We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luna Clube Brisamar
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty and run down”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent a week here in August 2103, in a family apartment. The place was dirty and dilapidated. Amongst other broken fixtures the bathroom door wouldn't close, never mind lock. Lots of other little things were broken and didn't seem to have been cleaned in quite a while. We had to buy a can of Raid to keep the ants etc at bay, and couldn't risk eating in the apartment, although it is self-catering. The wardrobe in the bedroom was infested with wood eating insects that munched continuously, keeping us awake during the night. The final straw was the resort's method of dealing with rubbish - large open bins dotted around the grounds which daily became overfilled, and although they were emptied every morning they were usually torn apart by dogs and worse during the night. The battles between cats and rodents outside our window, where one of these bins was, didn't help us sleep much either. Needless to say, the balcony, overlooked as it was by one of these bins, was pretty unpleasant. Although there is a daily cleaning service, floors were never cleaned, nor was there any brushes left so that we could do it ourselves. Generally this is a resort to be avoided - it's dilapidated, dirty and generally an exhausting place to find yourself in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sosmytlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    146
    130
    55
    41
See reviews for
203
157
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 weeks with a large group. Don't really know what peoe expect when paying these prices but we though the brisimar was ideal. Rooms were clean and spacious, we did take our own pillows after reading previous reviews and glad we did as the pillows were terrible. Other than that the rooms were fine. Pool area was good sometimes there was a shortage of beds but we were up early. Animation team kept the kids entertained with football, water polo ect.area around the pool could have done with hoses down!!
All staff were friendly and helpful.
Was a 10 minute walk into town which we all liked, a few bars and resturants on the way into town which were nice, try panda grill, very good.
Overall we all enjoyed our stay and would return to Luna club brisimar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I'll start with the negatives as that is the reason we come on here! Yes the pillows are dire - bring your own. Yes the air con is poor and the bedding is not brilliant but the staff fixed the air con when I asked. I saw the occasional ant (was on top floor) and there was a bit of a walk to the apartment and it was up a hill. The food did get boring but then all inclusive stuff always does I guess. Out of 14 days I would say 3 days' food was not inspiring.

That said, the rooms were clean and we had a view of the sea (in the distance!). It was quiet apart from the occasional dog barking, sheep bleating and cockerel making himself heard. The resort is a 20 minute walk from the town centre and 30 minutes from the beach but they put on a minibus with a lovely accommodating driver several times a day Monday to Friday.

The staff were simply stunning - helpful, friendly and great sense of humour - they really make the place and make up for what is a quite a basic hotel that needs a spruce up. The pool was big and clean (with a children's pool beside) but there was another unused one next door and hidden from view which was a bit sad.

This is somewhere for families to go. The entertainment was a little odd, ranging from traditional dancing to comedy sketches not billed on the schedule. The entertainment people constantly played rubbish Euro music at the side of the pool and very loud too - but I asked them to turn it down and on all six occasions they did! The Algarve is windy so yes, the brollies do blow around. They need to stop all the Brits from hogging the loungers (I'm from the UK by the way!) and when complaints were made, more loungers duly arrived.

They charge £30 a fortnight for a safe with a deposit on top. The air con is free.

The accommodation was cheap for all inclusive and there are reasons for this but I was not invaded by ants, did not witness plugs off walls and when I did complain about small things, they were sorted. If you are booked to go here (or thinking of booking) then bear the other reviews in mind but nobody I spoke to there was having a bad time. Above all, you'll marvel at just how lovely the staff are and how hard they work. Give the place a punt if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a good walk away from reception so if you are less fit, tell them before you get ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

How they can say this is a 3* I don't know the cleanliness isn't even upto a 2*. The apartment that we were in was very dated. The toliet had urine stains around the base, the bath had scum on the enamel, the front door had a gap where ants were coming into the apartment the electrical sockets hanging off the wall and the TV not working, missing remote for the aircon. The beds in the bedroom were camp beds, the sofa bed was different heights.The staff were lovely and did try and sort things out if they could. I found a real difference from the morning staff to the evening staff in that the morning staff would bend over backwards to help but the evening staff couldn't give two hoots! Having stayed in many 3* places all around europe I think this place should be a 1.5*, it shouldn't be aimed at a families instead maybe young adults who are just looking to drink & sleep! I will be going back to Alvor but keeping well away from Clube Brisamar!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alvor hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here in a one bed apartment for a week. I have never been so ready to come home. The beds were so uncomfortable that we pinched sunbed matresses to put under our sheets so that we could sleep.
The aircon threw out ice.
There were ants everywhere in the apartment even though we were 3 floors up. No lifts just lots of stairs, killer!!!
The food was average, not a lot of choice but ok.
The management were useless but the staff were amazing. Friendly, hard working and always happy to help. To be honest they made the holiday, lovely team.
There was not enough shade in the heat of the day and sun brollies were few and far between. There was a constant wind which blew the brollies away at a speed and almost caused accidents.
Dogs barked all night.
The area of Alvor is lovely, though quiet.
Would we go again, NO!!

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

The reception staff were very rude. In our room the plugs were hanging off the wall. No enamel in the bath, had flaked and was blocking up the plug hole, mould in the grouting, horrible smell. On lifting up the toilet seat for the first time, a fly flew out. Cockroaches in the bedroom, floor was filthy, air con didn't work. Light outside our bedroom had been smashed and glass was on floor. Disgusting, dirty, horrible, smelly place. Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Janeyw1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

i had the most uncomfortable stay at this hotel. The beds were hard, the blankets were horrible woolen things that itched the life out of you not to mention they looked totally gross, the only reason i used them was because at night it was soo cold in march or i would not of touched them with a barge pole. the pillows were gross, they must have been put through a washing machine about 200 times + to the point they didnt even resemble a pillow anymore the cushion inside them was big balls of clumps, horrible!! dont be fooled by the pro pics the bedrooms are not that pretty. now for the bathroom ewww is all i can say. first time i took a shower which was over the bath the head kept falling of the wall so i had to hold it over myself to have a shower. next day to my horror i removed the bath matt of the bath to find that the enamel was of the bath and it was black, there was somebody elses hair and dirt all round the bath yuck!!! from then on i didnt even get into the bath i just washed over it. i think they changed the sheets a total of once the 10 days we stayed there. the manager seemed like a nice man but the women that worked at the bar seemed very rude and it left an uncomfortable feeling. one of the women who worked at the hotel actually made fun of me to another person because i was wearing summer clothes it was 26 degrees!!! i swear il never be back to that hotel. i really loved loved portugal and def will go back again, but this time it will be 4 star if thats their standards of a 3 oh and one last thing there entertainment is complete rub

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.5 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellow Alvor Garden
Yellow Alvor Garden
#17 of 24 in Alvor
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Delfim Hotel
Pestana Delfim Hotel
#8 of 24 in Alvor
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alvor Baia Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Clube Brisamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Brisamar

Property: Luna Clube Brisamar
Address: Sitio da Dourada Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Brisamar 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Luna Clube Brisamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Brisamar Alvor Hotel Alvor
Clube Brisamar Hotel Alvor
Alvor Clube Brisamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing