We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing”
Review of AluaSoul Ibiza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AluaSoul Ibiza
Oswaldtwistle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Having been to Es Cana three years ago and loved it we decided to pay Es Cana another visit this year. When booking we remembered the panorama hotel which we thought looked great from the outside so thought nothing off booking our stay there. The reception area is clean, light and airy, things looked promising! Our room however, was small and cluttered. There was no drawers/cupboards in the room just shelves instead of bedside cabinets, and a wardrobe with a few cubby holes. The cleaners appeared in the room everyday to make the bed which was nice. The door to the bathroom didn't close properly because it had clearly had some water damage. The air con in the room was crap and placed in the door way rather than in the main part of the room! When booking the room we paid a bit extra to guarantee a double bed and a view over the pool which we got but it didn't feel like we had value for money. The pool area was nice and clean but could of done with being bigger to accommodate the size of the hotel. There was meant to be a no reservation of sunbeds policy however the hotel staff never enforced this, so even though the majority of tourists staying there were british, beds were continually reserved daily. We even spotted a large number of people reserving beds at 6am!! There was entertainment all day long by the pool daily, it was awful, very patronising and extremely childish!! I've never stayed a Butlins but a lot of people we spoke too said it resembled them. The hotel felt very much like an old peoples home, a large number of people staying were well in to retirement, the must have accessory of the season was a walking stick. I don't mean any disrespect but as me and my partner are both in our 30's we felt very much out of place! The restaurant was terribly disorganised, cramped and the air con never worked very well. The food was awful and repetitive, by the end of our second week we dreaded it. We did eat out a number of times for a break but as we'd paid for half board we felt we were wasting extra money so, in the end we just made do and looked forward to getting home for a decent meal. Apparently next year the hotel is changing to an all inclusive, I dread to think what that will be like, we certainly won't be finding out. In a nutshell if your over 60 and enjoy kids entertainment this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ossygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    646
    301
    83
    62
See reviews for
205
1,187
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wallasey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Having stayed at this hotel before they say you should never go back i wish i listened to myself
what a total waste of money.
The staff are soso rude would not even give you a glass of ice for our room from the bar,
The trip spirit of ibiza i felt that i had been robbed by dick turpin without the mask the rep said it was one of her fav trips she must have gone somewhere else or had her eyes closed and had no taste buds the food on the trip was rancid had to pay to eat somewhere else so if you think of going on this trip good luck take a sick bag with you.
The entertainment team was rubbish i have seen better acts at butlins and that take some beating.
This hotel is allinclusive next year they struggle at half board as it is so if you are thinking of booking this next year good luck save your money go somewhere else.
The only thing good about this hotel is the day we left sorry for the negative comments but this was rubbish.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank wolf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed here 27August for 1 week - Flight on time and smooth (although queues at BHX were the worst yet!!-what happened to GOLD priority check in?) Smooth check-in at hotel reception and welcome cocktail. Lounge seating area very clean and comfortable. We requested a high floor /quiet room - this request was met although room was a lot smaller than expected and the bathroom a bit bijou and tired looking! The twin beds were narrow singles and you felt as though you could roll off during the night!! There was only a bedside shelf and items kept falling onto floor - would have been so easy and logical to have drawer or cupboard underneath! Fridge worked well and there was bottled water on arrival and tea/coffee supplied daily. Maid was also very good and her trolley didn't squeak early a.m.!!
Both pools and jacuzzis clean and enjoyable. Sun loungers...well, you've read countless other reviews.. some mature people set a bad example of reserving sun beds when specifically requested not too and at 0630 when pool didn't open until 0800!
Dining Room - A nightmare in terms of heat and slippy floor - even some of the chairs moved backwards when you sat down on them!! I voiced my concern with Thomson Rep who very insensitively told me it was a new floor and they couldn't just rip it up!! Her comment was most unsatisfactory and not what guest service is about - the safety of guests should be paramount - I suggested they put down rubber runners to ensure accidents didn't happen as the waitresses and other guests said "Mucho accidents" this spoiled our dining experience and the tables were also so close together you felt you were in a cafeteria not a dining room and the air con was not sufficient! Shame really as the food both carvery and buffet was varied and plentiful.
Entertainment - not my style but others seemed to enjoy all the 'holiday camp noise' which carried on into the late evening (also the hotel opposite Anfora seemed to be in direct competition on the noise scale and from our balcony you could hear both!!) We did feel that quite a lot of people do return here all the time as there were quite a few cliques..could be overbearing at times around the pool.
From hotel it was only a 5 minute walk to pick up a water taxi to Old Ibiza town - smooth journey outward but hellish swell waves on return journey but visit was worth this. Also the blue train tram excursion at night to Santa Euluia was also a pleasant escape from hotel noise! We walked around the marina and found plenty of restaurants and bars. Might consider staying here as the beach looked cleaner and better resort.
The weather was very wet on 1 Sep culminating in a whirlpool with funnel extending up to clouds around 5 pm - quite exciting actually but not for those out at sea but interesting to view!
We enjoyed our week and did meet some lovely people but would not stay again or for longer in this hotel unless the dining room experience is improved upon..

Room Tip: Room 409 and 509 are corner rooms with side partial view of the sea and overlooking the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StressBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Came back on 31st Aug from this the hotel, Entairtanment staff our brilliant and the lady from Sass And Frass was a very good singer but her jokes and falling around was to chessey for me. Jo Slow what a lovely singer and she always made me laugh even when she wasent trying to as when she laughs u cant help laugh as well, i havant laughed so much in ages she was funny even during the days with the pool games brilliant. Jonny is a diamond to and has so much energy and is a good singer like the other two reps they our a really good and hard working team. Thankyou . The only couple of problems were the Air Com there wasent working very well and men having to ware long trousers in the dining room at night is not a good idea when its so hot in the restarant. And even if the Air com was working i think men shoul be able to were shorts as its our holiday and should be able to ware what you wont. The food was Great and plenty of choice.

Room Tip: We booked a pool veiw and was fine for us with a balcony fridge and having Tea making facilitys was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasandGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was our 4th trip to this hotel. I am surprised to discover other guests recieved a bottle of wine as returning guests and also had a fridge in their room.

On arrival at the hotel we were given our room, which was a tired small room with hard beds that squeaked and moved when you turned over. From experience we knew that this was a courtesy room that guests use on their last day. We asked to move but the hotel was full. Thomson also failed to pass on our request to the hotel for a double bed and a high floor. The hotel offered us to come back the next day to change rooms but because we were only there a short time we decided to stay where we was placed as we couldn't be bothered to pack and unpack again.

We didn't spend much time in the room, just as well really because the air con didn't work properly and if you opened the balcony door you got a strong smell of sewage. The Tv was one of those old ones they normally send to Africa but must have been donated to this place. as already said there was no firdge in the room and the temparature on a few days was over 100 degrees. The room was clean but there was no storage (drawers).

The reception staff were very helpful as were most of the hotel staff. The 'towel man' had no towels to exchnge of an afternoon, you had to get there at 10am to change your towel, so if you left early for the beach you were stuck with the same towel.

The food in the hotel was nice and varied but the restaurant itself was extremely hot (poor air con). There used to be loads of seats outside but these have been reduced by about two thirds to allow for members of the public to eat pizza. There is also no BBQ for the same reason and there is no longer an a la carte restaurant.

The entertainment was okay when the professional acts were bought in but the resident band (cornish couple) were dire as were the thompson reps whose idea of entertainment was getting two guests to recite tongue twisters and spell words backwards.

We never bothered to get up at 5am to reserve a bed so went to the beach everyday. The beach on somedays was filthy, with an overflowing drain flowig on to the sand.

We have had loads of holidays in Ibiza and have been to the thomson Gold at Cala Llonga (no longer gold). I would say the Fiesta Cala Llonga is much better roomwise and location wise, we will give it a few year before we come back here, hopefully then the rooms will be up to scratch for a 3 star hotel.

On this occassion I don't think we gat value for money from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you e-mail the hotel direct with your requests as Thompson don't pass these on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shelfside63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This is the third Thomson Gold hotel we've stayed at, each having its own pros and cons. The Panorama has probably the most good points, contradicting some other reviews (we must have been lucky?) - clean and nicely appointed room (pool view), comfortable bed, free use of the fridge, lovely and varied food (even for vegetarians), plenty of sunbeds (you only need to put your towels out at 6am if you want to be by the busy pool - up on the terraces it's quiet and spacious), close to shops and beach, excellent customer service from the Thomson reps, inexpensive snacks and drinks, and prompt lifts! The less good points - very thin walls, inadequate air con, inconsistent standard of entertainment, too few waiters and waitresses in the dining room. All in all, an excellent holiday - we'd definitely return but would want the same room!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannie518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just got back from a two week holiday at the Marina Panorama in Es Cana, my stay was from August 15th. to Augaust 29th. 2012, this was the third visit for myself and my wife, our last two visits were in 2006 and 2007, we only went back to Ibiza because of this hotel, it was the best Thomson Gold we had stayed in, it is very clean, the food in the restaurat is very good and it is in a good location but they are having problems with the air conditioning, it was not working properly while we were there, all the rooms were warm, nowhere to cool down, the restaurant was warm and the floor slippy, only a few tables outside if you want eat in the fresh air and you have to queue by the door for those, some of the dishes and plates were chipped, but the staff were good clearing the tables and serving the drinks and the drinks were reasonably priced.
The bedroom (room 210) was smart and moden but had no draws, only a shelf by the side of the bed, no cabinet, no draw in the dressing table, the fridge was handy (no fee) ketle with tea and coffee was good (no fee) but take some extra if you drink a lot, bathroom was clean with shampoo and shower gel but again take some extra, there was a bad smell from the drains in the bathroom on the second day this was fixed but there was still the odd whiff now and then, the view of the sea was to the side over the restaurant roof which was gravelled and had plants in patio pots to make it look tidy.
The enterainment was not as good as in the past but it was OK, the staff again worked hard to serve the drinks.
There is plenty of outside space, nice pool with a gradual walk in slope at one end, nice pool bar with drinks brought to your sun lounger if you want, the cappuccino is a must have, beds are still reserved in the morning, the hotel has a policy of no reservations but I never saw this rule applied.
The resort is small and caters mainly for familes, there are plenty of cafe's, supermarkets and bars, a few shops, St. Eularia about 5k up the road has a promenade, marina, cafe's, shops and bars, 10 mins on the bus for 1.5€ or 2€ return and there is a ferry service 6€ or 12€ return well worth a visit if you get tired of Es Cana.

Room Tip: open an account when you book in so you can sign for your drinks and snacks and pay for them when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anfora
Hotel Anfora
#2 of 13 in Es Canar
596 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#14 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,743 reviews
2.2 mi away
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques
#6 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Paraiso Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
#11 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AluaSoul Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AluaSoul Ibiza

Property: AluaSoul Ibiza
Address: Playa Es Cana, s/n, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Hotel Marina Panorama)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#16 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#31 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AluaSoul Ibiza 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ALUASOUL IBIZA is located on the sea front in the beach resort of Es Cana, only a few kilometres away from Santa Eulalia del Río. The hotel is an “adults only” hotel, specially thought of for those who wish to relax and unwind. It offers you a wide gastronomical choice, with a restaurant,cafeteria and snack bar. The accommodation offered by our hotel for adults in Ibiza is perfect for getaways and vacations for two, since it offers all the benefits and services of a gym, wellness and spa area, swimming pools… and an environment always ready for you to rest in well equipped rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your AluaSoul Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Panorama i Hotel
AluaSoul Ibiza Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing