We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fructuosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Fructuosa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

By far the best meal that we had in Gaucin was at La Fructuosa. Quirky and charming with Jose the effervescent host going out of his way to make customers welcome. Food was delicious and the terrace very romantic on warm evenings. Didn't stay in the hotel, but would willingly do so after this taster

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putneyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    30
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
125
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have stayed at fancy resorts all over the World ,but this place is authentic. Back to the basics, great food and personalized service, good idea to book ahead, as there is only 5 rooms. Wake up in the morning, open the window and you can look all the way to Africa.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boestergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

La Fructuosa is a lovely restaurant well worth a visit. We go every time we are in Gaucin. The food is beautifully prepared and presented and quite unusual!!! The staff are so friendly and welcoming and it is so worth a visit. Only open Friday & Saturday so must book.
Jose - your host is charming and amusing and also runs a fabulous and unusual gift and antiquities shop just off the main square - well worth a visit. I am still wearing my friendship bracelet Jose. See you next year
Lyn & Mike xx

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had the pleasure of staying just one night at this lovely little inn in the centre of Gaucin. After travelling across three time zones in 24 hours, my room was a comfortable and peaceful haven. the windows overlooked the valley and i could see straight south to Gibraltar and Morocco.

My host Luis, was wonderfully welcoming and also runs the adjoining restaurant where we dined that night on local goat cheese and tasty gambas. I have to give him huge kudos for having the most comfortable bed I've slept in away from home!

This is a first class inn and the price is very agreeable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Very expensive for a very average hotel with few facilities but fantastic views. Restaurant not available on Sunday evenings and breakfast is in a separate bar away from the hotel. No kettle for tea/coffee, no hair drier and wifi signal very weak. TV in room was very small and some distance from the bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. We were over for our friend's wedding. The hotel is very centrally located, clean and rustic looking. The rooms are very spacious, and the views are breathtaking, looking out to the hills in Gaucin. The owner and staff of the hotel were very helpful and the owner was only a phone call away. We felt as though we had the hotel all to ourselves as the owner and staff were only there for a couple of hours in the morning to clean the rooms. The hotel had a very relaxed feel to it as all vacant hotel rooms had their doors open. The week we were there was very quiet, so we felt as though we were in an apartment all to ourselves. There was a beautiful open terrace where you could sit and relax during the day. I loved the deli across from the hotel. It did amazing food. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Myself and my new wife spent a week in La Fructuosa in Jan'13. Jesus , the owner, was incredibly personable helping us with things to do during the day in Gaucin (The umbria walk is fantastic with spectacular views).
The room immediately opposite the entrance to the hotel has exceptional views over the straits of Gibraltar and Morocco (on a clear day). It has a jacuzzi bath. If you open the bathroom shutters around 2-4pm you can take a jacuzzi bath whilst getting a tan. Fantastic.Incredibly clean and with a very reasonably priced minibar.
I cant fault the service or hotel.
Reception isnt staffed but we had access to Jesus' mobile and keys for the main door if there were any issues.
We will be staying again without a doubt! Even looking to maybe buy a place in Gaucin at some point. Loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
2.9 mi away
Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
12.7 mi away
Villa Erina Park Hotel
Villa Erina Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manilva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Casares
Hotel Rural Casares
#2 of 2 in Casares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fructuosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fructuosa

Property: La Fructuosa
Address: Calle Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Fructuosa 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaucin, is a beautiful white mountain village, part of the Serrania de Ronda. The Hotel La Fructuosa is in the centre of this lovely village, offering a calm, cozy atmosphere and spectacular views, from each of the five large and comfortable rooms and its terraces, of the Genal Valley and extending to Gibraltar and Morocco. An ancient wine press has been preserved, and is now an original setting for the breakfast room. Breakfast also may be served while enjoying the breathtaking view from the ground floor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Fructuosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fructuosa Gaucin
La Fructuosa Hotel Gaucin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing