We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will go back all the time”
Review of Hostal Buenavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Buenavista
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Will go back all the time”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Hotel was fantastic with lovely staff. Couldn't have had a better time!!!

Room Tip: Room 102 was perfect with air con and large private balcony with unreal views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hodge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    55
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
13
99
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I cannot go back to the exact time when we stayed on the site but it was actually October 2009, I have never stayed in such a quiet and peaceful environment, its just beautiful, the pool looks like an infinity pool as you lay on the huge kind of sofa bed at the back of the pool area and it seems to just fall into the sea, the weather being fantastic when we stayed obviously helped, great breakfast in the morning, rooms were a little small and do need air conditioning, but all in all its a perfect little place to stay, because it is up high above the main road it feels more peaceful. Make sure you walk along to restaurant street, expensive, but the best places to eat on the island!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_monaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbys
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We booked through Thomson's who rate it as Small and Friendly.
Well....it's certainly small. However the staff were never friendly! Greeting them with Bon Dia, Buenas Dias or even Hello was generally greeted with a grunt.
The room shown on the Thomson website with a four-poster bed with flowing drapes are, we were told, only for those who book directly with the hotel! So very misleading.
The room (Number 1) was very small, had one socket in the room and one in the bathroom. The one in the room was over the beds which ere ushed together so by puhing them apart and rearranging the furniture we were able to put the one bedside lamp between us. The wardrobe, which was badly put together flat pack, had doors that didn't shut and an entire corner which was rotting away! Nice!
The cleaning was inadequate. When we had killed the ants with our mosquito spray it took two days of asking for the floor to be cleaned. It took slightly less time for the cockroach to be disposed of.
The room was very hot as the rooms have no fans or airconditioning. I had emailed asking for a quiet room but got one on the front so it was noisy!
We only had breakfast once, it cost 7 euros. I thought it was Ok- yogurt, toast, cereals, meat and cheese. However my husband said both the cheese and meat were warm..and indeed were uncovered as was everthing else allowing flies to land on them. The coffee was average. We had our breakfast at Buenissima Croisontera in the main street (Carrer Sant Jaume) from then on along with lots of locals. Coffee or tea, fresh orange juice and a croisant for 3.50 Euros, butter and jam 20 Eurocents extra
.We didn't have a meal at the Buenavista so I can't comment on that. The drinks in the bar are expensive and the tables are never wiped so covered in sticky rings. The only night we had a drink there the surly waitress didn't seem to speak Spanish, English or German so neither of us had the drink we had wanted!
The good points are that the hotel is very well situated although there are lots of steps,and the pool area is lovely.
It's a shame as with very little outlay (which could easily and quickly be recouped) the rooms could be made very nice. A hairdryer (the one they lent me was falling apart) a small TV, a couple more sockets, a built in wall unit instead of various pieces of dodgy furniture, another bedside light and better cleaning would improve it 100%. I understand the upgraded rooms are a LOT nicer. Why not upgrade them all instead of keeping the grotty ones for Thomson's?

Room Tip: Don't book with Thomson's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank concretewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We picked this hotel because we wanted somewhere away from the main strip and which wasn't a ghastly apartment block. So I would say the plus points are the location and the view.

The outside pool and lounge area is also lovely - lots of ethnic cushions strewn about and taffita curtains. The food in the restaurant is also
pretty good.

Unfortunately, the plus points end there. We were hoping for shabby chic but really it was just shabby. The shower was tiny and you couldn't shower without holding the shower over your head. The towels were changed every day but were always filthy and the mosquito net over the bed was an utter health hazard. Add to that the rotting windows and the lack of air conditioning. All in all pretty poor.

We booked through Thomson and I would really recommend they revisit the hotel. Not just for cleanliness but for some of the basic safety measures that are not in place. The pool is an accident waiting to happen with a sheer drop off the back of it with nothing to stop a child from falling off it.

Santa Eulalia itself is lovely. Quite quiet with no hen parties and quite a diverse selection of cultures. Failed to find anywhere decent to eat Spanish food but just off the main square there are quite a few food of the world restaurants. A good indian and also a great Thai and Italian place just off the Marina.

Would recommend you get the bus or a taxi to las Dalias Market which is on a Monday and Tuesday night. Best meal I had in Ibiza and also nice (but pricey) cocktails.

A boat trip to Ibiza town is also lovely. The bus is cheap and easy too.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinotnoirgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Visually, this hotel is top drawer but that is where the good bits end. The welcome was non-existant, we arrived at the same time as a couple who had stayed before, they were welcomed like family, we were ignored, given a key and pointed to a room down the hall.

If you want or need a big room, or love peace and quiet, do NOT accept Rooms 1, 2 or 3. They are tiny, no air-con and face a main road. The Four Poster bed looks great but was probably there when Judith Chalmers stayed in the 80's for the TV holiday prog 'Wish You Were Here'. The towels were changed daily and the bed made. However, the bedclothes were not changed in the whole two weeks we stayed.

As we had been ignored, we chose not to eat or drink at the hotel, just as well when you consider a small cocktail was €8, the menu was limited too.

The pool area is stunning, cannot be faulted unless you have kids, there are no markings to say how deep the pool is. In fact if you have kids, stay away, this should be a chilled out adults only hotel. Quite what the hotel were thinking with Friday night African themed entertainment I do not know, it just didn't work with the surroundings or the type of guests, mainly those aged 40+. The resort does not cater for young music lovers, this is a chic marina port, money talks.

Yes it is up many steps, yes it is uncomfortable to stay in your room for too long, you will get mozzies as you have to have the windows open. Yes the staff are either hot or cold. BUT, if you can get this hotel cheap enough, do use it as a base to explore Ibiza, an amazing Island. However, if you want self-catering, stay elsewhere.

Use the local buses, less than €3 will get you anywhere on the island, for boat trips head for San Antonio, there is a wider, cheaper choice and just 25mins on the bus.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms 1,2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newquay_Loyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We managed to book this lovely old Spanish hotel for £72 for 2 adults for 3 nights.
We didn't expect 5* for that price but what we got was a charming little hotel over looking the town, rooms were basic but had a lovely balcony, the pool, bar and outdoor restaurant area were very nice. Few minutes walk to the beach and a host of restaurants in the town.
Would use this little gem again and would pay £72 per night !

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasonholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We highly recommend Hostal Buenavista to everyone except for people with walking disabilities
We arrived in the middle of the night to this special familiy run hostal. It was like being in a 50ies film from cuba
Our room was big, nice beds, and with sea view - simply amazing
The morning buffet was really good and every morning we were welcomed by the Grandfather of the family who only spoke spanish- but he was such a sweet guy.
The hotel garden was very beautiful, in many different levels and with many hide aways, patios and with a very buddah relaxing feeling to it . The garden was filled with flowers and relaxing beds. The Pool was super nice, clean and in a good size.
Staff extremely friendly, food was great- Nothing to complain about what so ever!

If you want to get to a special place like no where else- this is the place to be.We will certainly come back.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank missfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.3 mi away
azuLine Hotel Mediterraneo
azuLine Hotel Mediterraneo
#50 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Bahia
Apartamentos Bahia
#34 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Marsol
Apartments Marsol
#42 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tres Torres
Hotel Tres Torres
#32 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parot Quality Apartments
Parot Quality Apartments
#36 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duquesa Playa
Duquesa Playa
#23 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Buenavista

Property: Hostal Buenavista
Address: Avenida Padre Guasch 9 | Carretera de la Iglesia, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#29 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Buenavista 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Buenavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Buenavista Hotel
Hostal Buenavista Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing