We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Tasty”

Restaurante Ababuja
Ranked #28 of 154 Restaurants in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Extremely Tasty”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a fantastic lunch here and will be going back on our next visit! This place is in a great location with a nice view out over the harbour... We shared the delicious prawns clams and monk fish with rice, a bottle of house white and it was one of the best meals we had all holiday! I thought it was reasonable priced and the staff are really nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalton84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    134
    55
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were tempted to try' A Babuga' by the smell of the charcoal grill, the friendly waiting staff and the view of the Harbour.

We arrived at about 8.30pm and the place looked very busy, We we were asked if we booked we felt we were about to be disappointed as I could only see one table free.

We were lead to the table and the reserved sign was removed, the table was right by the glass wall looking out onto the harbour and old fish market in Alvor, with the sun just setting, there could be no better backdrop.

Our waiting staff were friendly, helpful and full of recommendations and advice.
In the end we decided to share the Prawn and Clam Spaghetti. What a choice!

Before our main course, we had traditional breads, olives, and marinated vegetables, during which at least three attentive members of staff checked that we were happy and had everything we wanted.

When our main course arrived, the clams and prawns were so fresh and full of flavour, the delicate sauce through the dish was a joy to the senses. We took the waiters advice on a good bottle of Vinho Verde (Green wine) which is made from the very young grapes and has a slight fizz to it, you have to try vinho verde, trust me.

There was a very large dish of the spaghetti for the two of us, stuffed full of prawns and clams, we struggled to finish it but there was no way we were going to leave any.

The Spaghetti, couvers and wine came to 42 Euro which we felt was more than reasonable. We will definitely visit A Babuja on our next trip to Alvor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muddeeboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent lobster meal”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

During a recent stay near Alvor, my stepson had his 16th birthday meal in this restaurant. He wanted lobster and the restaurant sourced this for us, although it isn't normally on the restuarant menu. All other starters - oysters, large prawns, cheese boards, bread - were delicious and the inclusion of a fruit salad with the lobster was unexpected but really nice as well.

All topped off with an excellent bottle of Portuguese red wine, recommended by the restaurant. Staff was informed and attentive throughout, especially to the birthday boy.

If you like your fish food and are visiting Alvor, this is well recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cattydcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be warned!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had the misfortune of eating here this week. I struggle to find anything positive to say after spending €70+ for two adults and a small child.

After waiting for 30 mins for someone to even take a drinks order, we were served what can only be described as pretty poor quality food.

Service was really poor and inattentive. .

Appetiser of portuguese sausage was microwaved and hadn't been near a grill. Mussels priced at €13.50 were just about average but incredibly small portion

Main course of grilled squid was overcooked. Staff uninterested in any sort of customer feedback. I really couldn't wait to get out of the place

I'm genuinely annoyed at myself for entering a restaurant which is clearly an overpriced tourist trap with very little idea of how to run a restaurant and zero quality control. Unsurprisingly I didn't feel the need to leave a tip

Good luck to those that enjoy it here - I'd rather give my money to the homeless and go hungry than return

Ps even the draft beer felt watered down. can of 7up for the kid was ok though

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bookertmgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty Treat”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

On a friends recommendation ,we went to A Babuja and we were not disappointed ,both my wife and I enjoyed sharing our meals which our Waiter set out for us, giving us the chance to enjoy both our selections. A Restaurant I will go back to when back in Alvor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferretGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Ababuja also viewed

Alvor, Portimao
Alvor, Portimao
 

Been to Restaurante Ababuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing