We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but hotel could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but hotel could be better”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have just come back from the Sol Ibiza where I was visiting for a wedding. I found that the location was fantastic and suited all my needs. A lovely flat 15 min walk into Santa Eulalia proper but also a 20 min walk in the other direction to the beautiful Niu Blau beach. The hotel has fantastic views so delighted to have a sea/pool view room for no extra cost. It was big for a single person and clean - although maybe could be updated. Very large hotel so rather impersonal although staff are helpful enough. Having said that couldn't seem to get through to reception with the room phone.

Fantastic pool area with plenty of sunloungers (although yes, as has been mentioned there was too much reserving with towels going on). Breakfast was great and served until a reasonable 10.30am.

However, I give three stars for two main reasons. The first is that it has an older clientele - so not a hotel really aimed at me (I'm late 30s). My biggest gripe though was the sound proofing. Why does the cleaning have to start so relatively early in the morning - we are on holiday after all. Could hear every bed & chair in my hotel block being moved and scraped across the floor all morning.

But if that is not a problem for you then this hotel is a good base for lovely Santa Eulalia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gills1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N C, Public Relations Manager at Sol Beach House Ibiza, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Gills1

Thank you for your review and we are glad that for the most part you enjoyed your stay. If you visit the Hotel in July or August, you will see a combination of ages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    631
    214
    60
    33
See reviews for
153
1,158
50
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Sol Ibiza, there for a wedding in Santa Eulalia.

I would start by saying the staff are lovely - friendly and very helpful, and the location of the hotel is also great - 10 minutes walk to the marina/town and 10-15 mins walk to the nicer beaches at Pura Vida and beyond. The pool is also super, the sun loungers are plentiful - despite the most eager of towel-shotgunners at dawn, you can always find one!

That's where the praise ends. The hotel is not what you would expect from a 4 star and we were increasingly disappointed. I booked almost a year ago and our room was strange - a tiny bath (half size of standard) and the view was of the roof. In fact, all the rooms are incredibly dated (televisions c. 1990 they are that bulky) and the decor is all terracotta/buttermilk painted artex. There are no soap/shower gel/shampoo bottles, just ugly and very antiquated one-soap-for-all dispensers at the sink/shower, suitable for perhaps a public loo at the local park. I understand the need to cut down on waste, and also to evade the most determined of miniatures-freeloaders but come on! I've seen this done much better in other (3 star and up locations). The gym facilities are rusted and at least 10 years too old. However, my biggest bugbear was that not only do they charge you for use of your room safe (3 Euros a day) they also charge you to use wifi, which in this day and age is arbitrary and absurd. At 8 Euros a day, it's not an insignificant amount either.

As a passing comment I would also say that the clientele is not for the under 60s. We didn't mind as 30 y/o (grateful of the absence of screeching children) but something to bear in mind.

We would not return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yumyum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N C, Public Relations Manager at Sol Beach House Ibiza, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear yumyum22

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback but are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Eulalia Del Rio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels in the prettiest area ever. It is well placed to get around and not stuffy. People who go here are smiling because of the relaxed time they are having. Rooms not facing the sea are very large and excellent. Clean, quiet the decor is fan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Nonagh Muriel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N C, Public Relations Manager at Sol Beach House Ibiza, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Nonagh Muriel D

Thanks a million for your lovely review. It is very much appreciated. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Eulalia Del Rio
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

stayed with my wife for 2 weeks late may/ early june 2014. Although we did not request it we were allocated a room with lovely sea view. Hotel spotless, staff brilliant, food first class. Unfortunately, in line with most other hotels, found bar prices very expensive. Only other problem we found was distance of hotel from resort bars and shops (at least 15/20 mins walk for able bodied) However even taking this into account we had a most enjoyable holiday in this first class hotel.
Ann & Tony - Sheffield

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Anthony John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N C, Public Relations Manager at Sol Beach House Ibiza, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Ann & Tony

Thanks for your kind words. We are really glad that you enjoyed you visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having just returned from this wonderful adult only hotel. Will return again to this hotel. While there I celebrated my birthday. On the day my husband and I returbed to our room to find a bottle of champagne and chocolates in the fridge, and a note from the management wishing a happy birthday. The staff at this hotel are very polite and friendly. We were on bed and breakfast basis excellent food... Rooms bright and clean. Plenty of sunbeds...no need to reserve..like some, towels on beds from 6.30 a.m.

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juke186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N C, Public Relations Manager at Sol Beach House Ibiza, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Juke186605

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sol Ibiza in Santa Eulalia on the beautiful island of Ibiza. The hotel boasts 4 stars but quite how it achieved those is a mystery. Situated slightly out of town directly on the coastline does little to compensate for the all the disappointing issues.

Immediately on arrival we were informed that the hotel was overbooked for the room type that we had selected on booking. However, the extremely condescending receptionist informed us that "we should think ourselves lucky as she was allowing us to up-grade to a premier room at no extra cost"! She made us feel that she was doing us a favour by way of compensation for Thomsons error. We were also warned that guests are strictly forbidden to place towels on sun beds to reserve them. We were told that if we undertook such practice our towels would be removed by the staff. With a pool-side room we witnessed this practice daily; none were removed and the guests frequently did not appear at the pool until much later in the day.

The "up-graded" premier room turned out to be nothing spectacular and was rather small by comparison to others that we have stayed in at other resorts. There was only one easy chair, very little space between the end of the beds and the dressing table and the furniture was of mediocre quality.

The bathroom gave us cause for concern too. We are both reasonably fit but we had to exercise extreme care getting in and out of the over-bath shower as the glass shower screen was almost three quarters the length of the bath leaving very little space to actually get in and out. With only one small handrail positioned on the opposite side of the bath it was potentially very dangerous. Quite how some guests with compromised mobility coped I cannot imagine; it was an accident waiting to happen!

Room cleanliness was rather poor; there was dust in the wardrobe, under the beds and under the dressing table. I also found a hotel registration form belonging to a previous guest under the dressing table; it was dated March 2014!!

The bath towels have seen better days, they were so thin and worn they were next to useless.

However, there was always a good choice at breakfast to suit all tastes and dietary requirements. Likewise the evening meal menu was varied and attractively presented although we have experienced better in the past.

Noise was another problem at the Sol Ibiza. Structurally it is very poorly sound proofed so guests can expect to hear every toilet flush, every chair being dragged, every drawer being opened, every door being slammed and the annoying regular sequence of the obligatory clog dancers in the room directly above!

In conclusion, yes we would recommend Ibiza as a holiday destination. Santa Eulalia is a beautiful resort with loss of restaurants, bars, shops, a delightful harbour and lovely sandy beaches.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N C, Public Relations Manager at Sol Beach House Ibiza, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Lin F

Thanks for your feedback.

We cannot imagine how you could find a hotel registration dated March 2014 as the Sol Ibiza opened on the 1st of May 2014. We always urge our guests to tell us right away when something is not as expected so that we have the opportunity to make it right immediately. We would have been delighted to listen to you.

We appreciate your comments and are sorry that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

we booked this hotel mainly due to the fact it was half board and its location. We paid a bit extra for a sea view and was not disappointed ,we were in room 328 and overlooked a rocky outcrop. The hotel is very spacious with lots of sofas in the reception area and corridors and is painted very brightly in yellows and whites. We chose half board and found their was so much choice especially in the evening where you can have all types of fish and meat cooked straight from the grill. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary and the management left champagne and treats in our room when we returned from a day out. Did find their was plenty of sunbeds and found it odd people were out at 7.oo am reserving theirs .A really big thanks to all the staff who made our stay really enjoyable they all seam really happy to work there and interact with the guests and cant do enough for you.

Room Tip: higher floors for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johncrighton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N C, Public Relations Manager at Sol Beach House Ibiza, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear johncrighton63

Thank you so much for your beautiful five star review of the Sol Ibiza. We are delighted that you were well looked after and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you for many happy anniversary trips to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
1.4 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#5 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
892 reviews
14.9 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#1 of 14 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
237 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
Hard Rock Hotel Ibiza
#3 of 33 in Playa d'en Bossa
2,125 reviews
13.7 mi away
Sol House Ibiza mixed by Ibiza Rocks
Sol House Ibiza mixed by Ibiza R...
#10 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Ibiza

Property: Sol Beach House Ibiza
Address: Pare Vicent Costa, 2, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Ibiza 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents the Sol Beach House Ibiza hotel is located alongside the sea, in a quite corner of Santa Eulalia, set in gardens. Fully refurbished in 2015, featuring a modern interior design and many open sun-filled spaces. Perfect for couples and singles. 300 M from the marina and 1 km from the shopping, dining and Leisure facilities. 20 Km from the airport. Adults Only (+16 Years Old). Amongst its fantastic services and facilities, the Sol Beach House Ibiza provides pretty rooms with sea views; different dining spaces (Restaurant, Pool Bar and Lounge Bar); Wi-Fi internet; two pools, large terraces with sunbeds, gym and stunning sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Melia, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Beach House Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibiza Sol
Sol Beach House Ibiza Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing