We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our dream wedding location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda La Herriza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My husband and I got married here in September 2011.
David, owner of the hacienda and his staff have done everything to make our weekend wedding an absolute dream for us and our 60 guests.
Fron friday to Sunday they arranged everything we needed, provided top service and did their best to make every guest feel at home.

The location is wonderfull and secluded. Very private feel and atmosphere.
Lovely houses, rooms and great pool and views.
The food they provided was divine and top quality standards for a wedding.

I cannot think of one single thing that was not like we imagined it.

All in all perfect location for a quiet family or couples vacation, away from the buzz and busy life. The atmosphere created by La Herriza is perfect for groups of friends to have an enjoyable holiday and perfect for a tailormade wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leentjiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

A wonderful resort in the middle of nowwhere. Inbetween the mountains a lovely oasis of tranqullity. Small house (the complete small resort looks like a village with a marketplace) 82 levels) with nice decorated rooms and bathroom. Everything clean. Heating was ok. (we had rain and cold days in May 2011) I wished we have had sunshine to use the poolarea and relax with the view to the mountains (no seaview- but that was fine because the landscape is beautiful). Nice and friendly staff - good breakfast. The drive to the coastline takes about 45 minutes

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilsebein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Although this hotel is a bit difficult to get to due to the mountain roads it is well worth the trip. It has a beautiful setting with lovely grounds and a clean pool. Our room turned out to be a small villa with a cool and comfortable sitting room and a light and airy bedroom upstairs. The hotel was very quiet when we were there which for us added to the charm. We ate there once and the meal was very good but quite pricey (but we found prices everywhere had risen) Thestaff were friendly and helpful. The hotel specialises in weddings so everyone was busy getting organised for a big one the day we left, so it was a little noisy that morning. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

If you are looking for luxury and bright lights then this is not the hotel for you. We drove for over two hours from Seville to reach the Hacienda, and had to stop at a garage to ask for directions as the sign posting is very poor and the location was not recognised on our sat nav. However, we were looking for a 'get away from it all' three nights in Spain, and I can say that the mountain scenery was beautiful. Our first impression as we drove along the drive was not ideal as you access the property from the rear, and not as per the images you see online. Please could the hotel mend the broken fences around the parking areas? First impressions count! Once parked we walked through to the 'houses' you do see online, and we were booked into one of these. It was clean and I would say quite rustic, but this is reflected in the price. The welcome from the Spanish staff was excellent. Breakfast was basic and dinner was very good, honest, well portioned fare. If you are looking to get away from it all and relax by the pool, then this is for you. This is not luxury, this is rustic, but it has a charm all of its own.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countryadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We arranged an Andalusian cooking class through cookingholidayspain.com. The class included a small group demonstration by the lead chef Marco and we participated in the preperation process. A salad, Spanish tortilla, paella, and tiramasu were all prpqrd and paired with stunning Andalusian wines. The setting was beautiful, the food was great, and the company divine. I highly recommend this excursion and this location.
P.S. the drive is a little harrowing, but the result is well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank docjefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

So... where do I start? We are currently on honeymoon after the most fantastic wedding held at La Herriza.

From the outset the hotel staff (David in particular) could not have been more helpful. Organising a wedding from the UK in Spain was never going to be an easy feat but David answered every email, phone call, text in his usual calm, relaxed manner. Every problem was overcome (eg. the photographer cancelling 3 weeks before the event) and every request fulfilled.

The day itself was magical. The staff worked tirelessly to make the venue look stunning. The ceremony itself was on the lawn under a beautiful tree overlooking the valley, the courtyard was transformed into a stylish dinner venue and the hotel itself housed the party.

The food was also amazing. A suckling pig roasted all day in the courtyard and provided a wonderful, relaxed meal.

And another mention to the staff... They made everyone feel so relaxed and welcome. Even at the end of the night after a 20 hour day they were still smiling and joking with the guests.

So to sum up, thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our wedding such a special day. I cannot recommend this place highly enough and, like many of the other guests, will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tww2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

A delight to arrive here after the drive through the concrete ribbon development of the Costa. The drive up to Gaucin is a pleasure and the peace and beauty of the La Herriza restorative. Enjoyed the swimming pool and the staff were helpful and welcoming. We stayed in unit in the courtyard with sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. All well equipped .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derbhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaucin
3 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
11 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Fructuosa
La Fructuosa
#1 of 4 in Gaucin
203 reviews
11.8 mi away
Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostal Brenaverde
Hostal Brenaverde
#4 of 4 in Gaucin
8 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa rural AhORA
Casa rural AhORA
#1 of 3 in Gaucin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Herriza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Herriza Hotel

Address: Crta. MA9300 km. 4.7, 29480 Gaucin, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Gaucin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gaucin
Price Range: £81 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda La Herriza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda La Herriza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing