We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Gaucin”
Review of La Fructuosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Fructuosa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was my favourite meal out during our stay in Gaucin. We had eaten here before during our last visit in 2010 and the experience was even better than before. Firstly the terrace is a real treat looking out to the mountains and it is delightfully decked with vines, plants and pretty lights. They even plus in insect repellents to make your stay more comfortable, none of us were bitten! Host was charming and took us through the menu and they were very accommodating with my younger daughter who only likes simple food, preparing a simple dish of pasta and prawns specially for her. My husband and I had prawns in brandy to start, delicious and very nicely presented, my other daughter had a tasty salad. My main course was sea bream which was cooked to perfection, husband had oxtail which he really liked and daughter had tasty baked lamb leg. We had a nice bottle of white wine and a glass of Cava to start. Girls had soft drinks. We were too full for deserts. Bill came to 117 euros which I thought was a very fair price for a thoroughly enjoyable meal in enchanting surroundings. Great! One word of warning, when we visited the restaurant was only open on Friday and Saturday so be sure to make a booking if you want to eat out on the terrace.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank BabRig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

By far the best meal that we had in Gaucin was at La Fructuosa. Quirky and charming with Jose the effervescent host going out of his way to make customers welcome. Food was delicious and the terrace very romantic on warm evenings. Didn't stay in the hotel, but would willingly do so after this taster

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank putneyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have stayed at fancy resorts all over the World ,but this place is authentic. Back to the basics, great food and personalized service, good idea to book ahead, as there is only 5 rooms. Wake up in the morning, open the window and you can look all the way to Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boestergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

La Fructuosa is a lovely restaurant well worth a visit. We go every time we are in Gaucin. The food is beautifully prepared and presented and quite unusual!!! The staff are so friendly and welcoming and it is so worth a visit. Only open Friday & Saturday so must book.
Jose - your host is charming and amusing and also runs a fabulous and unusual gift and antiquities shop just off the main square - well worth a visit. I am still wearing my friendship bracelet Jose. See you next year
Lyn & Mike xx

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had the pleasure of staying just one night at this lovely little inn in the centre of Gaucin. After travelling across three time zones in 24 hours, my room was a comfortable and peaceful haven. the windows overlooked the valley and i could see straight south to Gibraltar and Morocco.

My host Luis, was wonderfully welcoming and also runs the adjoining restaurant where we dined that night on local goat cheese and tasty gambas. I have to give him huge kudos for having the most comfortable bed I've slept in away from home!

This is a first class inn and the price is very agreeable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Very expensive for a very average hotel with few facilities but fantastic views. Restaurant not available on Sunday evenings and breakfast is in a separate bar away from the hotel. No kettle for tea/coffee, no hair drier and wifi signal very weak. TV in room was very small and some distance from the bed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. We were over for our friend's wedding. The hotel is very centrally located, clean and rustic looking. The rooms are very spacious, and the views are breathtaking, looking out to the hills in Gaucin. The owner and staff of the hotel were very helpful and the owner was only a phone call away. We felt as though we had the hotel all to ourselves as the owner and staff were only there for a couple of hours in the morning to clean the rooms. The hotel had a very relaxed feel to it as all vacant hotel rooms had their doors open. The week we were there was very quiet, so we felt as though we were in an apartment all to ourselves. There was a beautiful open terrace where you could sit and relax during the day. I loved the deli across from the hotel. It did amazing food. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
11 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
398 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,205 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
0 mi away
Hostal Brenaverde
Hostal Brenaverde
#4 of 4 in Gaucin
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fructuosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fructuosa

Address: Calle Luis de Arminan 67, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price Range: £82 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Fructuosa 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaucin, is a beautiful white mountain village, part of the Serrania de Ronda. The Hotel La Fructuosa is in the centre of this lovely village, offering a calm, cozy atmosphere and spectacular views, from each of the five large and comfortable rooms and its terraces, of the Genal Valley and extending to Gibraltar and Morocco. An ancient wine press has been preserved, and is now an original setting for the breakfast room. Breakfast also may be served while enjoying the breathtaking view from the ground floor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Fructuosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fructuosa Gaucin
La Fructuosa Hotel Gaucin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing