We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed with this traditional hotel..... we will return!”
Review of Hotel Riomar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riomar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We know the resort of Santa Eulalia very well, after spending our holidays here for several years. This was the first time we have stayed at the Riomar however, after walking past it so many times in the past! We were really impressed. For a two star hotel, it offers excellent value. It is spotless throughout. Our room over looking the sea (a must!) was very generous in size.... we were a family of four, comprising of two adults, a 13 and 9 year old. We had the biggest wardrobe we have ever had!! The top cupboard fitted all of our 4 suitcases. The hanging space was more than enough for all of our clothes, plus we managed to fit shoes and other clothes in there, with no problem.... I was so impressed, after the usual tight squeeze to fit everything in the normally "small" wardrobe space. It left the room feeling fairly spacious. The gorgeous view of the sea is fantastic..... what a sight to wake up to. We obviously knew about the air conditioning and did wake up fairly hot after the first couple of nights, but it didn't affect our sleep and after those initial "sweaty" mornings, we all just seemed to get used to it. The room is in the shade in the afternoon which helps. We left the balcony door open at night, plus the fan on. The gentle swishing of the waves was lovely to hear..... the tractor at 2am in the morning cleaning the beach not so great!!! But that was only one night and wasn't a problem.
The food was fine for us... we normally go to a four star hotel and obviously we could tell the difference, but we always managed to find something we liked. One of my daughter's is a fairly fussy eater and she enjoyed her meals everyday.
The staff were friendly, the rooms were cleaned each day and fresh towels put out. The hotel is really reminiscent of how Spanish hotels were about 15/20 years ago but I think this added to it's charm. It probably does need a refurb but this may take away its character. It was quite nice to have a proper key to your room, rather than a swipe card... even though it did look rather bizarre!!
All in all, we would definitely return.... you just can't beat this hotel's location or value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view... well worth any extra cost. We were second floor, room 218 which we found was j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jotoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel is in a prime position overlooking the Bay. We have been 3 times and enjoyed our stay.
Although the hotel lacks air conditioning a fan is provided to keep room cool. The food is presentable and varied. The staff are very good and the cleanliness is excellent . Booked again for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for higher Rise Room with Sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary_W263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have been going to Santa Eulalia every year for over 12 years and absolutely love it but this is the first time that we have stayed at the Riomar,( usually staying at the excellent Marsol appartments next door.) We loved the Riomar - the staff couldn't have been nicer, the food was great and even my husband who is really fussy found something he liked ! The hotel was extremely clean and our room was a good size with a decent balcony . The whole hotel had a lovely atmosphere and we had a great holiday. However our room did get very hot at night so would definately benefit from air conditioning -but saying this we would still go back because it was brilliant value for a 2 star hotel and we would have no problem recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PaulineWTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Never having stayed in a two star hotel before we were quite worried about the hotel, we didn't need to worry the hotel far exceeded our expectations. Yes it did have a slight 70's feel but nowhere near as bad as we feared. Everywhere was freshly painted and very clean and the hotel staff were very helpful. Free wi fi kept the teenagers in the group happy and the adults were impressed by the fantastic position of the hotel overlooking the beach with pretty planting framing the lovely views. One member of our group was disabled and the hotels proximity to the beach,( with just a small path between hotel and beach) made everything very accessible, the same path made a very pretty short walk to the main part of santa Eulalia and the harbour. Although the hotel itself was pretty good for people with a disability the bathrooms were not so great particularly the shower which required you to step into a sort of shallow bath great if you're washing sand off small children not so good if you have mobility problems. The one lift in the hotel is fairly small and would be a bit cramped for electric wheelchair users. Since we returned we have been recommending this hotel to all our friends. If this is what two star hotels have to offer I am never bothering with a higher star rating again, it had everything we wanted and we were a difficult group to satisfy with ages ranging from 75 years to 8 year old's with a wide variety of interests ranging from drinking in bars, walking and wildlife to soaking up the sun on a beautiful beach, Hotel Riomar in Santa Eulalia kept us all happy and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank c p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

If you book this hotel you will get exactly what you pay for.It needs refurbishing to bring it up to modern standards but having said that it is kept extremely clean and the staff are very nice especially the reception girls.We arrived on the 22nd June 2013 and were given a inland view room.The following day we were moved to a sea view room (4th floor) for an extra 80 euros,cash only if you know what I mean,nudge nudge,wink wink say no more.It was well worth it.I would say it made all the difference to our holiday.If you take a lower floor your view may be obscured by trees.We booked half board and breakfast was 8 till 10 and evening 7 till 9.The choice for a 3 star hotel was plentiful with soup,lots of salad, a choice of meat and fish dishes and lots of puddings and gateaux.A decent choice for the kids as well.Some dishes could have been hotter but there are 2 microwaves in the restaurant so you can soon heat it up.Also there is no need to rush as all the food is replenished right up to 10 mins before it closes.
The rooms are very basic with no air con (but you get a fan), no TV ,no fridge and no tea/coffee making facilities .
The absolute best thing of this hotel is that it is literally right on the beach which has lovely soft sand and gently shelving water.Sun beds are 4 euros each and a parasol is also 4 euros.
We hired a car (airport is cheapest and they deliver and collect) for 7 days (2 days too long) so we really saw all of the island and Santa Eulalia is the best resort by far and the only one that has a long promenade for those evening strolls.It is also the only one with disabled facilities to get a wheelchair right on the beach .Although the Riomar is at the end of the resort you are only minutes away from a good choice of restaurants and shops.The hotel does entertainment twice a week but there are other bars which put on tribute acts most nights.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a sea view are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Solihullsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Location is right next on the seafront.Room was fine but bathroom a bit dated.Room cleaned every day and new towles provided.Fan was OK,but kept our balcony door opened so no problems there.Food was fine and always something to eat,but remember it is a two star hotel.But as there are many restaurants along the sea front,and along restaurant street,you will always find somewhere that suits you.Many tapas bars all over.The whole town is laid back with no loud bars and you see many locals at night just walking up and down the prom.Nice bars to sit and stare.Couple of music bars each side of hotel and shops very near.nice riverside walk near.Small sitting out area in front of hotel and acts on twice a week.No bingo or kids acts,so very relaxing.Staff are excellent.Buy a air bed and parasol for 15 Euros if you want to sit on the beach as beach loungers are 4 Euros each and the parasol another 4 euros.Several boat trips and the little train trip up into the island.All in all a nice little hotel in a great location.We paid £650 each for two weeks,inc flights and transfers,so very good value.But remember ,you get what you pay for.Many folks we talked to have been many times,the best recommendation of all.And we will be back.Some folks seem a bit too picky.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room,a must for the views and sounds of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank happycoupleYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I`ve got to agree with nearly all of others peoples reviews. Great location, the hotel is a little dated, but the cleanliness and staff are second to none. Rooms were a little cramped and hot for the four of us, but a sea view is a must to help keep it cooler at night. We thought the food was really good, and there was a dish for everyone. Great salad bar, a selection of meat or fish, and the kids just loved the selection of deserts, and the pastries for breakfast! Nice sized pool, with the sun loungers placed on a terrace a few steps down from the pool, which works better than having them squashed around the pool. Five to ten minutes walk along the front and your at the hub of St Eulalia, with great bars and cafes at reasonable prices, and the Marina with your more upmarket restaurants. Prices vary from approx. 2.5-3.5 euros for a pint of local beer, although we did find cheaper and dearer! We would definitely recommend stopping at the Riomar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#12 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Duquesa Playa
Duquesa Playa
#24 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tres Torres
Hotel Tres Torres
#22 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
#16 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
2,452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invisa Hotel La Cala
Invisa Hotel La Cala
#13 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
azuLine Hotel Mediterraneo
azuLine Hotel Mediterraneo
#46 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riomar

Address: Camino 3 del Rio 48 | Playa Es Pins, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range: £47 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riomar 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riomar is right on the beach. It's a calm hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio wich is perfect to spend a family holidays far away from other noisy zones of Ibiza ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riomar Hotel
Hotel Riomar Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing