We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We selected this hotel upon the following criteria; 1) accessibility for disabled people - I'm an amputee 2) an indoor pool - we were going in October and thought it might be a bit nippy, and 3) peace and quiet; I'm a boring old fart, my wife is much younger, not boring and definitely not a fart at all! Everywhere is perfectly accessible and we were put in a room with a disabled loo. The weather was 28 degrees all week so we were able to use the outdoor pool all the time. Finally there are no kids allowed in the hotel, which was great; the constant refrain about the paper thin walls is true, but we were fortunate; the hotel was fairly empty.

The staff are terrific. Nothing was too much trouble. Examples are Paola the lifeguard who came to my rescue when I was trying to extricate myself from the pool with an unco-operative pegleg, the handyman who sorted out our loo trouble with the twinkling of an eye and finally the magnificent Jenny Barreto, casually multi-lingual, massively organised who sorted things out for us before we arrived and when we were there.

The facilities are pretty good. Outdoor and indoor pools, gym, spa, nice bars (the pool bar is good - the portions are huge, the gazpacho is not bad at all). We had breakfast in the restaurant every day; the selection is almost infinite - English, Continental and American. We had dinner once. I would have to say that this is the only thing for which my praise is not fulsome. It was perfectly adequate but I think it would get a little "samey" after a very few days. There is a huge selection of very good restaurants in Santa Eularia anyway.

Finally the location. It's right on the sea although not on the beach. We had a sea view room (nobody asked us to pay 15 euros a day extra) and awoke to the most fabulous sunrises and that was enough for us. It took me 20 minutes to get to the Marina - lots of places to sit on the way, and 30 minutes to restaurant street - but don't forget I'm a pegleg. Santa Eularia is a beautiful little place if you don't want partying and noise.

I'm writing this on the balcony of our room; it's three days until we fly back to the UK and although we almost never return to places, we're planning to make an exception in the case of Sol Ibiza.

TOP TIP Book through Melia. Seems to be cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Falstaff1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,882 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is a very nice hotel in a superb setting on a low headland, overlooking the sea, just a short stroll into Santa Eulalia along a paved walkway. Most of the rooms have wonderful open sea views and it is spotlessly clean...everywhere ! The beds are comfy, the food is varied and of good quality, and the service is efficient and friendly. There are plenty of sunbeds available around the pool and surrounding lawns, where all you can hear is the sound of the sea. The hotel is in a really quiet spot with easy access to lovely, easy coastal walks and a ferry nearby, to many other bays, and Ibiza Old Walled Town, which is a must see !!! Ibiza might have a party/ clubland reputation, but this place is perfect for, shall we say, more mature people, with diserning tastes ! We can recommend this hotel without reservation, and all of the other guests we spoke to were of the same opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Hotel in great location, lovely staff, spacious reception rooms BUT very small bedrooms. No sound proofing from neighbours at close proximity.
Definitely not Four Star.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel in late September 2011. It was a peaceful experience in a conservative town called San Eulalia. The town is a yachting town with small hub of beaches (about 5 minutes walk apart to the left of the hotel). The town is good for those that want to avoid want clubbing buzz town, San-Antonio (30 minutes drive away). Sol Ibiza Hotel does not welcome children to stay and this seem to be why the hotel has more over 50s lodging there (I am in my 30s). Sol Ibiza has a nice view of the sun rising and setting (if you request sea view in advance). At night take a walk to a nice small bar called Mango which is about 15 minutes walk to the right of the hotel. The bar has these chair you can sit deck chairs and watch the ships go by a night. It has an amazing view of the sea at night. The food is nice but can be too salty at times.

Room Tip: 140 to 144
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Objective_Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Last minute weeks holiday and was glad with the Sol Ibiza - adults only and it was lovely around the pool all we could hear was the sound of the ocean. Older set hotel but still clean, tidy, lovey food, good size room, fab shower, free safe and fridge,lovely staff. What a fab rooms we had with lovey views of the morning sunrise - nobody above us or to one side. Only a 5 min walk left out out of the hotel is the start of the marina and another 5-10 minutes to the main square just what you need after a lovley meal. A shop is just down the road right from the hotel and if you keep going another 5 mins you will come to Mango bar which is nice to sit having a drink as the sun goes down. Used the local bus to get around - went to Ibiza Town which is lovley and is a must - will add this one to my list of returns ideal for a nice relaxing week away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We tend to agree with most of the other reviews, but with one exception:

The food was terrible. After overhearing a couple saying that there was so much choice, if they did not like one item, they would move to the next. Unfortunately for us, the next would be just as bad.
The raw ingredients were poor and they were very badly prepared. Vegetables were mostly fried and overcooked. Meat was either over cooked and dry, or overcooked and very oily. Cauliflower was in a tray in about a third full of oil, the top surface brown and dry from the halogen lights. They prepared something they called ‘paella’ again dry, overheated rice with not much else in it. The probable cause, I think was that some of the food was prepared too early. I saw food being put under the halogen lights at 5pm, when dinner did not start until 7pm.
Some meat was cooked on ‘la plancha’ but the person cooking it was not very careful about hygiene, mixing raw, part cooked and cooked food together. The raw meat was kept on a tray ‘decorated’ with lettuce and orange slices. When picking up meat with the tongs, he dropped a piece of blood soaked orange onto the cooked meat. He lifted it off and then lifted the meat, with the same tongs onto the cooked meat tray.
The salad was plentiful and kept on a chilled area, but there were fruit flies in abundance.
The deserts were varied and plentiful, but completely tasteless. Prepared to look nice at the expense of taste.
Breakfast was again salad, with cereal, fruit or fried. However the fried option was again the same as dinner. All of this choice and we had to resort to cereal and tinned fruit salad!

On arrival, we asked for a sea view, as this was not offered as an option when we booked. (15 Euros per night extra) This is definitely a must as we were given a room on a high floor overlooking the sea. Only the sound of the waves to lull us to sleep. Oh, and the noise from adjacent rooms which has been mentioned before
The room was quite small, but ok, with wardrobes and a set of draws. Patio door onto a balcony and A/C which worked. The bathroom was again small, but ok with a shower over the bath which may be a problem for the less mobile. Only complaint was that the room initially was clean, but the maid evidently did not do much cleaning over the week, with a heavy build up of dust as the week progressed. We wrote the date in the dust on the TV screen and on the wardrobe mirrors after 3 days and it was still there at the end of the week.

The swimming pool is ok with a plenty supply of sun-loungers, but not enough umbrellas. We experienced a mini heat wave when we were there and heard a lot of complaints about the lack of available shade. The pool bar served pretty good lunches, although without frills the food was much better that that served at dinner.

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, difficult I suppose after a long and hard season, except for a couple of those in the restaurant who looked as if the wanted to be somewhere else! There are notices suggesting the less busy times to go for dinner, with the last hour being recommended. We found this to be the worst time to visit as tables were not reset, the staff preferring to set them for breakfast next morning.

In out brochure, the hotel was described as being ‘by the sea’ this does not mean ‘by the beach’ the closest sandy beach is about 20mins walk away. The hotel is also on the edge of the main town. Ok if you do not wish to venture out. Some guests we know stayed the whole week around the pool, we prefer to have a look around more.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, Others overlook the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Spent a week here at the beginning of September. We liked the location, great views and a walkable distance to the resort centre with a good promenade almost all the way there.

Our room overlooked the pool with the sea beyond and was fine, the main drawbacks being the distance between the end of the beds and the furniture, about a foot or so and if I was sorting out my hair/makeup etc I had to sit on the bed to look in the mirror and OH couldn't get past without climbing onto the bed so it felt a little bit cramped. The balcony was also quite small but adequate.
The beds were a bit hard for us compared to what we are used to and not great for a really good sleep but we managed.
Noise from rooms either side could be heard quite easily but we were lucky that the people next door didn't stay up late or have the TV on much at all so it wasn't really a problem.
There was a fridge in the room which was really useful and another bonus was that the safe was free, which is unusual. There is no kettle.
There was plenty of hanging space and shelves.
The bathroom was fine, a few ants about but they didn't bother me too much. There was a bath as well as a shower.

The public areas of the hotel were nice, a huge entrance/reception area and seating in various corners. There is a piano bar and an indoor lounge with a stage which is used when entertainment is indoors. The chairs there are quite uncomfortable and very short, I felt they would be just right height for a young child.
There is a large dining room where meals are served buffet style. The room could be quite warm so we ate outside on an outside area which is really meant for smokers I think but it was cooler there.
I found the buffet to be fine in the main, the breakfast had enough variety for me. There was fresh fruit, yoghurt, bread, pastries, cheese, ham etc and eggs cooked to order as well as sausage and bacon but this was Spanish style rather than English and as a result not as appealing I think, the bacon was cooked in lots of oil and rather greasy.
The evening meals had a choice of salad type starters and soup and some main dishes, some of which didn't appeal to me but I certainly never went hungry. There were pastries and a variety of desserts including some flambe fruit, melon and yoghurt.
Wine needed to be ordered by the bottle so the staff kept the bottle for me for subsequent meals.
The staff in the restaurant were very pleasant and helpful.

There is a little shop in the hotel for essentials, papers and stamps etc.

There are 2 swimming pools, an indoor and an outdoor. There is a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room also.

There are towels available but the old problem of sun loungers being reserved does happen. We were lucky enough to manage to get some in a decent spot whenever we were looking although the most pleasant spots were bagged pretty quickly in the morning. The pool is a decent size and I found it very pleasant.

There is a pool side snack bar for lunch and drinks and again I thought this was fine without being spectacular. The snacks were fresh and nicely cooked.

I thought the hotel was very relaxing being adults only and this made a big difference for us, the guests are mainly in the older age bracket though there were a few young couples, but I think it's probably a bit too quiet for youngsters really. It's certainly not an ideal place for messing about and having fun at the pool side.

There was evening entertainment which was hilariously camp in style. There was a magician, and some fairly dubious song and dance shennagans etc. Well it was certainly performed with gusto and enthusiasm!!!

We really liked the resort which had some lovely places to eat and cafes where you could sit for a couple of hours with a coffee or a glass of something nice and admire the sun sparkling on the sea in front of you.

All in all a nice place to stay for a quiet relaxing stay to recharge your batteries. I wouldn't call the hotel luxurious but it is fine nevertheless for a nice break in Ibiza.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
0.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#1 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
964 reviews
13.7 mi away
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
#1 of 7 in Port d'es Torrent
601 reviews
1.4 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#2 of 16 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
2,137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Santa Eulalia
Iberostar Santa Eulalia
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Ibiza

Address: Pare Vicent Costa, 2, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range: £93 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Ibiza 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents the Sol Beach House Ibiza. The Hotel is located alongside the sea, in a quite corner of Santa Eulalia, set in gardens. Fully refurbished in 2015, featuring a modern interior design and many open sun-filled spaces. 300 M from the marina and 1 km from the shopping, dining and Leisure facilities. 20 Km from the airport. Amongst its fantastic services and facilities, the Sol Beach House Ibiza provides pretty rooms with sea views; different dining spaces The Kitchen Restaurant Buffet, Sol Shack Chiringuito Pool Bar, Rooftop Bar and Lounge Bar; Wi-Fi internet; three pools, large terraces with sunbeds, gym and stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Beach House Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibiza Sol
Sol Beach House Ibiza Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing