We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, helpful friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna Clube Brisamar
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked last minute and we're very pleasantly surprised by these apartments. Ideal family location. The complex is quiet and peaceful. The pool is great for kids. It certainly is not 5 star but all you need for a comfortable stay. The town of Alvor is a bit of a walk but the free shuttle bus is great.would definatly recommend these apartments, great value. We had a fantastic time and would hope to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lglasgow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Whilst staying with family in the UK, we decided to take a last minute trip and chose Luna Club, Brisamar. Arrived at checkout and handed a map of where our appartment was - quite a hike and no help to get there! Apt. was fairly clean, however the bath did have black mold (?) on the tiles hearest the floor. The couanter around the sink was not cleaaned the five days we were there.

The beds were ckean and comfortable, however the pillows were awful! Seems tey had been washed frequently and feelt like one was sleeping on mediom hard to hard golf balls! Asked for replacements the next day - seemed to be a little difficult to get pillows replaced, however we did get two, which were more like soft to medium golf balls! Our bedroom closed was stuck open and immovable, the advertised safe had no lock, and the front door was extremely difficult to open.

The food was below average, thin slices of overcooked meat, pasta, and cold french fries! The fruit ion the desert table was watermelon (every day) with jello and soe sort of cake! ( asked for a ham sandwich during “afternoon tea” and got two slices of white bread with one peice of processed cooked ham - nothing else! Hot dogs were free;u available!!!!

If it wasn’t for the weather, the pool and the staff there wasn’t too much good to say about this place which was a long bus ride from anywhere!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank lpoollady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel just as it was going out of season, and the staff where still buzzing with enthusiasm. The apartment was basic but serviceable, clean and cool with the air con being a real boon.

There was no entertainment during our stay but it was still a perfect base to travel, explore and discover this beautiful region

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank mephoto1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Luna Clube in July for 4 nights bed and breakfast with my wife and two girls 9 and 14..
We didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment above reception which was comfortable, large, clean and well equipped.
The breakfast was very good with many choices of hot and cold food and not packed and chaotic like other places we've stayed at.
Yes the complex is a bit dated and tired but we didn't expect 5 star luxury because we didn't pay 5 star money.
I would have given it 5/5 but for one thing...the pillows, they really are as bad as other people have mentioned but that's the only thing we could find to complain about.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

have just returned after a 10 day holiday here, can not say a bad word about the place, we went all inclusive food was fine, different meat & fish every day, with pasta, rice, salad, & chips, also a kids choice, either pizza, burgers, chicken nuggets, fish fingers.
pool area was great with plently of sun beds, kids pool & a large pool, pool bar, entertainment throughout the day, also in evenings starting with a mini disco for kids.
you can have a massage, reflexology, or even get your nails done right by the pool for a great price, would definitely recommend this place, & i will return.
when booking request a room near reception,

Room Tip: choose higher appartment, close to reception, pool & shop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jakkio81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were here for one month due to some work on our home.

The resort has many low rise apartment blocks about 50% of the apartments are privately owned. It was a little dated but large and well decorated….bright and cheerful. The kitchen was fitted with kettle, toaster, 4 ring ceramic hob, microwave and automatic washing machine (A bonus if you have a small family) and plenty of hot water. Something that might be a showstopper is the lack of good TV. There is a small TV but it only has 4 Portuguese speaking channels. It wasn’t a problem for us as we watched the world cup in bars with other disgruntled English fans and in compensation we were forced to drink a large beer and a G&T for 3 Euro.......hey, we all have to do our bit! If you want some music then bring it on your PC.

The staff were fantastic, really helpful even printing a 40 page document for free that I had to complete and return to the UK by post. Wifi is free in reception. Yes, the apartment was slightly dated but it was large, cleaned by Tanya every day and well equipped so at 22 Euro per night it was an absolute steal. We booked the first 2 nights on Booking.com to see if we liked it and then they agreed we could stay pretty much as long as we liked at the same rate. (I think we were very lucky).

We arrived late May and it was perfect. It was quiet, apartment clean and a 15 minute walk to the many restaurants in the centre of town and a little longer to the beach. There are a couple of restaurants and a good sized supermarket just a 10 minute walk. Alvor, by the way, is like a Cornish fishing village but with sun! It has a large network of boardwalk paths across the dunes and around the bay. Fabulous sandy beaches that looked very safe for small children.

On June 7th Portugal’s kids started their summer holidays so local families started to arrive with it getting busier each week. We left on June 25th and by the time we left we were exasperated by the number of yapping dogs that came and were left alone on the balcony’s to yap and yap. We did complain but those dogs were in private apartments so there was nothing the hotel could do. There are also a few wild dogs that are very non-threatening but can also howl with the rest of them – of course, the hotel could sort these out if they wanted to. The English occupier of one of the villas on site also had an annoying Labrador that she seemed reluctant to train. We are dog lovers but we’re ashamed that the human race could allow its pets to create such an unrelaxing environment for its fellow humans.

Would we go back? Yes, we liked Alvor a lot but we might choose somewhere else to stay. Having said that, there were more quiet days than not and when it’s good, it’s very good, so I’m really not sure. Over the last few years I’ve had some very bad experiences of dog owners and their attitude to basic hygiene and noise so I think I’ve become very ‘anti dog owner’.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Itcanbedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We returned from 10 Days all inclusive at Luna Clube Barisimar on Tuesday and all in all had a great time there. Apologies if this review seems long winded but we based our trip on reviews from trip advisor and I wanted to give as much info as possible to help others.

+Room
Room was basic but very spacious with space for us and two kids. Kids were in a seperate room which was great. It was quite dated in appearance but we didn't mind this as it was cleaned everyday apart from Sundays and the day before we left. Worked as a perfect base for the holiday.

+Site
The site is very pretty and well maintained. Small shop on site for essentials but the is a supermarket around a mile from the site. The main bar did not open while we were there (next to the restaurant) but the pool bar was always open and was enough for drinks we needed. Snacks are available from the pool bar between meal times, very basic but okay.
One thing to note is the entertainment. It wasn't great but having two kids it didn't matter to us as we were returning to the room at around 9.30 after the kids mini disco (great fun for the kids).

+Food
I found the food fine as I eat pretty much anything but for the missus and kids it was quite difficult. The kids especially. Lots of fish and pasta which you would expect but only ever one choice of meat. Typically your all inclusive choice. Breakfast was the best meal of the day.

+Pool
The pool is great, big and clean. One kids pool and one adult pool. Never too busy and always could get a sunbed. Water polo and aqua aerobics / dancing was on during the day.

+Alvor
Alvor is a lovely quiet place. The beach is amazing and well worth the 30 minute walk from the hotel which we did on most of the days we were there. Bars and snacks right on the beach were very expensive but there are a few bars just back into the town which were much cheaper (1 euro a beer). "The chill out bar" is a great place in the town just off the beach. A special mention needs to be made for the "Snack Bar Rialvor" a little snack bar on the way to the beach just past the supermarket. Great food and run by two brothers who always made us welcome. Would definitely recommend going there.

+Weather
The weather when we went was amazing. First couple of days was high twenties but dropped dramatically on a nightime so be sure to take a jacket. For the rest of the time we had temps between 30-35c (Hitting 39 one of the days), not a cloud in the sky and stayed warm on an evening.

All in all we had a great family holiday, kids enjoyed it and would definitely consider returning. Hope this review is helpful. Would recommend the Barisimar for families with kids.

Room Tip: We were in a room in block H5 which was close to the shop / bar / pool. The site is big though so s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank CJTH113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
0.1 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 24 in Alvor
509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quinta Praia
Quinta Praia
#17 of 24 in Alvor
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
1 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.9 mi away
Pestana Delfim All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Clube Brisamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Clube Brisamar

Address: Sitio da Dourada Alvor, Alvor, Portimao 8500-053, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Alvor
Price Range: £36 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Clube Brisamar 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Clube Brisamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clube Brisamar Alvor Hotel Alvor
Clube Brisamar Hotel Alvor
Alvor Clube Brisamar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing