We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful find in Gaucin”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Granada Divino - CLOSED

La Granada Divino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Granada Divino took over the site of an extremely popular family restaurant in the beautiful ‘Pueblo Blanco’ village of Gaucin, Andalucía which is located between the on the popular tourist trail between the coast and Ronda. The village is a very popular stop over point for tourists and travellers travelling from the coast to Ronda or coming from the other direction.The 150 year old restaurant building rests on a rock at the corner of the Calle De Las Piedra. It is believed that this was the route taken by the pomegranate pickers in years gone by and hence the regeneration of a name befitting of their history.We are ideally located for that leisurely stop-over lunch or delicious evening meal or Pizza snack with a glass of wine whilst admiring the stunning views of the Rock of Gibraltar and the Andalusian countryside from our terrace or enjoying one of our cozy inside dining rooms.
London
Level Contributor
248 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Delightful find in Gaucin”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Try to sit on the top floor as the views are amazing, fortunately the food marches the quality of the view on an enterprising menu with sensible prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lordofthepieslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    34
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“High quality and prepared exactly as described”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

As others have commented the menu has recently been simplified. We found the descriptions of the dishes to be perfectly executed and therefore met our expectations. Our steaks were exactly as specified which is often not the case in any restaurant. The terrace offers stunning views, when combined with the food quality, this justifies the menu pricing. With one dessert (beautiful lemon panna cotta), bottle of house red and a brandy/coffee our bill was c€90 for two. A treat compared to others in the town, with the exception of El Lateral that is aimilarly priced, well executed and probably more creative and representative of local dishes. All in all a great dinner, thank you to Neil and his staff.

Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Glimmers of creativity”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Went for a leisurely lunch. The views from the rooftop are great. The herb marinated olives supplied with our aperitif were delicious. I would have loved the opportunity to buy a jar to take home. We chose the starter selection platter which was very tasty. Our mains of sea bream and lamb cutlets were okay but did not tickle the taste buds so were disappointing after the triumph of the starter. The desserts did not uplift our spirits. The frangipane and apricot tart was too solid and not a patch on a good french patisserie. The selection of cheeses consisted of three thin slices which had not been taken from the fridge early enough. A dry biscuit to two to go with the cheese would have been a welcome addition. The fig jelly accompanying it could have had more of a punch.
All in all it had glimpses of greatness but missed the spot.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb Lunch”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Went for lunch and sat at the top terrace. The views were spectacular and the lunch superb. Honestly the best Gnocchi we have ever tasted and the house wine was excellent. Met the chef from Bermondsey and the waitress who was a native of Gaucin. All the staff including the owner's were so welcoming and wanted to make sure that everything was alright with our lunch. Had pizza's from the restaurant the following night to eat in our villa and they were delicious as well.
If you ever visit Gaucin which is an idyllic Spanish villa make sure you spend time to eat at this delightful restaurant. We will revisit. JohnD871

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnD871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“it is hard to imagine you will get a better meal within a 20 miles!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We dined at this restaurant at a Thursday lunchtime at the end of June during a day trip to Gaucin from Puerto Banus.
There are signs throughout the town pointing the way, but Gaucin is a maze and you have to approach the restaurant on foot, so be alert.
We were very fortunate to meet the restaurant owner, a charming ex-pat who's long-since relocated to Spain.
He explained that the restaurant was recently visited by Gordon Ramsay, who spent a week there advising them on how they might improve their customer appeal, as part of a forthcoming TV production. Apparently it was not a 'Kitchen Nightmares' scenario, as the restaurant has only been in the present ownership for a few months, but more of like 'The Restaurant Man' (Russell Norman) where the premise is to advise a new venture.
GR's main advice was to cut the prices and reduce the complexity of the menu. He and the chef (Neil Brown) then set about recreating the dishes that remained on the menu.
The result - a wonderfully simple menu where, ironically, you are spoilt for choice! I was in a party of 6 and we all agreed that we could happily eat everything on offer!
Of the dishes we chose between us (most of them), the food was outstandingly good, and the balance of ingredients and preparation was just perfect for a hot Mediterranean climate. This, curiously, is quite unusual in the region from our experience and very welcome.
One other nice touch, for the first time in 6 or 7 meals in the region, the bottled water arrived unopened. My family think I might be a tad cynical, but I wonder if some restaurants might just refil the bottles with tap water, or fill them up from bottles that cost 20c for 2 litres! Does such a thing ever happen? ;-)
By way of constructive criticism, I would suggest that perhaps just one more desert choice might not go amiss? Sorry Gordon if that was your decision, but the customer is always right!! :-)
To conclude? The food was excellent, and at a reasonable cost. The service was cheerful and the views from the terrace provided a memorable backdrop. We were delighted that we happened upon this little gem and it is hard to imagine you will get a better meal within a 20 miles.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Granada Divino also viewed

Gaucin, Costa del Sol
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
 
Gaucin, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing