We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A testing walk with super views”
Review of Castell d Alaro

Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Alaro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A testing walk with super views”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We drove part of the way from Alaro up to a restaurant, then walked up to the Castell. Quite strenuous one and half hour walk, but worth it for the views at the top.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    43
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Interesting challenge, running to the top from the centre of Alaro. Fantastic views from the top, you can almost see the whole island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Finwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
931 reviews
440 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The castle is well signposted from Alaro village and we drove to Es Verger restaurant to park, after an interesting drive with hairpin bends, a narrow and potholed road and sheer drops! There was plenty of parking and we then headed up the well marked trail through the trees. I think the path was better condition than the road we just drove up! When we looked at the castle from the car park it seemed ridiculous to even attempt such a trip but the climb was pretty easy and shaded most of the way.
After about 35 mins we were just below the gatehouse and then through, into the castle. Other than as a final place of defense I'm not sure of the strategic value of the castle due to it's inaccessibility and there isn't much left of it now. What hasn't changed is the stunning views, they really are incredible. The castle is built on a narrow ridge and it is worth exploring once you are there.
One end is very narrow but has plenty of places to sit, the other has the old chapel which is now a cafe and hostel. We walked back down the hill, had a coffee at Es Verger and then left. Well worth it as a half day excursion.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Views”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great walk up to this Castle and stunning views of the island from the top. Refuge at the summit in which you can get a snack meal and even stay overnight!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna4153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Stunning View and Not for the Faint of Heart”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Castell d'Alaro is about half an hour drive from Palma de Mallorca. There are two ways to get to the ruin itself. First one is the gentle route. This route will take you gradually upward. It takes about over an hour on foot to the top. The second one is more direct, but rather steep and rocky. If you have more strength, the second route is the best choice as it is faster. I personally tried both routes. The view from the top is spectacular. And if you would like to spend a night or two, there is a hostel up there. Also there is a very good restaurant in the vicinity, which serves delicious Spanish food. The price is rather affordable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castell d Alaro also viewed

 

Been to Castell d Alaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing