We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nowt special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riomar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riomar
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nowt special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

After the first day this hotel would have only received 1/5 but they redeemed themselves somewhat.

Room - awful, no air-con and only provided with 1 fan which didn’t help as there was 3 of us in the room so was pointed at our daughter. We did request a 2nd fan which was only granted after much persuasion! Rooms are clean but beds are uncomfortable and very dated.

Food - very basic and not the best in all honesty. You could always find something to eat but at no point did I think 'oohhh that’s nice'.

Pool - ok size but shallow end was very small which was difficult for learner swimmers or young children. Sun beds were limited but there were plenty of tables/chairs around pool.

Staff - very good. The young lady working around the pool all day taking drinks orders literally didn’t stop and always had a smile on her face.

Position - excellently situated. Right on the beach near water sports, lots of bars and restaurants, coastal path to marina. Quiet and only €30's in a taxi from the airport.

Conclusion - the fact we only paid £580 for 3 of us for a week’s HB got this place 3 stars. I would not of paid anymore. I did hear of people paying 'considerably more' via Thomas Cook etc but we booked independantly. Would I stay here again? Definately not.... unless it was out of season and the extremley hot rooms were not a factor and it was very, very cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mobeverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    218
    86
    21
    25
See reviews for
192
217
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thank you for making the holiday so enjoyable! A friendly clean hotel, service with a "smile". Food very good and presented well and very impressed with the way they accommodated my Grandson's nut allergy. I would recommend the hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ladyliz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Location is great being on the beach, but the beach area when we were there was awful in that it was covered in seaweed so that wasn't good, anyways the hotel was OK being a two star, drinks were OK but a little more expensive than some other places. Rooms had no aircon but a fan is provided which again was fine for us.

Not noisey at all and farily good nights sleep, rooms are relativly clean and is cleaned frequently.

Food wasn't brill, soups tasted/smelled like watery fag ash and the puddings like toothpaste so wouldn't recommend, main meals are OK.

You have to pay for any drinks ordered in restaurant during your stay at the end so watch your bills.

Not the hotels fault but the weather was awful and not much to do for kids in santa eulalia.

Maybe take a holiday in Es Cana if you have kids as more to do for them there.

Otherwise OK for £333 quid each so shouldn't complain to much!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a high level Sea View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puregeordie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

this hotel is very clean, in a great location and staff could not be nicer. The food was nice, very organised at the restraint and the welcome meeting with our holiday rep was very helpful. It is a very short trip to the beach a few blocks away from the cheap supermarket (Eroski) and the sea views we gorgeous. My family and I would definitely return to this hotel and we do recommend it to others.

Room Tip: the corner rooms with a sea view have a bigger terrace and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itsfflurpritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We know the resort of Santa Eulalia very well, after spending our holidays here for several years. This was the first time we have stayed at the Riomar however, after walking past it so many times in the past! We were really impressed. For a two star hotel, it offers excellent value. It is spotless throughout. Our room over looking the sea (a must!) was very generous in size.... we were a family of four, comprising of two adults, a 13 and 9 year old. We had the biggest wardrobe we have ever had!! The top cupboard fitted all of our 4 suitcases. The hanging space was more than enough for all of our clothes, plus we managed to fit shoes and other clothes in there, with no problem.... I was so impressed, after the usual tight squeeze to fit everything in the normally "small" wardrobe space. It left the room feeling fairly spacious. The gorgeous view of the sea is fantastic..... what a sight to wake up to. We obviously knew about the air conditioning and did wake up fairly hot after the first couple of nights, but it didn't affect our sleep and after those initial "sweaty" mornings, we all just seemed to get used to it. The room is in the shade in the afternoon which helps. We left the balcony door open at night, plus the fan on. The gentle swishing of the waves was lovely to hear..... the tractor at 2am in the morning cleaning the beach not so great!!! But that was only one night and wasn't a problem.
The food was fine for us... we normally go to a four star hotel and obviously we could tell the difference, but we always managed to find something we liked. One of my daughter's is a fairly fussy eater and she enjoyed her meals everyday.
The staff were friendly, the rooms were cleaned each day and fresh towels put out. The hotel is really reminiscent of how Spanish hotels were about 15/20 years ago but I think this added to it's charm. It probably does need a refurb but this may take away its character. It was quite nice to have a proper key to your room, rather than a swipe card... even though it did look rather bizarre!!
All in all, we would definitely return.... you just can't beat this hotel's location or value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view... well worth any extra cost. We were second floor, room 218 which we found was j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jotoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel is in a prime position overlooking the Bay. We have been 3 times and enjoyed our stay.
Although the hotel lacks air conditioning a fan is provided to keep room cool. The food is presentable and varied. The staff are very good and the cleanliness is excellent . Booked again for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for higher Rise Room with Sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary_W263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have been going to Santa Eulalia every year for over 12 years and absolutely love it but this is the first time that we have stayed at the Riomar,( usually staying at the excellent Marsol appartments next door.) We loved the Riomar - the staff couldn't have been nicer, the food was great and even my husband who is really fussy found something he liked ! The hotel was extremely clean and our room was a good size with a decent balcony . The whole hotel had a lovely atmosphere and we had a great holiday. However our room did get very hot at night so would definately benefit from air conditioning -but saying this we would still go back because it was brilliant value for a 2 star hotel and we would have no problem recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PaulineWTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Orquidea
Aparthotel Orquidea
#24 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tres Torres
Hotel Tres Torres
#32 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Marsol
Apartments Marsol
#42 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques
#1 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invisa Hotel La Cala
Invisa Hotel La Cala
#11 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Bahia
Apartamentos Bahia
#33 of 55 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riomar

Property: Hotel Riomar
Address: Camino 3 del Rio 48 | Playa Es Pins, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#28 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riomar 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riomar is right on the beach. It's a calm hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio wich is perfect to spend a family holidays far away from other noisy zones of Ibiza ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riomar Hotel
Hotel Riomar Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing