the Dunas were very helpful and pleasant and provided us with a fan for our room as there were no air con. This unfortunately was useless as it was just a desk fan and noisy, but as it was cool in the evening it didnt bother us. If hot at night this could be a problem. We would return to the Dunas in spite of this, as the position was brilliant. 5 to 10 minutes walk to the beach, harbour and the centre of the nightlife. You couldnt go wrong with so many bars and resteraunts to chose from. Had 14 evening meals in a different one every night and all were good value and superb quality. Lovely beach with a boardwalk which you could walk for a couple of hours, [if you could tear yourself off your sunbed]. Yes. A lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Dont think there were any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveiro
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I liked it, can't say it's excellent but it was good value for what I paid.
The pool is very nice and big, with a smaller one for the kids.
The apartment was good enough, it could be improved in a few things like installing a smoke extractor for the stove and improving window blackouts. Also, cleaning wasn't bad but also wasn't great when we first got there.
Overall, nice place, a walking distance from the the beach, good for families with 2/3 kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at these apartments for a week 17th - 24th June and had a lovely week. We booked with Torralvor through booking.com and everything from the booking to getting shown around was great. The apartment is roomy with a large living area with a well equipped kitchen including a bottle of wine in the fridge !! The bedroom has a sliding door wardrobe with ample space and plenty of towels. The apartment was spotlessly clean and although we saw cleaners around they didn't come into our apartment which didn't bother us as it's nice to just be left alone for the week and as we ate out every night we were hardly in to make much mess. It is in the centre of town with just a couple of minutes walk to the shops and restaurants and a 10 minute walk to the beach. When we return to alvor we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.6 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.8 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas do Alvor Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Property: Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Address: Estrada da Barca, Alvor, Portimao 8500-002, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunas do Alvor Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunas Do Alvor is a large, modern and stylish complex is located close to Alvors sandy beach and the resort centre. The spacious sun terraces that surround the pool have bars, shops and restaurants, making this an ideal choice for families and couples seeking a relaxing holiday. LOCATION-400m from Alvor beach; 300m to Alvor village; 50m to nearest supermarket; 3km to Alto golf course. FACILITIES-Free-form swimming pool and sun terrace; independently-owned shops, bars and restaurants. Holiday Highlights are free kids, subject to availability. ACTIVITIES-Tennis court. ROOMS-1 bedroom apartments (2-4 persons) have a separate twin bedroom, living area with telephone, TV, kitchenette with fridge, full bathroom and a balcony or terrace. Some apartments have a microwave oven (subject to availability). Prices are based on 4 adults sharing on Self Catering. CHILDREN-Splash pool; cots free. Child prices: age limit 16. Option Offers:- Great group deals available, pre-bookable flowers available - £33 and pre-bookable champagne available - £30. Please note: this property is located on a busy side road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dunas do Alvor Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Do Alvor Apartments Hotel Alvor
Dunas Do Hotel Alvor
Dunas Alvor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing