We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Arenas Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Arenas Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just had a wonderful break in Las Arenas for a week. The beach is so close that we didn't miss a pool at the hotel. Everybody at the hotel is very welcoming and friendly. I saw from a previous comment that were no tea/coffee making facilities so I took a travel kettle as I need my cuppa first thing. I also knew there was no tv in the room but I still missed not being able to watch the news. Whilst I realise it is a budget hotel I still think a cuppa in the morning and a tv would have made such a difference to our stay. I found the continental breakfast was brilliant but my husband felt that if a cooked breakfast was wanted a reduction could be made for residents. It was great having the ferry service a few yards from the hotel with regular trips to other resorts. The view from our balcony was spectacular, we were so close to the sea we could hear the waves lapping against the boats in the small harbour. So relaxing. The beach is clean with plenty of bars and retaurants. Lots of sunbeds and umbrellas at the standard 5 euros each a day. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The bar to the right of the hotel was pretty loud so the rooms on the left side would be quieter, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    46
    10
    9
    0
See reviews for
12
78
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Las Arenas and found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, the cleaner deserves a medal for the effort that she puts in to her work and well done to her. The staff at the hotel are welcoming and very friendly, many thanks to Carlos and Marta for looking after us so well. On the down side if you wished to use the room safe - €47 for 14 days which includes a €5 refund, the air con was €8 a day, so we decided to save our €112. I would also note that it was our experience as Thomson guests we seemed to be the poor relation in regard to the room allocation and lack of tv and toiletries.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good choice of juices, croissants, meats, cheese, eggs and tomatoes. There was also cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt. You were limited to one cup of coffee but could buy extra cups if required at €1.45.
All in all an excellent location, quite a lot of noise from the Jacaranda bar opposite, but this is a well run and well recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid travelling with Thomson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madgescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Thank you to all at Las Arenas - your food was outstanding and value for money. We broke all our rules as we ate at your lovey restaurant every day for a week- the menu changed daily all fresh produce. Our room was ideal for us with a large balcony. You do get street noise but you are in town and expect this - totally not the fault of the B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suze057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
492 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hostal is in a lovely location, right on the marina at Es Canar. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. It is spotlessly clean and there is a lovely roof terrace with amazing views. We had a nice balcony overlooking the marina and beach. However the beds were very narrow and uncomfortable, it was like sleeping on an ironing board!!Also, we were directly above the restaurant so there was a lot of noise every morning from about 7am, with furniture being dragged/moved about. We could also hear the ceiling fan, from the restaurant, in our room and it sounded like a clock ticking loudly.Neither my husband nor I had a full nights sleep the whole week we were there. We had to go and sleep on sunbeds on the roof terrace for a couple of hours each morning to catch up. It is for this reason that we would not return to this accommodation. It was a shame as otherwise the hostal was really nice. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was very good, menu of the day 3 courses for 10.50 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

So pleased we chose this hotel. Had originally planned to stay in one of the larger 4 star hotels in Es Cana but opted for 2 star Las Arenas after reading the reviews. It would have been nice to have had a kettle and cups in the room and maybe a fridge (but then again, this isn't rated 4 star - even though the standard of it's facilities exceeds many 4 star hotels), but the wine kept cool enough as long as you didn't leave it too long before drinking! The rooms are boutique, but ours had a small balcony so it was plenty big enough. We ate every night in the restaurant, often the excellent meal of the day and couple of times tempted by the a la carte. We recommend you try the paella and have afternoon cake from the patisserie. All the food was delicious. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We had a late return flight and although we hadn't booked a late check out, we were able to leave our bags and make use of the sun terrace and shower room at no extra cost. Location was good for some lovely walks and stunning scenery. Frequent bus service to nearby Santa Eulalia where there are good links to other places (we went to Eivissa for a total return cost of 7.10 euros per person). Water ferry across the road from hotel is more costly but worth the experience. Very tempted to book again immediately!

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle if you like to make a hot drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodsiesSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have just returned from a week at this little hotel,lovely location across road from the harbour,spotless hotel,friendly staff and delicious food at a great price. We ate the menu del dia every day,couldn't fault the food and we never had the same dish twice. The in house bakery and coffee shop is a real bonus too.
Our room was on the small side but had everything we needed with a small balcony and the bathroom had a bath and shower plus hair dryer , the standard of cleanliness was first rate every day.

The beach is just across the road, this is a very popular resort for families, it's quiet and safe and the perfect place to recharge the batteries.

Room Tip: Rooms are small so a balcony is a real plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FazzaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Paid our second visit to this charming family-run hotel. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast consists of toast, freshly baked bread, croissants, cheese and ham. The restaurant is, in my opinion, the best in Es Canar, and for €10.50 do a 3-course set meal, which is excellent value. The hotel is conveniently placed opposite the small harbour, where ferries run to Eivissa, Santa Eulalia and Cala Llonga. Will definitely be returning. One tip, if you are purchasing cigarettes or tobacco, purchase in resort, a lot cheaper than at the airport in the 'duty free'.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingsilkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#4 of 14 in Es Canar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mar y Huerta
Hostal Mar y Huerta
#9 of 14 in Es Canar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
Tropic Garden Aparthotel
#17 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Paraiso Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
2.6 mi away
azuLine Hotel Mediterraneo
azuLine Hotel Mediterraneo
#50 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hostal

Property: Las Arenas Hostal
Address: Avenida Es Canar 138, 07849, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Las Arenas Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ibiza where present and past join in harmony and where everything is cloaked in mystery and beauty. This cosy hotel, built at the beginning of the fifties, is surrounded by an enviable environment and faces a small fishing port and the beautiful beach of Es Canar. The owners, the family Colomar, run the hotel and still preserve the hospitality with which they welcomed the first travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Arenas Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hostal Hotel
Las Arenas Hostal Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing