We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful natural setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta Tapada do Gramacho
Ranked #2 of 3 Estombar B&B and Inns
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A peaceful natural setting”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you want to escape the golf scene in Portugal and ugly high rises which are along the Algarve coast then this is the place to spend a holiday. One can chill out here with just the sounds of nature to listen too. We spent 2 relaxing weeks here. Karin and Omi very helpfully, recommend restaurants, beaches and places to visit. Vanda always brought a ray of sunshine to our table, each morning, when she brought a glass of the fresh orange juice to the table, they both are the best! There was a BBQ and a dinner served during the fortnight we were here which was an opportunity to meet the other guests which were of different nationalities, the common language was English. The whole experience was friendly and happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceciliamorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After booking the B&B you get an e-mail with a clear description on how to reach the house including pictures. The place is situated in a quiet and peaceful location with plenty of parking opportunity right around the corner. The rooms are clean, spacious, and nicely decorated and the bathroom has a mighty comfortable shower. There is no air-conditioning, but the temperature in the room was comfortable.

Breakfast is delicious has fresh orange juice, on-the-spot baked eggs and home-made bread. There is a large shared room with tables and a comfortable couch, a lounge area, nice clean swimming pool and several comfortable deckchairs for sunbathing and the owners were very friendly and helpful with pointing us to good restaurants or nice beaches in the neighborhood.

The only minus was that there is the toilet: when the door is closed there is a 2 cm slit between the door and the wall, which seems a weird design choice for a toilet where one expects some privacy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gewoonkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groenekan, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly stylish. An exotic escape close to golf courses - beaches - town - and surrounded by countless mountainbike routes. The cosy Quinta is situated close to the river and sits in the midst of an Australia-like scenery. The Dutch owners Karin and Imco manage to make everyone feel welcome in their 'home'. The occasional organised diners or BBQ's provide a subtle chance to meet with the other guests if u like. Every room is different - boutique style - and equipped with all u need and then some.
I personally highly recommend the place although I then run the risk of the Quinta to be overbooked next year. But hey - I might run into you as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After a disappointing accomodation in Lagos, my wife and i decided to move along and stay for only one night at this lovely, charming and really welcoming BB close to the historical city of Silves. The room was comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was really large. The only thing i missed was an air conditioner. Karin and her husband were really helpful and kind. The breakfast was nice and the dining room was really welcoming and comfy. The overall atmosphere is really relaxed, friendly and stylish at the same time. And very good value!

Room Tip: if you are travelling for a long period with kids, you should go for the apartments on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pero_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed here a couple of years ago and have meaning to leave a review as our stay was fantastic. The owners couldn't have been more helpful both before we arrived and whilst we were there giving us tips about where t get our shopping, where to eat, how to get around etc. We were made to feel very welcome. The hotel itself is so peaceful and quiet - it was fully booked when we stayed but you would never have realised. Our room was really big and really pretty and they rearranged the furniture for us so we could fit one adult and two children in together. I would definitely recommend to those wanting a peaceful place to stay as a base to explore the wider area. A car is essential to do this but everything you need (beaches, shops, water park etc) is all within a reasonable distance. We will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearsoncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We arrived at Quinta Tapada do Gramacho following a disappointing previous night's accommodation. You might say that any improvement would tend to colour our opinion but the fact is that we fell in love with this place from the outset. I booked back in February and Karin immediately wrote to welcome us in advance to their Quinta and to provide invaluable directions to the hotel. This same unobtrusive and genuine friendliness was again evident on our arrival when Karin's charming and enthusiastic husband, Imca, greeted us and showed us the ropes. We chose the 'Cosmo Suite', the style of which reflected a Northern European interior design influence, and my wife and I felt very comfortable with the imaginative synthesis of retro meets vintage meets IKEA meets industrial meets kitsch meets objets trouve. Of course it's no good enjoying the ambience of the bedroom alone so we were delighted that the bathroom and separate walk-in shower room developed the theme of aesthetic functionality with quality fitments and a well thought out design. The dining room is magnificent and breakfast was delicious. It restored our faith in the Algarve that at least one hotel we visited served freshly squeezed orange juice, ironic given the area is awash with citrus groves!
All this and a great garden overlooking the river, birdsong by day and frogsong by night, and only ten minutes from Silves. Look no further if you're in the area and well worth travelling to be near it if you're not.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong whichever room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

4 of us stayed in two rooms for 5 nights. The owners are very friendly and extremely helpful, offering advice on things to do in the local area. The rooms were beautiful, with high ceilings and bright decor enhancing the holiday feel. The garden and pool area are well equipped with a comfy cushioned area perfect for a snooze. The location, not far from Silves, is ideal with the refreshing breeze coming up the Rio Ariadne to take the edge off of the heat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estombar
2.0 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
6.8 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lagoa Hotel
Lagoa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rio Arade Manor House
Rio Arade Manor House
#1 of 3 in Estombar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.9 mi away
Vale d'El Rei Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Tapada do Gramacho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Tapada do Gramacho

Property: Quinta Tapada do Gramacho
Address: Sitio do Tapada do Gramacho | near Silves, Estombar, Lagoa 8400-080, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagoa > Estombar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Estombar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tapadado Gramacho is an under architecture restored Portuguese farm on 7 hectares of land bordering the river Arade near the historical village of Silves. It's uniquely situated in a nature and bird watching area. Tapada do Gramacho offers you the feeling of an old Portuguese farm with modern comfort and luxury. All set up in a peaceful place full of rest, space and nature, nevertheless near everything to what the Algarve has to offer, like beaches, golf courses, restaurants, cities etc, all within 10 minutes drive. It is also perfect for groups up to 24 people. Ideal for golf or business groups, families, courses, events, etc. The whole guesthouse will be exclusively for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quinta Tapada do Gramacho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Tapada Do Gramacho Portugal/Estombar, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing