We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location probably the best in Santa Eulalia, but not for us. The average age of the guests must have been 75 and the hotel catered very much for them. The food was poor, not a lot of choice and mainly geared up to the English tastes of meat and two veg with an English breakfast. The fruit juce tasted like orange squash and was not freshly pressed but came out a machine!! The coffee was awful and again not given in a pot for breakfast but was out of a machine and the milk tasted like evaporated. The rooms are very tired and so were we as we were woken up every morning by other guests flushing toilets and scraping chairs or banging doors as early as 6 most mornings. The walls were so thin we could hear snoring every night from other residents !! The older people did seem to be enjoying themselves and were very friendly with each other but if you are under 70 I would advise that you stay elsewhere. I cannot comment on the hotel entertainment as we went out every evening and discovered a great bar just down by the marina called Liquido and we recognised alot of the hotel's younger residents in there also. All in all a lovely resort but we were let down by the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dbdb301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Madam and Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Catalonia Ses Estaques for your vacation; the opinion of our Guests is of the utmost importance to us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.

We truly regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations; we would like to inform you that we took note of your commentaries. We are going to apply corrective measures whether necessary in order to avoid similar problems in the future although it would have be more helpful for both if you would have mentioned your dissatisfaction to us in the way to explain or mend, eventually, any inconvenience you might have experienced.
Service quality is our major concern in the Hotel so we really do appreciate any comment that helps us to improve our service standards.
It is difficult to please 100% of our Clientele but we try hard on achieve it and our repeater Guests, which are 45% of the total presence of one of the most fully booked Hotel in Ibiza where they feel at “home away from home” and, of which, are part of the Catalonia Family, gives us a lot of satisfaction nonetheless considering that most of the reviews are positive and Ses Estaques is nº1 in tripadvisor.
Finally I don't think you should have blamed us as probably, it was your choice to choose our Hotel and between Thomson Agencies and the web reports, it is easily understandable the Hotel atmosphere.

We really hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations and demonstrate that our commitment towards your satisfaction is a reality and not mere words.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    382
    100
    30
    3
See reviews for
120
1,147
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington Lancs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I can totally understand why people come back to this hotel time and time again, this was our first visit and it will not be our last. So this hotel does not have the wow factor other hotels have but we have found our home from home, a clean, comfortable and very friendly place.
We stayed at the Hotel Catalonia Ses Estaques 6th- 13th June 2014, we asked for a high floor with sea view, we got one on the pool side….stunning view….perfect…beautiful location and lovely grounds.
We really cannot find a single negative thing to say about this hotel or the staff so I don’t feel the need to go on and on, we just know we will be back and I think that says everything.
hasta pronto no adiós Ses Estaques

Room Tip: evening sun ask for pool side, all rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJFLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Madam and Sir,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it. Lucky to have you as our Guests in the Hotel, we are encouraged by your kind words which will push us to improve even more day by day.
We are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.

Yours Sincerely,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Ses Estaques and found all the staff extremely helpful and the Hotel is at least the three star rating. I would suggest anyone who does not feel comfortable in the company of the older generation stay away, as the vast majority of guests were the their seventies and eighties. Ask for a room overlooking the tennis court as the other side faces the boat yard built as part of the marina, and if you are not a boat nerd the noise of jet washers, paint spraying and the like can be quite annoying, especially as they work from about 8 am until 8pm with a small break at lunch.
The hotel is extremely clean and has all the basic facilities one would expect, plus Thomson reps arranging boule and shuffle board etc. to keep the guests amused. There were plenty of sun beds even though many ignore the " do not leave towels on unattended sun beds" rule. We never found them all full. The restaurant staff were extremely efficient though self service may not be everyone's cup of tea. The food was predominantly English with a few exceptions and plenty of it, but a little repetitive if you like variety. All the staff seem to enjoy their jobs, from the maid service, through the waitresses and waiters, the bar and reception staff which makes for a happy hotel.
This is a great place to relax with easy access via the promenade to the adjacent town with it's many bars and restaurants.
Many guests return again and again so they must be doing something right, and they do try to address all complaints with as little fuss as possible.
Definitely one for the older generation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the tennis court are much quieter, if that's what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salisburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Madam and Sir,
Thank you for your message about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it. It is a pleasure to learn that you were very happy with the courteous and professional service you received at the Hotel.

We continually strive to improve the service we offer our Guests and it is encouraging to receive such positive feedback. Our Visitors comments are one of our best guidelines in evaluating and improving our service and product range. We are constantly looking to improve and make our services more attractive to our Guests.
It is only through valuable feedback such as yours that we can continue to develop a product which meets and exceeds Customers expectations. We see those feedback as a vital part of our growth and development, and are grateful to all Clients for their guidance in helping us to achieve our goals.
Thanks for your timely feedback and continued support. We look forward to welcoming you at Catalonia Ses Estaques again next summer.
Yours sincerely,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great hotel. Lovely part of town. Staff very triendly and welcoming. Comfy bed, clean room, plenty sunbeds with parasols and quiet areas. Entertainment 1st class. No complaints at all. Would definitely return. Thomson reps are excellent. Would recommend sunset cruise and mystery trip. Spoilt for choice in dining room for breakfast and dinner, pool bar serves tasty lunches too.

Room Tip: High floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lesley_stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it. Lucky to have you as our Guests in the Hotel, we are encouraged by your kind words which will push us to improve even more day by day.
We are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.
Kind regards,
Giancarlo Dell´Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff at this hotel were very pleasant , very good choice of food and sweets (Mmmmmm). The visit to the A Le Carte Restaurant once a week was very enjoyable - lovely food. The only disappointment was the room being on the ground floor, no privacy and noise from the lift shaft :(

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 122Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Madam and Sir,
We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay at Catalonia Ses Estaques, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really appreciate your positive review, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time here with us and you will keep a good memory of Ibiza and our Hotel.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just returned a week ago from Ses Estaques and just want to be back there again. This is the 3rd year we have holidayed there and GianCarlo, the lovely manager marked the occasion with a beautiful gift of matching freshwater pearl jewellery. Really unexpected but a lovely surprise. As always the room and hotel were spotless. The food was plentiful and freshly cooked. Put on weight as the desserts were so delicious they are hard to resist. The beds are so comfortable and rooms have air conditioning and a very secure safe. The afternoon Boules games were hotly contested and really popular, with the triumphant winner of the day getting a Thomson T Shirt!
My husband hates lazing around normally, but he says when he gets there, he just totally relaxes. Never a problem getting a sun bed, and certainly do not have to get up at some ungodly hour to get a one. The gardens were so well kept and the gardeners on the go all the time to keep it looking good. Evening entertainment and the early evening quiz ensured we spent our evenings in the hotel, why go out when everything is there!! It is no wonder the hotel is rated No 1.
Although I cannot fault the hotel or it's staff on any aspect of our stay, I was a bit disappointed with Thomson as they have stopped doing the afternoon crafts they did last year, instead replacing them with daft games like giant kerplunk or Jenga which lasted at most, 10 minutes. The most number of people I saw join in was 3 so this should tell Thomson something. Apparently it is all to do with cost. I had really looked forward to jewellery making for an hour or so. Come on Thomson, the holiday was dear enough, so surely you can run to providing the materials for card or jewellery making!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the boatyard or pool get the evening sun, lovely for relaxing with a book before d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M9999000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.
It is our aim to let all our Guests feel at "home away from home" and this is probably the reason why we have over 40% of repeater Customers within our premises.
Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have you back in the "Family" again this year for your 3rd visit and we hope to see you in the close future, being at your service and try once more to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours Faithfully,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from another great holiday at the SES ESTAQUES HOTEL Welcomed by very friendly staff. Plenty to eat, good entertainment and lovely location. The room had a lovely sea view. Will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Superior rooms and side sea view rooms have a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan2Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Catalonia Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.
Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have met your expectations and we really hope to see you next year, being at your service once more.
Yours Sincerely,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Eulalia del Rio
0.9 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#2 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
799 reviews
1.5 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
IBEROSTAR Santa Eulalia
#9 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,535 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Es Vive
Hotel Es Vive
#1 of 50 in Ibiza Town
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ses Estaques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ses Estaques

Property: Catalonia Ses Estaques
Address: Cala Ses Estaques, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ses Estaques 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel located on the seafront near Santa Eularia des Riu , one of the largest, most beautiful towns of Ibiza, just 16 kilometres from the capital. In Santa Eularia des Riu you will find excellent restaurants and beaches, renowned for their beauty and tranquility. Catalonia Ses Estaques is situated in a luxuriant pine forest and enjoys fantastic views over the marina and the town centre. Guests can enjoy a wealth of facilities including a superb terrace with garden, swimming-pool, bar, solarium and two Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Catalonia Ses Estaques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ses Estaques Hotel
Hotel Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing