We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Clube Brisamar
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Bearing in mind the price of this accommodation (£600 for two adults for two weeks, including flights!) the Brisamar represents good value for money and is generally well-maintained and well-equipped. However, standards could be a little higher - for example, some bones and other rubbish was scattered around the grass near our apartment, which must have been noticeable to the staff yet this was not cleaned up the whole time we were there. The beds and wardrobes were quite musty-smelling and the pillows are appalling - take your own. We complained about a very lumpy, stained pillow to be told that 'all the pillows are lumpy' - this isn't really acceptable given that every other hotel seems to manage to find decent ones. The drain in the bath was blocked and it is suprising that the cleaning staff didn't sort this out as it would have been impossible to clean the bath properly. The kitchen was well-equipped and it was great to have a washing machine.

The swimming pool is very crowded and we didn't use it much, but it is a fairly good size and seemed to be clean and tidy. The receptionists were generally helpful. The walk into Alvor takes 20 minutes or so and it's a further 10 -15 minutes to the beach, so quite a long walk if you have children or are less mobile. There is a new supermarket, Pingo Doce, about 10 minutes' walk away although we found the Lidl in Portimao to be cheaper and better quality. Alvor itself is a nice resort for families and couples. All the fish restaurants around the harbour are lovely, if a little pricey (fish is priced by the kilo and an average grilled fish for one person such as a sea bream or bass will set you back about 20 - 24 euros, not including any drinks etc.).

Alvor can get very chilly in the evenings due to the breeze, so bring a jumper. All things considered, we would probably return to Alvor one day with children but it's unlikely that we would stay at the Brisamar.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MonkeyBusiness1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    149
    130
    56
    43
See reviews for
209
158
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This was our first time to portugal, and I must say we will definately be coming back,
The apartment was clean, spacious and a right bargain in our opinion, our only gripes where the lack of a conventional oven and the need to hire a toaster and kettle, the staff where very, very friendly as where the potugese in general, we ate 3 times in the restaurant and it was superb, but it is worth going into town for some truly fantastic seafood, the weather was fantastic, hot during the day but cool enough at night so no problems with sleeping, there is a well stocked supermarket about 600 yards away for provisions if you want them

Room Tip: Please keep your tips about rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Darkhorse57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Have been to Alvor twice before this trip and had great holidays, but although Alvor is just as lovely a place to visit Club Bisamar is not a particularly nice place to stay. Do not be put off though if you are on a tight budget as this complex though not good is by far the best amoungst the others close by.
The rooms are large but very very basic. Beds are as hard as a park bench and the pillows are the worst i'v ever slept on. Over the ten nights we spent there the room was cleaned 5 times, the towels were changed twice and the bedding was not changed for the entire stay!!
The pool area is quite nice, the bar and returaunt staff are both helpful and friendly and the prices on food and drink are reasonable.
Alvor town centre is an easy 15 minute walk or a 4 euro taxi ride. If you are a beach lover forget it, though its a fabulous beach its a not so easy 30-40 minute walk and a nono if you have young kids.
The transfer from Faro is in excess of two hours (almost as long as the flight).
Be aware that on arrival you have to pay 75 euros deposit on the room and the 4 euros a day for a safe key.
When we checked out, some 15 minutes prior to being picked up, we were told that there would be a 50 euro charge deducted from our deposit for an apparent cigarette burn in one of the rooms blankets, reported by cleaning staff during our stay. Quite how they would notice a small burn I dont know, as you give these blankets to your dog they were so grubby.
I had to argue with the reception staff right up till our bus turned up at which point they realised I was going nowhere untill they had returned my deposit, and so got the full 75 eiros back.
I heard whilst there that some had been charged 50 cents a day for both the kettle and toaster, so be ware.
Despite the above dont be too put off if you have limited funds, forwarned is forarmed..
Do not consider at all, Club Golf or Yellow Alvor, Brisamar is the best of these three that are within a few hundred yards of each other.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mgplowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alvor hotels

Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here at the end of May and had no problem what so ever!

The room was clean and very spacious, kitchen was stocked with everything we could need and towels were changed everyday.

The onsite supermarket stocked the basics needed for a self catering apartment and there was a bus into Alvor 3 times a day, although we never used it as it's only a 10 minute walk in.

Only negative point was that there wasn't much going on in the evenings but it didn't matter much as we found an excellent bar in Alvor where we went every night called the Cactos 2 Bar. It's found on the Dunas do Alvor apartment complex and has live music every night, Mark will sing any song you ask for as long as for! Drinks are unbelievable cheap and the staff are really friendly.

Definately worth a stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank amanda_wales_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

had stayed here 4 or 5 years ago at quinta nova. it has since been done up very nicely with air con, washing machine etc etc. everything about it was lovely. the pool, the apartments, the staff. we had two small problems that were both sorted within 5 minute's. we missed the free bus to he beach one day, so ricardo from the reception drove us there himself. Alvor beach if you go to the end and find the coves is one of the most beautiful i've seen. we will be going back here many many times.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank freedomgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Reccomend Self catering if you can manage the 15 minute walk. Supermarket is 600 yards away and opened on June 1 (phew).

The staff were delightful but have to contend with some hideous guests (some of whom most probably have left the negative feedback!). Clean and spacious- great pool, free sunbeds, bar with sky tv...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank UkHughesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

nice hotel for the price lovely people nice food a little over priced

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#15 of 24 in Alvor
626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Clube Brisamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Brisamar

Property: Luna Clube Brisamar
Address: Sitio da Dourada Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Brisamar 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Clube Brisamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Brisamar Alvor Hotel Alvor
Clube Brisamar Hotel Alvor
Alvor Clube Brisamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing