We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cerro de Hijar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tolox
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome at reception after a long and winding road journey. Wonderful views across the natural park.
A little disappointed with restaurant considering other reviews but they were preparing for wedding next day
Would certainly return next time we're in the area

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dovxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    47
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
35
132
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights in late February, excellent, wonderful views, breakfasts and dinner were both excellent and the room was super. Will definitely go again and enjoy more walks and birding together with wanders round different villages. Staff could not be more helpful with their advice. Only slight problem was the gas went off one evening so no hot water for a bath, but it was corrected quickly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartA90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

A great third visit for us and an impressive first for our two friends. Comfortable warm and welcoming. Evening meal delicious (just a note, plates need to be warmed!). Good breakfast, self-service gave fantastic, continental choices.
The hotel is a tonic for a hectic life style.
Next time going to try spa and champagne suggested by other guests!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dixon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were there September 2013 as two couples, and were incredibly lucky with the weather. Other reviewers bang on about the hiking, nature walks, bird watching and photo opportunities. We didn’t bother with any of that, instead we found in Cerro di Hijar the perfect place to chill out. Good food, particularly the sharing meat and cheese platter with an ice cold beer served by friendly and attentive staff. The staff weren’t always readily available but so what, someone could always be found. The whole experience was charming and full of character. Perfect location for visiting Ronda or the coast, with wonderful twisty mountain roads ideal for a singsong in the car. Great views, clean facilities, comfortable spacious suites, excellent value. One highlight was a late night in the open air spa with champagne. We think a tapas selection would be a worthwhile addition to the menu but this is in no way a criticism. So to sum up, for us, it was everything we wanted in a holiday.

Room Tip: Room 13 or the tower. Don't be afraid to book direct with the hotel (they speak good English) to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Logax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCerrodehijar, Propietario at Hotel Cerro de Hijar, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We are so glad to here that your stay with us was such a plesure, is true that we are in great position to the hiking and trecking in Natural Park Sierra de las Nieves, but as you say, we are also a perfect place to relax and do nothing while enjoying the food and atmosfere, thanks for your friendly aproach and hope to see you soon again for more spa and champagne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nestled on the edge of a national park it offers spectacular vistas and a unique blend of first class food, a wonderful outdoor spa and country like comfort of accommodation. Fabulous hiking from challenging to ambling in the valleys and mountains around. Then come back and relax by the pool and enjoy the gardens. An easy one hour car drive from Malaga. Perfect for a family reunion or on your own with the one you love. But sshhhh - keep it a secret!

Room Tip: Views from every room are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telstarlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We delight in hotels which are not of the typical international chain type. The Cerro de Hijar is in a fantastic situation and we had the benefit of 2 balconies, both with stunning views (room 13). It is a genuine, rural hotel and although it is off season and quiet it didn't feel empty. We arrived at 2130 and had an excellent meal - large, beautifully prepared and presented portions. The owners and staff were very welcoming, spoke very good English and made the start to a brief holiday in Spain a great pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maastricht
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We cycled from Malaga to Tolox on a 4 day cycling holiday. When we arrived at Tolox, we were already quite tired and realized we had another 4km from town to our hotel. But, the view from Cerro de Hijar made it all worthwhile. Most certainly the best view of Tolox from anywhere.

The staff was also very helpful. They allowed us to use their computer for personal reasons. We also had some of the best pizza at the restaurant. The restaurant was not too pricey.

There is also a swimming pool, which will definitely help on a hot Andalucian summer afternoon and we enjoyed a beer on the terrace, overlooking the view below.

The mattress was very good, something that was not true for most other establishments in Spain. The room was very tidy and clean and had a aircon and heaters.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra fee for a junior suite and ask for the room in the corner, with a view of the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruwer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolox
7.5 mi away
La Casa Grande del Burgo
La Casa Grande del Burgo
#1 of 2 in El Burgo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ecohotel Puerto de Ojen
15.1 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
13.9 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cerro de Hijar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro de Hijar

Property: Hotel Cerro de Hijar
Address: Carretera Balneario s/n | Parque Natural Sierra de Las Nieves, 29109 Tolox, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Tolox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tolox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cerro de Hijar 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerro de Hijar Hotel in the Natural Park Sierra de las Nieves is an hour away from Malaga and 45 minutes from Marbella in Tolox and has amazing views over the Guadalhorce valley. The building has been restored to a cosy atmosphere taking special care in details in order to provide a quality accommodation in this unique place and is run under specific ecofriendly matters certified by the European Chapter of Sustainable Tourism The Hotel has 18 rooms: 11 doubles, including one specially equipped for the disabled and 6 junior suites all with bathroom ( bath), air conditioning, duvets , low-power heating , TV, mini - fridge, ceiling fan and balcony overlooking either the valley or the mountain in addition to our Suite with hot tub in its tower Rest in cosy common areas with a big lounge and fireplace; listen to the patio little fountain in the center of the hacienda, enjoy a solarium with the best views out in the garden with grass and planted with local species, not to forget the pool for the sunny days of Andalucian weather or treat yourself in our Private Spa & Sauna with views, there is parking for the hotel guests. Enjoy our creative gastronomy based in the traditional Andalucian cuisine, recommended by the Michelin Guide and do not forget to order one of our selected wines. Cerro de Hijar is the perfect place to enjoy nature in the Natural Park, to visit the endemic trees species called pinsapo and other biological treasures of this UNESCO declared "Biosphere Reserve". The hotel is a peaceful spot to relax and enjoy the gastronomy, a perfect hideaway in the most beautiful surroundings where you can practice your favorite sport or simply read a nice book in absolute silence and also start off a fantastic journey to Malaga province. Eugenio, Guillermo y Miguel and the rest of the staff will be very pleased to help you during your stay and to provide the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cerro de Hijar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro De Hijar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing