We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for couples”
Review of Las Arenas Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Arenas Hostal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

First time to Ibiza, could not have chose a better place, Es Canar has been able to remain a small place while having something for most people, bars, restaurants, watersports, music, hippies.
The Las Arenas, as far as we are concerned, was ideal. Not many rooms have balconies, but there is a big roof terrace that is easily accessed from any room (although having said that this place is generally not suitable for people with mobility problems)
The lack of a pool was no problem for us as the beach was so near. You can also use various pools around the town for the price of a couple of drinks
Hotel is absolutely spotless and as another reviewer says, the cleaner is superb, never stops.
Breakfasts are what we expected, typically Spanish continental, plus varied pastries from the attached bakery.
The staff are all very nice and make you feel very welcome, we were there 2 weeks and felt almost home.
The restaurant serves probably the best food in the area. Plenty of variety and not chips with everything. We ate there often.
There are a few comments regarding noise but to be honest we liked the music and the general bustle of the place, we never found it obtrusive. The music always stopped around midnight with only people milling around to disturb the peace.
We travelled around the island by bus, which was easy and cheap, and it was always nice to return to our resort, we did not feel we were missing out.
Ibiza town is a really nice place to visit. The disco bus was ideal for late transport and not at all rowdy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anth-and-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for a week loverly little place ,best view ever as we upgraded to the room with a terrace right in the centre for everything rooms are small but loverly first holiday in a room without tea making or coffe but hey we coped and we had a cracking time made up we found this little gem and will return please note this is not a hotel with pool etc but hey loverly beach makes up for it

Room Tip: Can't tell you that in case it's fully booked its mine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Las Arenas is just fantastic!! We had a two week stay on bed and breakfast basis and enjoyed every minute of it. Rooms are fairly basic but have everything you want, we payed for a sea view and balcony and it was worth the extra.. a lovely view of the beach and harbour to wake up to each morning. The air-con is extra but we knew this when we booked so no problem. They are cleaned daily and were spotless throughout our stay. Breakfast is served in the small cafe at the front of the hotel and is of Spanish fair, lots of lovely Serrano ham, meats, cheese, tomato, fruit, breads and croissants.. fruit juices, tea and coffee were great too. Evening meals at the restaurant are pretty good too, an extensive menu of locally sourced food and the set menu is 11.50 Euros for three courses. Es Cana itself was, as always, wonderful.!! Overall we had a great holiday at Las Arenas and would return here without hesitation.. Brilliant!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view.. worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just had a wonderful break in Las Arenas for a week. The beach is so close that we didn't miss a pool at the hotel. Everybody at the hotel is very welcoming and friendly. I saw from a previous comment that were no tea/coffee making facilities so I took a travel kettle as I need my cuppa first thing. I also knew there was no tv in the room but I still missed not being able to watch the news. Whilst I realise it is a budget hotel I still think a cuppa in the morning and a tv would have made such a difference to our stay. I found the continental breakfast was brilliant but my husband felt that if a cooked breakfast was wanted a reduction could be made for residents. It was great having the ferry service a few yards from the hotel with regular trips to other resorts. The view from our balcony was spectacular, we were so close to the sea we could hear the waves lapping against the boats in the small harbour. So relaxing. The beach is clean with plenty of bars and retaurants. Lots of sunbeds and umbrellas at the standard 5 euros each a day. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The bar to the right of the hotel was pretty loud so the rooms on the left side would be quieter, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Las Arenas and found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, the cleaner deserves a medal for the effort that she puts in to her work and well done to her. The staff at the hotel are welcoming and very friendly, many thanks to Carlos and Marta for looking after us so well. On the down side if you wished to use the room safe - €47 for 14 days which includes a €5 refund, the air con was €8 a day, so we decided to save our €112. I would also note that it was our experience as Thomson guests we seemed to be the poor relation in regard to the room allocation and lack of tv and toiletries.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good choice of juices, croissants, meats, cheese, eggs and tomatoes. There was also cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt. You were limited to one cup of coffee but could buy extra cups if required at €1.45.
All in all an excellent location, quite a lot of noise from the Jacaranda bar opposite, but this is a well run and well recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid travelling with Thomson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madgescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Thank you to all at Las Arenas - your food was outstanding and value for money. We broke all our rules as we ate at your lovey restaurant every day for a week- the menu changed daily all fresh produce. Our room was ideal for us with a large balcony. You do get street noise but you are in town and expect this - totally not the fault of the B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suze057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hostal is in a lovely location, right on the marina at Es Canar. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. It is spotlessly clean and there is a lovely roof terrace with amazing views. We had a nice balcony overlooking the marina and beach. However the beds were very narrow and uncomfortable, it was like sleeping on an ironing board!!Also, we were directly above the restaurant so there was a lot of noise every morning from about 7am, with furniture being dragged/moved about. We could also hear the ceiling fan, from the restaurant, in our room and it sounded like a clock ticking loudly.Neither my husband nor I had a full nights sleep the whole week we were there. We had to go and sleep on sunbeds on the roof terrace for a couple of hours each morning to catch up. It is for this reason that we would not return to this accommodation. It was a shame as otherwise the hostal was really nice. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was very good, menu of the day 3 courses for 10.50 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judithWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Eulalia del Rio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Flamingo
Hostal Flamingo
#12 of 13 in Es Canar
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anfora
Hotel Anfora
#1 of 13 in Es Canar
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#6 of 13 in Es Canar
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mar y Huerta
Hostal Mar y Huerta
#7 of 13 in Es Canar
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
azuLine Hotel Coral Beach
0.0 mi away
Fun Vistamar
Fun Vistamar
#11 of 19 in Es Canar
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hostal

Address: Avenida Es Canar 138, 07849, Santa Eulalia del Rio, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Santa Eulalia del Rio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santa Eulalia del Rio
Price Range: £57 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Las Arenas Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ibiza where present and past join in harmony and where everything is cloaked in mystery and beauty. This cosy hotel, built at the beginning of the fifties, is surrounded by an enviable environment and faces a small fishing port and the beautiful beach of Es Canar. The owners, the family Colomar, run the hotel and still preserve the hospitality with which they welcomed the first travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Las Arenas Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hostal Hotel
Las Arenas Hostal Ibiza/Santa Eulalia Del Rio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing