We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Almuna”
Review of La Almuna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaucin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Almuna
Reviewed 18 February 2013

In July 2011 I spent a week at La Almuna with my wife and three children. The guilt of not writing about it until now can finally be laid to rest! It was undoubtedly one of the happiest holidays we’ve ever had. It is not shiny, or slick. It isn’t a tarted up Villa that looks and feels just like 50,000 others; that serves a purpose, with A/C and kidney shaped pool. La Almuna is different. It is a very special place; an old farmhouse with a soul and a heartbeat, views and a feeling of real raw Spanish beauty. You can breathe it and you remember it, every room, every view, every aspect. It is a home that has been lived in, not just rented out. Thankfully La Almuna is not for everyone, but there are enough of you out there who would love the place. If it is for you, you will know it and like me, you will want to return. Henry Birtles

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have just come back from a week's break in La Almuna, a wonderful dusty pink farmhouse in Andalucia near the pretty village of Gaucin. Owned and run by Diana/Belinda, this place is a haven of peace and quiet. It has a warm, homely feel to the place which is great when you have small children, you don't feel that you are walking on eggshells the whole time. The beds are extremely comfortable made with fresh quality linen and the bathrooms are generous with lovely, white,fluffy towels. The pool is perfect with lush lawn surrounding it so again great for children to run around and there is an abundance of sun loungers so no arguing over who gets one! Diana herself was extremely helpful showing us where the local shops were and recommending local restaurants. Gaucin itself is lovely with an excellent deli run by an English couple, friendly bars and several lovely restaurants. The views from the terrace are to die for and again, there is so much space outside that a party of 16 (which is what we were) did not feel in any way cramped or on top of each other. All in all an ideal place for a family reunion and one to which we would all love to return

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed 15 people (all family - 3 generations) for a week in this stunning dusty pink Hacienda and had the best time! The farmhouse was cosy and homely with lots of space for everyone wether we dined together on the terrace, sun bathed, played in the pool or at the near by tennis court, watched Tour de France or simply wandered off and found a seluded spot for some quiet reading. The place offers beauty (not so easily found at Costa del Sol), tranquility and stunning views of mountains and the sea (all the way to Gibraltrar and Africa). With 6 km to nearby Gaucin (charming little white town) it was easy to shop for food (can recommend the local butcher) or visit one of the many restaurants offering fantastic tappas in the open. If you manage to break away from the serenity of the place (and can lure the kids away from the pool) visit some of the nearby white towns or take a daytrip to Rhonda (which is absolutely worth it). The owner Diana was very helpful - she gave us complete privacy but helped us when needed.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Gro_Geysner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Our third trip to Diana’s stunning finca in the hills near Gaucin. We took our 3 year old for the first time and spent a week relaxing by the pool, sipping G and T’s (adults only) and watching the sun arc its way over the hill sides - wonderful. This really is a fantastic place to unwind and Diana is a great host, neither crowding you nor being too remote, everyone there was just so friendly within hours of arriving my stress levels were down to zero – and remained there all week. There really is no need to venture out of here but if you do the Gaucin is just a short drive away, no need for beaches, a perfect river is just a few miles down the road with crystal clear water, perfect for swimming year. Will definitely return with friends to show off this gem.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nordle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We recently stayed at Diana's beautiful home for a long weekend with 2 other couples (who had both stayed there previously) and it was just as previous reviewers have said. Diana (and her two lovely dogs) greeted us with drinks and we were left to relax. That was very easy to do! It is the most incredibly peaceful place to stay. Diana cooked us fabulous dinners and prepared a lovely salad lunch for us before we left on the Sunday. We made full use of her lovely pool and even found time for some walking and sightseeing (the Algeciras to Grenada train is a must. Get on at San Pablo and get off at Benaojan where you can enjoy a very relaxing lunch at Molino del Santo hotel and restaurant, before returning to La Almuna for one of Diana's gastronomic dinners !) One tip - as there is no ambient light, the night skies (especially with a gin and tonic in hand) are absolutely amazing. We can't wait to return. Thank you Diana.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geminitraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Diana runs this wonderful haven on a remote estate with sweeping views from the bedrooms and terrace to Gibraltar and Africa. It feels like a 'home from home' and she does everything possible to make your stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible.

It was the first holiday abroad since my wife and I got married and we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajblegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

What a beautiful place and incredibly hospitable. Comfortable, relaxed and stunning scenery and wonderful food! What more can I say but treat yourself!! Although I should really keep it a secret...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank germangabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaucin hotels
0.0 mi away
La Fructuosa
La Fructuosa
#1 of 4 in Gaucin
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Brenaverde
Hostal Brenaverde
#4 of 4 in Gaucin
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Casa rural AhORA
Casa rural AhORA
#1 of 3 in Gaucin
35 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Almuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almuna

Address: Apto 20, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Gaucin
Price Range: £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing