We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rise and fall of Thomson Gold”
Review of AluaSoul Ibiza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AluaSoul Ibiza
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Having enjoyed many Thomson Gold holidays my wife and I had very reasonable expectations that the high standards would be maintained. Alas this is now a scaled down cheapskate version of the original concept. The mainstays of the Gold experience are quality of the food, entertainment and staff. None of these were satisfactory. The food was basic and repetitive with very few enjoyable meals over our two week stay. The entertainment which included a moderate production team, some professional acts that were sub standard, two resident duos who were suffering end of season lethargy and two entertainment reps (Adam was loud ignorant irritating and boring whilst his female partner was forgettable and inept) were the least agreeable we have ever encountered. The reps responsible for day to day assistance were reluctant to help frequently absent and lacking in basic human respect. The experiment of offering all inclusive simply encourages all day gluttony and excessive alcohol consumption with the inevitable anti social consequences. We will not patronise this Thomson Gold establishment and of course will consider carefully any other TG hotels if the cost increases and the enjoyment reduces. It is very disappointing in view of the many wonderful holidays we have had and I really wish I was in a position to recall with pleasure what we experienced in the Panorama Marina but I feel obligated to describe it as accurately as possible and hopefully raise some customer influenced concerns that may help prevent further decline in standards.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view are good but superior rooms are obviously superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank mellowdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is possibly of the poorest Thomson Gold hotels that I have visited. It was the final week of the season which I was unaware of when booking and it showed. Every evening while guests were trying to relax at the pool ,sun beds tables and umbrellas were rather noisily gathered up and taken away for the winter. The same applied to the dining room area which got smaller in area each evening with some tables being approx six inches from the adjacent one.Also the standard of food became worse as we headed towards "the close". The condition of the decking outside the main entrance was shocking and a hole in the decking at the jacuzzi area was covered by a warning sign. Again because it was the final week nothing was done about it.Room was basic.Poor toiletries,poor quality towels,very little drawer space and a very rusty pedal bin.There were a few plus points. It has a nice pool,prices were reasonable and Adam the chap in charge of entertainment was excellent if a little loud and overbearing at times.The same entertainment at the same time every day becomes a little too much.
This hotel is not of the same standard as Thomson Gold Hotels I have visited on previous occasions.Maybe I was unfortunate to be there during the final week of the season but I am entitled to receive the same standard as guests staying there throughout the rest of the season,which I can only assume was better.

Room Tip: Request a room with a pool or sea view. The view to the rear of the hotel is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Highland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I stayed 1 week leaving on the 5th October, we found this hotel to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in. In spite of all the negative reviews we read prior to our holiday we had no problems with sunbeds or noise from local bars etc. The staff were very good especially in the bar areas. We were A/I and had no trouble in getting served at all times. The food was consistently hot which we found brilliant, other Hotels please note, It shows in can be done. Enough choice for every taste. Entertainment was above average, and Adam was very good during the day even if you didn't want to join in, It was fun just to watch and listen. He will be missed next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank anthony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Myself and my partner are both in our late 20's and wanted a holiday where we could just relax and chill out instead of going out clubbing/drinking all day and night (been there, done that, got the tshirt) so this looked the perfect place - and it was.

The hotel was really nice and I'm shocked at some of the reviews on here saying anything different!! It was very spacious, light and nice and cool in the communal areas. We stayed in room 428 and it was lovely. There was a huge double wardrobe, 4 large shelves, and 3 drawers, this was more than enough storage space. The bed was comfortable and extra pillows and blankets were available. Good sized balcony with table and chairs and an excellent view over the pool. The bathroom was smallish but perfectly functional. As said in other reviews the toilet is behind where the door opens but this was not a problem at all. I can only imagine that the people that complained that it hindered their access to the bathroom must weigh about 50 stone and couldn't squeeze through.

The food was good quality served buffet style and there was always something nice to eat.

We found all the staff to be friendly, helpful and in most cases quite funny. We specially liked Carlos and Pepe from the bar and Simon the evening drinks waiter.

The entertainment was excellent in my opinion. Good day time activities and good acts on the evenings. The Thompson rep shows were excellent so were Sass and Brass and the other acts brought in. The highlight though was Adam, this man is great. So funny and friendly.

The only thing that let the holiday down for me were some of the other guests. I know we were a fair bit younger than most of the other people in the hotel but some of them just liked to moan just for the sake of it. It was quite funny sometimes listening to them. People were moaning and complaining over the slightest little things and it was definately not needed!!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our first visit to this Hotel via a THOMSON Gold 10 day holiday.
Lovely lake sized pool wonderful food but the best thing was the day time and evening time entertainment. Adam the Thomson rep. entertained us all day long and had many of us in stitches doing Aqua Arobics, playing water polo, Boules, daily quizzes, making cocktails and the evening entertainment was very professional with great variety. Comedians, Music and singing from the London shows, Irish dancing, Rock concert, Beautiful girls playing on those very modern shaped Violin instruments, Jazz evening, Spanish dancing and a very good reps show,
The trips out during the day/ evening were also worthwhile, especially seeing a romantic sunset whilst out at sea and then returning to San Antonio to see all the youngsters getting ready for a night out at the Disco's then a fantastic Firework display. Another trip was to an exclusive island called Secrets of Formentera. We took a trip around the island and visited the salt flats and some caves.There was also local Hippy Market which was huge and very colourful.
The only downside was the cost, We booked the trip in a local Thomson agency at a cost of £2400 half board for 10 days but when we spoke to other holiday makers at the hotel most paid about £1800 for 14 days fully inclusive by booking on the Internet. So there's a lesson to be learnt. No more local agencies for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We visited the Panorama once again. This was our 5th time here. We were a bit worried about the hotel going A/L as we have found in another gold hotel in Menorca that the A/L just seemed to encourage people who drink a lot. They order drinks and then leave them. But in the Panorama quite a lot of the guests are still half board which is good. We really like the hotel but oh dear Thomsons what have you done to the entertainment. The Thomsons production team were good singers but to have them on 5 times in 2 weeks was too much. The only professional acts we saw were two brothers (comedians) who were not at all funny just slapstick comedy. The other comedian was very rude towards older people. Its not as if we didn't pay very much for the holiday. It cost over £2000 for half board and a basic room. On a positive note the hotel is very friendly with good food. Its clean and fairly comfortable. The staff are the best from reception, waiters and waitresses, maids and maintenance staff. They cant do enough for you. Adam Flatman we all love you you make the holiday for everyone and we hope to see you next year in your next posting. Will we return to the hotel.? Its possible but I will read the reviews first regarding the entertainment. This is something that everyone was complaining about.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was the first time that my wife and I have stayed in this hotel and I could have few complaints about it. The room we stayed spacious but could have done with just a few more drawers but nevertheless it was very comfortable and the maid service was brilliant. There was coffee and tea in the room and also a fridge which we did not have to pay for. The food in dining room was excellent with a varied choice and the only complaint I would say is that some of the tables were very close together and sometimes you felt you was eating a meal with complete strangers. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. We did not use the entertainment and very seldom the pool but the hotel did have a yellow/red card for those people who tried to hog sun beds for long periods. The hotel was very close to the beach that you could go from it in your bathing trunks. We had a very enjoyable fortnight in the hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kh007a9431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anfora
Hotel Anfora
#1 of 13 in Es Canar
642 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,861 reviews
2.2 mi away
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques
#7 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#1 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Paraiso Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
Grupotel Santa Eularia Hotel
#9 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AluaSoul Ibiza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AluaSoul Ibiza

Address: Playa Es Cana, s/n, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Hotel Marina Panorama)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#17 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#31 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range: £110 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AluaSoul Ibiza 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ALUASOUL IBIZA is located on the sea front in the beach resort of Es Cana, only a few kilometres away from Santa Eulalia del Río. The hotel is an “adults only” hotel, specially thought of for those who wish to relax and unwind. It offers you a wide gastronomical choice, with a restaurant,cafeteria and snack bar. The accommodation offered by our hotel for adults in Ibiza is perfect for getaways and vacations for two, since it offers all the benefits and services of a gym, wellness and spa area, swimming pools… and an environment always ready for you to rest in well equipped rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AluaSoul Ibiza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Panorama i Hotel
AluaSoul Ibiza Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing