We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just brilliant”
Review of La Fructuosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Fructuosa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

You can't get better views anywhere. All the 5 rooms look out over the valley towards the south. In the distance is Gibraltar and further on, the coast of Morrocco. The rooms are large, airy and interesting. Louis is a great host and the restaurant, when open, is excellent. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights. We the room at the top of the hotel next to the roof terrace. Luckily the hotel was not busy and we had the roof terrace to ourselves it was beautiful, quiet, relaxing and had a view you would never we tired of. The room had a fridge, lovely shower and seating area a little dark in the room as the shutters were down to keep it cool but we spent much of our time on the terrace anyway. The breakfast was toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt and cake and that was served on the lower terrace with views over the valley.

We ate both nights in the hotel, the food was great they had a regular menu and nightly specials. We really enjoyed our meals and the staff are very friendly and caring. Our room was recently featured in a local magazine which the hotel owner Luis proudly showed us. He bought the hotel years ago and did it up himself, he has done a fine job.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bagpuss_zzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Since we last came the cooking has been delegated from the owners to the staff, and, if anything, has improved. Our meal was faultless: beautifully cooked solomillo, succulent tuna, excellent lamb, and perfect sea bream. Peppers stuffed with duck are old favourites of ours. Service is charming and efficient. The terrace offers spectacular views of the valley below and Gibraltar in the distance. The interior, focused around an old wine press, is gorgeous. Only serves non-guests on Friday and Saturday and booking is essential. Go there.

We were not staying the night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The view from our room was spectacular we could see Gibraltar and Africa. The room was clean and the bed linen beautiful.
Service was as always helpful but they also leave you alone to do as you please.
We had dinner in the restaurant on Friday and Saturday .the food was very fresh well presented and extremely good

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gatatriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Clean and full of character with a friendly welcome and magnificent views to Gibraltar and north Africa from all the bedrooms and terrace. Have your mobile to hand on arrival as you appear to have to phone for owner, Jesus to come from nearby to let you in. On our stay he advised that unless at least 3 bedrooms request breakfast, it is not prepared on the premises and offers an option in a bar nearby. The restaurant, which appears to operate at weekends, supplied the best evening meal of our stay in Gaucin and would particularly recommend the local Queso starter, goats cheese grilled with honey. We parked on edge of town and walked in which I feel was best option in view of narrow streets and one way systems. The hotel and town offer an excellent contrast to the more frentic nearby coastal resorts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent one night at this delightful hotel in the pretty white Andalucian village of Gaucin and cannot fault it - nothing was too much trouble for the owners who had restored this old Spanish house and transformed it into a lovely rural hotel with fantastic views to Gibraltar. The scenery is stunning around the area and this was the first night of a six night walking holiday for us - we walked from one hotel to another and our luggage was transported to the next destination. All of the hotels we stayed at were good but La Fructuosa stood out from them all. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent, well prepared with an extensive menu to choose from. The bedroom we had was large, very well furnished with a sofa in the sitting area and a large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and shower. All rooms are individually and tastefully furnished. This is a hotel we would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BristolClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We overnighted in Gaucin on our way from Grazalema to Granada. Arrived late afternoon & nobody there initially, so had to ring Luis & do a drop & run as hotel on a rather narrow street. Did a few circuits & eventually got a park just down from hotel.
Room was lovely - big windows with views right down to Gibraltar & over to Morocco. Hotel very comfortable, with a big guest lounge & roof terrace. As we were there on a Monday, restaurant was closed (bit frustrating as the food reviews sounded fantastic!) but we decided to 'eat in' & bought some amazing takeaways (well, not really in the normal context) from the deli across the road - beautiful Tunisian Chicken, lemon chicken, Greek salad, couscous & chocolate pudding to die for. So we borrowed cutlery & plates from the restaurant downstairs & had dinner on the roof terrace, all washed down with a bottle of local white wine. Heavenly!!
Breakfast next morning was fine - lovely restaurant below the hotel - where the old winery was.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
11 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
395 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Complejo Turistico Castillo Castellar
Complejo Turistico Castillo Cast...
#2 of 2 in Castellar de la Frontera
145 reviews
11.2 mi away
Apartamentos Manilva Green
15.1 mi away
Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fructuosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fructuosa

Address: Calle Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price Range: £74 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Fructuosa 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaucin, is a beautiful white mountain village, part of the Serrania de Ronda. The Hotel La Fructuosa is in the centre of this lovely village, offering a calm, cozy atmosphere and spectacular views, from each of the five large and comfortable rooms and its terraces, of the Genal Valley and extending to Gibraltar and Morocco. An ancient wine press has been preserved, and is now an original setting for the breakfast room. Breakfast also may be served while enjoying the breathtaking view from the ground floor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your La Fructuosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fructuosa Gaucin
La Fructuosa Hotel Gaucin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing