We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cerro de Hijar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tolox
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2006

The website does not exaggerate: The hotel has a magnificent location and views from almost all rooms. While the rooms were not exactly furnished by an interior architect, they are clean, spacious and comfortable. We had room number 6 (suite) which was facing towards the mountain and the parking lot. The next time we would try to get a room facing the valley and the pool area, which would be much nicer.
The food in the restaurant was the best on our three week trip through Spain. There is maybe a little lack of attention to detail (e.g. pool chair are missing the pillows, but you are likely to find your towel still there the next morning...) This maybe due to the personal style of the hotel (you'll always see one of the three owners around and they do everything from reception to bar&restaurant with little extra help).
After all, esp.the room prices are reasonable and it is a rerally fantastic place to unwind!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank saleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    49
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
36
134
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westmeath
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

We loved staying at this special little place. The best part was definitely the peace and quiet, views, relaxing public areas. The food was also outstanding, although breakfast did'nt really suit me (I love a boiled egg or a bowl of porridge in the morning, something hot!). The only negative comment I would make is that the service is so relaxed that we quite often had to go looking for someone for service, once dessert was served that was it. If you want coffee or an after dinner drink you have to stick your head into the kitchen!! The overall atmosphere is very chilled out and relaxed so it probably just adds to it and didn't really bother us. We would go back. The sitting room has a great selection of archived National Geographics, classic CD's and a collection and board games.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank MARPADJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smeeth Kent UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2006

We first visited this hotel six years ago when we parked in the car park to walk in the national park. We received a warm welcome and stayed for the most fantastic lunch, then relaxed in the gardening...did very little walking! We have been back every year since - either to stay overnight,for lunch or for dinner. The food is excellent - locally sourced..try the white chocolate soup - the most delicious pudding I have ever had. The rooms are comfortable and the views wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clairefarmiloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2005

We did not stay in this hotel but visited restaurant twice whilst staying at nearby house. It is truly fabulous little hotel perched on the mountain side above tolox [the drive up is spectacular and not to be undertaken unless certain that the car brakes are in working order!]. Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere indeed with simple but attractive public rooms [we did not see bedrooms but suspect that they would be similar]. Small garden with big view and pool, chairs, hammocks etc. The food was simply outstanding for the price with many local dishes coupled with new twists. Without any doubt the best meals we had on the trip. Cannot think of a better place for a couple of nights deep rest. The road from Tolox to Ronda is one of the most attractive drvies we have ever done. All in all an absolute gem.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolox
5.9 mi away
Hotel Castillo de Monda
7.5 mi away
La Casa Grande del Burgo
La Casa Grande del Burgo
#1 of 2 in El Burgo
98 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#31 of 40 in Ronda
96 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
17.7 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cerro de Hijar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerro de Hijar

Property: Hotel Cerro de Hijar
Address: Carretera Balneario s/n | Parque Natural Sierra de Las Nieves, 29109 Tolox, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Tolox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tolox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cerro de Hijar 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerro de Hijar Hotel in the Natural Park Sierra de las Nieves is an hour away from Malaga and 45 minutes from Marbella in Tolox and has amazing views over the Guadalhorce valley. The building has been restored to a cosy atmosphere taking special care in details in order to provide a quality accommodation in this unique place and is run under specific ecofriendly matters certified by the European Chapter of Sustainable Tourism The Hotel has 18 rooms: 11 doubles, including one specially equipped for the disabled and 6 junior suites all with bathroom ( bath), air conditioning, duvets , low-power heating , TV, mini - fridge, ceiling fan and balcony overlooking either the valley or the mountain in addition to our Suite with hot tub in its tower Rest in cosy common areas with a big lounge and fireplace; listen to the patio little fountain in the center of the hacienda, enjoy a solarium with the best views out in the garden with grass and planted with local species, not to forget the pool for the sunny days of Andalucian weather or treat yourself in our Private Spa & Sauna with views, there is parking for the hotel guests. Enjoy our creative gastronomy based in the traditional Andalucian cuisine, recommended by the Michelin Guide and do not forget to order one of our selected wines. Cerro de Hijar is the perfect place to enjoy nature in the Natural Park, to visit the endemic trees species called pinsapo and other biological treasures of this UNESCO declared "Biosphere Reserve". The hotel is a peaceful spot to relax and enjoy the gastronomy, a perfect hideaway in the most beautiful surroundings where you can practice your favorite sport or simply read a nice book in absolute silence and also start off a fantastic journey to Malaga province. Eugenio, Guillermo y Miguel and the rest of the staff will be very pleased to help you during your stay and to provide the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cerro de Hijar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro De Hijar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing