We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catalonia Ses Estaques
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent our 3rd holiday at this hotel in June and once again had an enjoyable time. The hotel is in lovely surroundings and was clean, tidy and well kept. All the staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. Our room had a very pleasant side sea view on the opposite side of the hotel to the pool and was clean and well maintained throughout our stay. Whilst the other guests were predominantly older than ourselves, this was never a problem and the lack of children helped provide a relaxing and peaceful environment. Whilst the food could be described as basic, there was always plenty of choice and being a buffet style, you could chose what you wanted. Thomson reps provided entertainment throughout the day for those who wanted to join in, as well as varied evening entertainment. We would have no hesitation in returning to the hotel in the future.

Room Tip: We would suggest a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.
It is our aim to let all our Guests feel at "home away from home" and this is probably the reason why we have over 40% of repeater Customers within our premises.
Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have you back in the "Family" again this year and we are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.
Yours Faithfully,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,846 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

I just returned from my 7 nights holiday. Ses Estaques was fabullous in terms of everything, food, cleaning, entertainment, kidness and all services. The stuff does the best they can for the customers and really behave like we are the top priority. There are mainly people ageing between 40 - 60 but I do recommend for any sort of age as once you go to Ibiza you go out for clubbing anyway.

Room Tip: I have stayed in two rooms as I purchased the late checkout plus my brother in law stayed in another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bratu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Madam and Sir,
We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay at Catalonia Ses Estaques, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really appreciate your positive review, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time here with us and you will keep a good memory of Ibiza and our Hotel.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We came for a relaxing break and that's exactly what we got.
We paid for an upgraded room which had a nice balcony with a sea view definitely worth paying extra for.
Food was nice not excellent but still we found a good choice and never went hungry.
They had shows on every evening which were good and they had a show group that visited they were not bad but one of the guys spent most of the time out of key. There was also two resident duo's one which we have seen before in a different Thomsons hotel at Christmas LA2 and they were good with a wide variety of songs the other duo didn't seem to talk much and just went through the motions. We joined in also in the evening quizzes and some of the activities through the day.
Thomsons had a good presence in the hotel and also a local guide Claire who can tell you about the area and things to see and do which is very helpful. A great hotel to relax in with nice staff...will certainly return.

Room Tip: An upgraded room is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Catalonia Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.
Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have met your expectations and we are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.
Yours Sincerely,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My girlfriend and I recently returned from a weeks stay at Ses Estaques with mixed feelings about the hotel. We booked the holiday through Thomson and, after reading some tips on TripAdvisor, I then emailed the hotel, requesting an upper level, poolside room. On arrival at the hotel, at 5am after a delayed flight, we were given the key card to our room - on the ground floor, right next to the hotel entrance, the complete opposite to my request (apparently they have a member of staff dedicated to carrying out these requests??)
The room looked old, and the bathroom was actually quite unclean, with hairs on the floor, and toothpaste around the sink. In the morning we spoke to reception and they offered us a choice of 2 new rooms, a standard or a superior (for an extra fee). We took the standard room, which was much nicer than our original, although on the first floor, right next to the outdoor entertainment, which is incredibly loud.

On our first day we had a wander around the hotel, and discovered that the majority of guests were quite old and obviously repeat customers (the hotel manager boasts that 45% of customers are repeat customers). Being 20 year old, first time customers was clearly quite unusual, and some guests actually made us feel quite uncomfortable at times, staring at us, and obviously talking about us. The activities and entertainment are also geared towards the older guest, and so we found we spent a lot of time away from the hotel, especially in the evenings. Evening entertainment provided quite a mixed bag, and as has been mentioned before, was either quite good, or really bad. The house acts were awful, playing the same sets nightly, to a rather poor standard. This was worsened by how ridiculously loud the entertainment is! We actually found that when standing in the corridor outside our room, the sound was just about at an acceptable level, and when walking around to the marina, you could still hear the music!

Aside from this, the hotel itself is nice. Our new room was kept clean, although some of the fixtures and decor looked a bit aged. The restaurant served consistently good food, although quite obviously aimed at the British 'meat and two veg' palate, with limited 'local' options, but the standard hotel spread of meat and fish dishes. Again, quite a lot of staring and commenting between guests - and be careful not to find yourself sat in a regulars favourite spot! There are plenty of sun loungers around the hotel, but prime spots are reserved very early in the morning. The reception staff are friendly and welcoming, and were quick to sort any problems we had.

I do however feel that some of the reviews on TripAdvisor play this hotel up a little. Maybe the return customer experience is a little more personalised, and encourages these people to give higher scores, but I’m not sure it’s worthy of some of the 5* reviews it gets. Who knows, maybe if I go back as a 60 year old in 40 years time I’ll have a better experience..

Room Tip: Rooms on the poolside are VERY noisy in the evenings during summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Madam and Sir,
We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay with us, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We appreciate your positive commentaries although we truly regret not having been able to fulfill all your expectations, we highly appreciate your opinion and we will definitely follow up your review. Service quality is our major concern in the Hotel so we really do appreciate any comment that helps us to improve our service standards. Still, I would like to ask you why you were so surprised to see, as you said “old people”, if you have read the tripadvisor commentaries before choosing this Hotel? Maybe you didn’t read attentively so, I must think that it is not our fault if you were not happy about all our Clients which are 45% of the total presence of one of the most fully booked Hotel in Ibiza where they feel at “home away from home” and, of which, are part of the Catalonia Family. There must be something that keeps our Customers coming back so, please, don’t offend them (you better respect them because as you said, in 40 years could be you one of them and I do not think you will like to read those offenses you are posting) and, don’t be surprised if most of the reviews are positive and Ses Estaques is nº1. Actually about your comment, and apart the first night where we wrongly gave you the room because fully booked, I can read only positive things so, I believe your experience doesn’t really seems to be so negative to deserve 2 dots out of five.

We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 weeks in August and really enjoyed our stay. All the staff were helpful and friendly, including the Thompson reps. Rooms are basic but spacious and clean, each one has some sort of sea view. The pool area is very clean and tidy, but if you want a bed by the pool get up early! There are plenty of other beds around the hotel and by the sea so you can always get one somewhere. The food is good and has a variety for both breakfast and dinner (men take trousers), drinks are not the cheapest and recommend walking into town (10 mins) for better deals. The daytime entertainment runs from 11-4 every day and had lots to do. The evening entertainment is a little cheesy and we didn't watch much of it as we walked into the marina most nights. All in all a great hotel in a great location.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Madam and Sir,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Catalonia Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it.
Starting with myself and all my Colleagues we are delighted to have met your expectations and we really hope to see you in the close future, being at your service once more.
Yours Sincerely,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

First visit with my husband and it was lovely. We were greeted with a smile upon check in which was fast and efficient.
Our room was nice with a fab sea view although it would of been nice to have a fridge to keep water in.
The hotel is situated at the end of the marina which us nice and peaceful and only a short stroll to the centre which is great for an evening stroll.
Restaurant wad nice with a nice selection of food and fresh fruit the staff were always friendly this is the same for the bar staff who always remembered what drink you had we thought that was a nice touch.
The pool area is quite small but we always found a sunbed.
There is games run throughout the day if you want to join in hosted by Eric who always made the time to chat.
Evening entertainment is a bit hit and miss we enjoyed the 4tops and a couple of the others we also enjoyed listening to one of the in house bands LA2 she has a lovely voice.

We would definitely return due to the location and the staff they really make the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Ses Estaques and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed it. Lucky to have you as our Guests in the Hotel, we are encouraged by your kind words which will push us to improve even more day by day.
We are enchanted to know through your comments that you are already thinking of returning to visit us again in the future. We shall try the utmost to fulfill your expectations.
Always at your service,
Giancarlo Dell´Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a fantastic week at Ses Estaques. When we booked we didn't realise that Thompson gold was aimed at the older adult market, we're both in our mid 20's so were a bit worried about whether we would be out of place at the hotel. However, as soon as we arrived the staff were welcoming and there was a good mix of people staying at the hotel so our worries were put to rest. The majority of guests were older than us but not everyone was, it wasn't all OAP's as suggested by some other reviews and it had no impact on our holiday at all. The biggest perk of the hotel for us was that it is adults only which made for a lovely, peaceful atmosphere; particularly around the pool which gave us the relaxing holiday we were looking for. There were always lots of sunbeds available around the pool/faux beach area attached to the hotel no matter what time of the day and the outdoor areas were lovely. The food selection at the hotel was great, even with a dairy intolerance I always had lots to choose from.The rooms are just standard hotel rooms, clean and comfortable. The only minor issues we had were that the walls were very thin in the room and you could hear everything your neighbours said/did but it isn't a noisy hotel and we weren't inside much so it didn't cause any real problems. Also the evening entertainment was appaulling. The resident band LA2 just couldn't sing but they were so bad that you just had to laugh. The area of Santa Eulailia itself was gorgeous, it was very pretty and up-market in a nice way. The marina which is less than a 5 minute walk away is beautiful with lots of bars/restaurants.

All-in-all we had a brilliant holiday and would recommend the hotel for young couples if, like us, you are going on holiday to relax and want a really serene atmosphere.

Pros: adult only, location, outdoor areas/pool, the cove outside the a la carte restaurant, friendly staff, food selection, peaceful atmosphere, cheap price of drinks/mini bar/snacks.

Cons: terrible evening entertainment, some food was very 'British' (but I expect this at package hotels), thin walls/noisy in room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jopeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giancarlo D, Director General at Catalonia Ses Estaques, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Madam and Sir,
We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay at Catalonia Ses Estaques, being of the utmost importance for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service.
We really appreciate your positive review, it's a pleasure to know that you had a good time here with us and you will keep a good memory of Ibiza and our Hotel.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit us again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.

Best regards,
Giancarlo Dell’Erba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#11 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aguas de Ibiza
Aguas de Ibiza
#1 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
967 reviews
1.5 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Catalonia Royal Ses Savines
Catalonia Royal Ses Savines
#17 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
73 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Santa Eulalia
Iberostar Santa Eulalia
#2 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites & Spa
Insotel Fenicia Prestige Suites ...
#4 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Ses Estaques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ses Estaques

Address: Cala Ses Estaques, 07840, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range: £99 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ses Estaques 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel located on the seafront near Santa Eularia des Riu , one of the largest, most beautiful towns of Ibiza, just 16 kilometres from the capital. In Santa Eularia des Riu you will find excellent restaurants and beaches, renowned for their beauty and tranquility. Catalonia Ses Estaques is situated in a luxuriant pine forest and enjoys fantastic views over the marina and the town centre. Guests can enjoy a wealth of facilities including a superb terrace with garden, swimming-pool, bar, solarium and two Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Ses Estaques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ses Estaques Hotel
Hotel Ses Estaques
Catalonia Ses Estaques Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing