We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This review is a bit dated seeing as we visited in May 2013, but i couldn't resist telling everyone what an amazing place this is.

We came here for my fiances 20th birthday, we booked through Thomson and they said they would email them to let them know. on arrival we had been upgraded from a twin room to a superior suite! Now I'm not saying everybody who is celebrating will get an upgrade, i guess it depends on how busy the hotel is and what the celebration is, but the room was fantastic.

It was really quiet as it was the first week it was open in the season, but that suited us just fine - no getting up at 7:00 to reserve your favorite sun lounger!

All the staff were fantastic and only too happy to help. The only let down for us was the local area, the beaches aren't anything to rave about... However, there is a lovely walk through the forests to Cala Llonga, just speak to a member of staff at the reception desk and follow the yellow arrows painted on rocks/trees (be wary though, this walk took us nearly 3 hours and we consider ourselves physically fit, definitely do not attempt around mid day and take plenty of water & sun cream with you)

Overall this was one the best holidays we have ever been on and hope to return sometime next year.

Oh and if your deciding between fiesta hotel Cala Llonga and the fiesta hotel Don Carlos, I would definitely go to Don Carlos if you're looking for a really laid back, quiet, relaxing holiday - you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalladiumHG, Director de Recepción at Palladium Hotel Don Carlos, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Dear Guest,
We are grateful for your comments about our whole team, the wide variety of food, and some other aspects of our hotel which you have mentioned.
I will certainly address your comments to all departments. I am sure that they will be thankful for your nice words
Really after all this time that you remember your vacation is fantastic, thank you very much and hope to see you again
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    364
    136
    36
    11
See reviews for
138
906
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was the third time we had visited the Don Carlos in October, and we were so looking forward to it, in fact based on our previous fantastic times, last year we splashed out on a suite, it was pure luxury, and the total hotel makeover and the new A la Carte restaurant, we had recommended our friends who are going next year! Firstly the chjarge for the suite had increased by £100 for the week, but we still thought it was worth it. When we arrived we were greeted warmly, as usual, and from experience we know it is neccessary to pre book the A la Carte, as its very popular, lasy year you were entitled to 3 visits, this year only 2? The whole experience was a let down, I know it is near the end of the season, but we always go the same time for our last holiday of the year, but the staff seemed dissinterested, in fact we had to clear our own plates in the buffet, there just weren't enough staff, and the hotel wasn't full. The wine for the last 2 years was good quality and good value, this year both price had gone up and the quality down. We still love Santa Eulalia but we won't be going back to the Don Carlos until we see some really good comments next year!

Room Tip: Go for a suite, but not overlooking the pool, unless you want to hear the entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My mum and I stayed from the 31st July to 7th August.
I wanted to wait until I had returned from my recent holiday to Egypt before I commented to compare them and there is no contest.

My parents stayed at the Don Carlos the year before so I was looking forward to it.
The rooms were spacious, clean and the air conditioning worked really really well.
All the staff were fantastic, from the restaurant to the bar and reception. Aivis was amazing and didn't push you if you didn't want to take part in any of the activities. He is a real credit to the hotel.

The evening entertainment was actually really good and it was great to be able to walk into the centre between dinner and the shows.
It was a nice touch to have the musicians playing at lunch.

The all inclusive was great as it included premium brands, although I have to keep an eye on the amount of alcohol included in the drinks as they could be quite strong.
We had no problems with the food and could always find something to eat.

A great holiday. Would we return - yes.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank naughtymisslil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Unless things change, this will be the last visit to the Don Carlos, which is a shame as it's in a wonderful area for a relaxed holiday.
The hotel and rooms are just as good as last year, but that's where the positives end.
The standard of food has dropped and by the end of the week, we were struggling to find something decent to eat. On the Thursday night, all you could taste was salt! As for the sweets, boring and repetitive.
Staff numbers are down and although they do their best, you can see that morale is down and they are struggling to cope.
By the Wednesday, they had run out of the wine we had been drinking, nor were a few other options we asked for available.
You would hope that as returning guest, the management would try and help with requests. Unfortunately, our request for the same 4th floor suite was turned down as rooms are allocated on a 1st come 1st served basis! My follow up email asking if we could book a meal In the a la carte restaurant on the Tuesday fro my Wife's birthday did not even merit a reply. Needless to say, when we arrived, we were unable to book for that night, nor did the hotel acknowledge that it was her birthday in any way, which was disappointing.
Sadly, I don't think that we will be returning to the hotel again next year, but will be returning to Santa Eulalia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Snags1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

It's taken me a while to review our holiday this year in August as I kept putting it off but here goes.......we booked our holiday at the Don Carlos last November so looked forward to it for months, we booked through our local Thomson and we splashed out a bit on a suite as it was our first ever couples hotel with out the children.

I emailed the hotel several times beforehand and very nicely asked if our suite had a sea view as that's what it stipulated on their online web page that suites had sea views and that we would dearly like a nice view.
I had a nice reply from the director of the hotel ( Ivan) who emailed me that he would personally handle my booking and that I would and could be assured our suite would have a wonderful sea view, Ivan even emailed me to ask if I would like a high floor and I replied 4th floor would be fantastic.
I felt this was going to be a great holiday as Ivan obviously looked after his guests and I started to count down the days till our dream holiday as reviews were good and the pictures of the suites looked gorgeous with the jacuzzi in the room and the great open plan feel with the his and hers sink.
Looking back I should of printed the emails from Ivan off and taken them with me as proof of his promises. What a silly naive women I must be.

The holiday arrived and we arrived........Simone booked us in not with a smile or a feeling of welcome....she gave us our room key...213 ...I said straight away that we are meant to be on the 4th floor.....no she said and checked our booking ...I told her that I had corresponded directly with Ivan and he had reassured me that we had our sea view suite on the 4th floor.

She said we hadn't paid for a sea view and brought out other peoples bookings that had booked and paid for a sea view so I could see the price difference. She remained cool and professional and detached from my mounting fear that indeed Ivan had not meant what he had written to me.

We took the key for 213 and were met by a larger room but not a suite that I had seen in the Thomson brochure or on the Don,s website but just a room with a separate bathroom.....no jacuzzi was in the room. When I stepped onto the balcony my heart broke ....all those months of looking forward to what I thought was going to be so wonderful a holiday. The view was over the back of the kitchens and a pile of rubbish and lots of orange crates.

I went straight down to reception crying tears of real heart break to start our holiday this way with this awful room and view when I had been promised I would indeed be receiving a suite that we had paid for and a wonderful view.

Simone said it was a suite and we were booked throughThomson's and that was what we had paid for.
She left me standing there crying my eyes out without any emotion from her at all. She said we could upgrade for another 300 euros. I told her we had already paid for a suite and carried on crying. It was humiliating to stand there like that while other guests were booked in.

In the end she gave me a key to 241 ...the suite that we had booked but it was an awful start to our holiday.

Some other points.......

The restaurant needs to cater for us vegetarians more as I struggled to find anything really good. On asking what was there that I could have the chef pointed to a dish of sweet corn and mushrooms...the al a carte was really nice but a very limited menu.
Aivis (entertainment) is a star and a really lovely man....always a smile and a wave and he works so hard in the summer heat.
The hotel is super clean and the cleaners are a credit to the hotel. I tipped our nice cleaning lady as she did such a great job.

We both really likes Santa Eulalia and will return but sadly not to this hotel as I felt so let down. You shouldn't have to cry on holiday should you.....Shame on you Ivan......

Room Tip: Make double sure you get what you booked and paid for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank genielamp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We enjoyed very much our stay 16th to 23rd 0ctober. We stayed all inclusive. Staff were excellent, from reception to cleaning. No problem at all with food, plenty of choice at every meal.
Room facilities very good, excellent shower. Bit of a walk to Santa Eulalia, if walking a problem, but plenty of benches to have a break and watch the world go by. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor sea view room, entertainment finished about 10.30/11.00 pm and we experienced no outside n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed Sept for one week.
Very nice hotel, very clean, exceptionally friendly, great location (10 mins to centre)
been to this area last year and tried to book this hotel but fully booked, managed to grab a week this year as we love this area of the island.The web sight says all sea view rooms so assumed that I didn't need to pay extra but on arrival it was a garden view with the sea in the distance. Actually I didn't bother to change as it was quite nice and after seeing the rooms to the front it was obvious that the noise from the outdoor entertainment was on till around midnight. The entertainment is something I don't normally bother with as its usually rubbish but I have to say the daytime entertainment guy was so good, he really made us laugh, im sure it was his hotel LOL.
Food, im not complaining, but hotel food gets abit mundane after a while. We found Sat-tues was fine then I think they run out of ideas after then as it seemed liked poorer cuts of meat so it went from steak to meatballs. You had an la /cart restaurant which you could book twice in one week which was very nice, infact id say it was excellent, so book this thurs /Friday.
All in all a very nice hotel .

Room Tip: don't pick the rooms facing the pools in the centre , well they are suits anyway but more centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsbBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
1.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#2 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
863 reviews
2.4 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#8 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
722 reviews
2.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
204 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palladium Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladium Hotel Don Carlos

Property: Palladium Hotel Don Carlos
Address: C/ Los Rosales 53 Urb. Siesta, 07849, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Fiesta Hotel Don Carlos)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#27 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palladium Hotel Don Carlos 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos is an adults only, exclusive hotel situaded an ideal place for a couple to spend a relaxed and romantic holiday. For a peaceful holiday for couples, friends or families, as its located right on the beachfront in a beautiful and quiet area surrounded by pine trees. It has been completely refurbished with a modern and chic touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Palladium Hotel Group, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palladium Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel Ibiza
Palladium Hotel Don Carlos Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing