We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Moorish Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Il cortile della piscina e la campagna intorno.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Il cortile della piscina e la campagna intorno.
CM from the garden in May with bougainvillea in full bloom and metal sculptures by Sebastian Fisher. The swimming pool courtyard and mosaic sun-dial in high summer.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Il cortile della piscina e la campagna intorno.
CM from the garden in May with bougainvillea in full bloom and metal sculptures by Sebastian Fisher.
The swimming pool courtyard and mosaic sun-dial in high summer.
Casa Mosaica sign in the street.
Casa Mosaica entrance hall from street. Stairs to the owners apartment upstairs.
The exotic entrance hall/library of CM apartment with views to the garden.
The CM apartment entrance hall looking towards the 2 bedroom suites & shower-room.
The open plan kitchen and living room. Opening onto the pool and the garden.
The fully equipped kitchen has a 5m mosaic with design of Egyptian geese.
The sitting room at Christmas with the decorated tree.
The cosy wood burning stove for winter months, wood is supplied.
The dining room looking towards the sitting room and garden and doors to the swimming pool.
Master bedroom with en-suite bathroom and door to the swimming pool terrace.
Master bathroom detail. There is a second bathroom with shower for this bedroom in the hall.
The en-suite master bathroom with polished plaster walls and hand-made mosaics.
2nd bedroom with en-suite shower room and twin beds or zip-and-link to make large double bed.
Detail of 2nd bedroom with lavender picked from the garden.
Swimming-pool from apartment terrace and shady eating area.
Shady terrace on a hot day.
Table on the shady terrace laid for lunch, looking out to the swimming pool
A hot day looking towards El Hacho mountain
Swimming pool with double sun-lounger.
Pool side. New teak sunbeds coming for 2019.
View of the swimming-pool and la Casita in the garden.
Casa Mosaica swimming-pool courtyard with El Hacho, Gaucin's mountain to the west.
Lavender by the swimming pool.
Plumbago in full flower along the path to La Casita Mosaica
Detail of Venetian glass mosaic sundial.
Casa Mosaica from the exotic scented garden on a hot summer night.
Door from the sitting room to the garden.
Breakfast outside?
Another place to sit and eat in the pergola, surrounded by jasmine and roses.
La Casita at the end of the garden, the mosaic fountain and fish pond.
Lilly pond with gold fish
Kevin, one of 2 house cats.
Geoffrey on the fountain.
View of Gaucin.
View of Gaucin castle.
Bunting at feria time in Gaucin.
The Gaucin Flamenco festival.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gaucin, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sioux_N
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Moorish Retreat”
Reviewed 23 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Wow! What a place! This place is absolutely beautiful, peaceful and so relaxing. If you are into moorish design, paradise gardens within a lovely Spanish mountain pueblos blanco, yet close to the coast and other places of interest, then this place has it all. There are fabulous mosaics throughout the property and gardens which are stunning and inspiring. We feel as if we are in the grounds of a beautiful ryiad yet outside the walls is an equally beautiful white Spanish mountain town. Stay here and you will immediately feel relaxed. We loved it there and the lovely owner made sure we were well looked after.

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2018
Thank you very much for your kind review, I'm so glad you all enjoyed your holiday, and it was a pleasure meeting you. You have described exactly what I'd hoped guests would feel when renting both the Casa and La Casita together......privacy and relaxation in a Moorish inspired environment with the bustle of lovely Gaucin just over the wall. Thanks again and hope to see you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Date of stay: August 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2018
Anne, thank you so much for your glowing review. It makes me very happy when guests enjoy and appreciate Casa Mosaica as much as we do. I hope very much I’ll see you again. Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lindsey_c...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic hideaway”
Reviewed 7 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We are just returning from a week in Emma’s gorgeous casita and what a week it was. It is so tastefully decorated and has everything you could think of in terms of facilities (and a few things we didn’t think of!)

I can say without a doubt that this is the best rental property I have ever stayed in, and just the perfect place for a getaway as a couple.

We spent most of our time either lounging by the pool or sitting on the rooftop (which has views to DIE for).

We are already planning our next visit. Don’t think twice about staying here :)

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
Thanks so much Lindsey, I'm so glad you had a great holiday and I really appreciate you taking the trouble to post such a nice review. Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whatsf
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Third visit and probably not the last”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Another super relaxing time; reading, enjoying the sun and strolling into town for a drink or some food. Emma’s properties, both the Casa and the Casita, are real homes from home. It is the type of place where within 5 minutes of arriving you’ve completely switched off. Everything you need for a great holiday is here which is probably why we keep coming back.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Thank you very much indeed for your kind review, and brilliant photo! Hope to see you in 2018. Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polomint4...
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A magical oasis”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our eighth visit to Gaucin but the first time we have stayed at Casa Mosaica and I wish we had discovered it earlier. It is a true oasis in the heart of the village, close to all amenities and restaurants yet secluded and private. Emma has created a cosseting space for a truly relaxing holiday, and is a consummate host, not intrusive at all yet there if you need her, with her wealth of knowledge about the village and the area. We loved it, and can't wait to go back again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Thank you very much indeed for your generous review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petervigu...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in Gaucin”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Behind high walls in the more modern and unassuming part of Gaucin, near the Ronda road, lies a big surprise...Casa Mosaica. Its two-bedroom apartment is the ground-floor part of the big house, making it flow naturally into the surrounding gardens, with large swimming pool, fountains, and of course, many stunning mosaics. And as you step through the threshold, you realise that you're not just in Andalucia's most breathtaking hilltop village; you're somehow also in Morocco. It's all around you, inside and out, full of decorative details in the hallways, bedrooms and ensuites, with stand-out features like the full-length mosaic frieze of ancient geese in the kitchen. Stunning, but also comfortable and relaxing.
So thank you, Emma, for creating this unique oasis, and letting us experience it for a while. I've been coming to Gaucin almost every year since 1998, staying in many different village properties, at different seasons. But to see and walk in these gardens in May is something special, that lifts this Moroccan dream into first place. The best you can get in Gaucin.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review, I greatly appreciate what you have said and hope to welcome you another time to Casa Mosaica. PS I remembered to bring the blue top back to London this time, so let me know if you are in town in September.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
210Martin...
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best Holiday Accomodation”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It doesn't get better than this. The standard of the accommodation and facilities are fantastic. This is the best holiday accommodation I have ever stayed in. The location is wonderful. A very friendly local community. Very welcoming. Lots of nearby places to see and plenty of good value places to eat.

A great family location. Lovely pool, and nearby walks. The local beach we visited was perfect and virtually deserted.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: could not fault it - having to go home
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review, so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Casa Mosaica.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing