We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By Far the Best Restaurant in Es Cana!”
Review of Lamia Cafe

Lamia Cafe
Price range: US$15 - US$55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The restaurant has changed ownership in June 2014. Currently the name is still in use but we reserve the right to its exclusive use and transfer to another facility. When that happens will be appropriately marked, but until then, it should be noted that this profile and its historic, built brick by brick with love and dedication, do not correspond to the reality that you will find today under our sign
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“By Far the Best Restaurant in Es Cana!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed in Es cana for 4 days in September, I was with my 83 year old mum and 24 year old daughter. The owner and his wife (who cooks real euthentic italian food on the premises) were just lovely. They were very attentive to our needs, helped us chose our meals and povided us with samples of what they provided (lovely cauliflower coated in pizza batter - yum). They even provide some history on the region of Italy they come from - very personal, and warming.

Keep up the excellent customer relationships you are forming - you both have a natural talent for making people feel very welcome in your restaurant , and we wish you lots of luck in making your business/restaurant successul.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank debraharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great restaurant a gem in a somewhat trashy town”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We found out about this restaurant from TripAdvisor so I want to share what we feel about the place. It was a gem to find, and especially in the somewhat trashy Es Canar town - full of typical tourists bars and pubs. A husband and wife team serving very good quality italian food. We didn't have starters but the owner bought us cauliflower tempura which was delicious, our mains - simple pasta which was so delicious and fresh and lamb which was also very tasty and both presented very well. We of course had to have desert after the two previous courses being so good, and desert was also very good; chocolate fondants. Yum. A lovely little place, with great service and the personal touch, we ended our meal with a limoncello. Perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CSomersetBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect hidden gem”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I was told to visit the restaurant by a guy I met on the bus from the airport! What an amazing place this is! The food was delicious and the hospitality was of a gold standard! The guys from Michelin should def give these guys a star rating as the food is worth it. Hands down the best food in Es Cana. I wish the place was on the main strip as they deserve to be as they will beat any restaurant! They are down a side road about 50 metres from the main stretch. If I had the funds for a marketing campaign to promote the restaurant I would- it's that amazing and I am a fussy person at times when it comes to food!
The service, food and hospitality was amazing! Theo Randall would be impressed at this place!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LamiaCafe, Proprietario at Lamia Cafe, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
thank you very much, really too much generous! I do not know if we're up to your compliments, but we are happy that you enjoyed our restaurant and rewarded for the work we do. It 'been a pleasure to have you as our guests :-))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we visited in Es Cana”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We visited several restaurants during our stay in Es Cana and the food at the Lamia Cafe was by far the best. Most of them in the resort are pretty similar, everything with chips (usually frozen skinny fries rather than home made), but the Lamia was in a different class. I went with my husband and two young daughters and we were all impressed.
The service was excellent and attentive, a very friendly man attended to us, bringing us baskets of bread and olives, and chatting to us, even taking a group photo of our family for us.The food was delicious, three of us had chicken in mushroom or pepper sauce, with lovely crispy little potatoes, the other had pizza which she thoroughly enjoyed.
The whole eating experience at the Lamia was a pleasure, so much nicer than the other impersonal restaurants we visited, and we would definitely recommend it. It's situated down a sidestreet across from the small funfair so not on the beachfront and may therefore be missed, but believe me, the food is way better than in any of the beach bars, and no more expensive. They also offer free Wifi which is a bonus. Lovely place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J1gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved This Place”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Lovely little restaurant, wonderful Italian couple who made us feel very welcome, Kids enjoyed playing chess in the chill out bar.
Food was excellent!!!!! Fantastico !!!!
We only ate here once, unfortunately (as only discovered the restaurant towards the end of our holiday) But we did call in for a drink a chat and a game of chess once or twice. Would 100% eat here again when back in Es Canar

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JRSkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LamiaCafe, Proprietario at Lamia Cafe, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
thank you! We have your photo on the page of Lamia Cafe on Facebook , with "little geniuses" who play chess (incredible your kids! congratulations!). We chatted pleasantly with you, I hope you will return one. :-))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lamia Cafe also viewed

Es Canar, Santa Eulalia del Rio
Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza
 
Es Canar, Santa Eulalia del Rio
Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza
 

Been to Lamia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing