We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in tranquil location.”
Review of Hotel Port Mahon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Port Mahon
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mahon
Certificate of Excellence
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in tranquil location.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from our first stay at this lovely hotel which has a perfect location situated over the beautiful port of Mahon. It is quiet and peaceful and just the place to come to for a relaxing holiday, yet only a few minutes walk down the 102 steps to the harbour, thank goodness for the public lift back up again. We tried to get a sea view room via e-mail contact with the hotel but unfortunately there was no availability, however we were promised the best room they had and we were not disappointed (room 105), our room was on a corner with views of the garden, pool area and partial sea view, and sunshine for most of the day and evening, just perfect.
From the moment we arrived at reception to leaving we had excellent attention from all the staff including reception, waiters in the bar and restaurant also room maids. We stayed on a half board basis and although the meals are all buffet style we had no complaints, there was plenty of choice and eating out on the terrace overlooking the sea was idyllic, excellent wine list.
We have stayed in many and varied hotels and usually like to try new places and seldom return the same hotel, however we both agreed we would definitely return to this hotel again.
Joan&Douglas Watson

Room Tip: Sea view room, or corner room (room 105 or 205).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    229
    72
    18
    5
See reviews for
83
448
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here in early April. Definitely a hotel for the older traveller rather than a family.

The room I had faced out over the bay and had a fabulous view. The hotel itself is very nice and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was good with plenty of choice both hot and cold. We had one meal there in the evening and it was OK. We did however, mainly eat out.

Check out was quick and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our first visit to the Island and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful whenever we needed any information or help. It is also in the ideal location for a nice stroll down to the harbour however the 102 steps maybe a challenge for some. In the harbour we spent most of our evenings in 'Sa Gavina ll' which is a local restaurant run by Kate. We could not have been made more welcome and the food was never anything below perfect. We would definitely return to the island and stay at the Hotel Port Mahon.

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you want a sea view room and balcony. 'Side Sea View' rooms do not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Food and service were fantastic, hotel was spotlessly clean and room was amazing! Views overlooking the port are not to be missed so ensure you book a room with balcony and sea view.
Pool was chilly initially but quiet as mostly couples. Plenty of sunbeds and no early morning rush for the dreaded towel reservations so long lies allowed!!!
Mahon is full of restaurants and quaint squares for a pomada or two or just to watch the world pass by. Also worth doing is a harbour trip.
Thankyou Hotel Port Mahon-a real treat!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jalex179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just visited the excellent, Port Mahon Hotel again, after an absence of 7 years (we stayed there for many years since the 80's) and we have to say, things have really improved in style and particularly in service and attitude from the staff. This Hotel is perfectly and beautifully situated, overlooking historic Mahon Harbour and it's association with the British Navy. The views at all times of the day are stunning. Breakfasts are excellent and the bar service great, with a fine selection of beers and wines. (Martin has to be the best barman in the Med) It is definitely, the finest and most conveniently situated Hotel to stay in Mahon (we have stayed at them all) The hotel is only a 12 euro cab ride from the airport and a selection of delightful, waterside restaurants, bars and boat rides (You must go on the Yellow Cat!) are just a short climb down a flight of steps. (there is a lift back up!) The hotel is not particularly a suitable place to take young kids as there is little for them to do, although the pool is excellent and very clean. Great for adults and couples or a group of friends! - so if you need a restful, tranquil holiday with generous measures of the local gin, then look no further. Will definitely be going back..
Jon Nicholls

Room Tip: It's worth paying more for a bay view. The rooms on the lower levels are small and the bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having stayed for one week in a sister hotel we moved to Port Mahon for our second week. What a disappointment! Certainly not up to the same standard as the hotel we had just left - in so many areas. We wished we hadn't bothered. I must mention the 3 staff members in the restaurant who were so helpful and friendly. They worked so hard - Elvis, Joanna and the tall young man. The hotel presented as old and tired and living off it's past reputation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 219Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel wonderful views across the bay lovely room but must book a balcony hotel was spotless in fact everything about it was very good except for the food. We booked B/B as we wanted to eat out in the wonderful resturants in mahon but the breakfast did not have any show cooking and was the same every day so no omelettes available and no waiter service. Would come back again just for the situation but they must improve on the food for a 4 star hotel

Room Tip: Room 221 is very good side room with balcony but you have to pay a premium all rooms on the front ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahon
1.0 mi away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
0.9 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
0.8 mi away
Catalonia Mirador d'es Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,164 reviews
24.5 mi away
Port Ciutadella
Port Ciutadella
#3 of 57 in Ciutadella
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Mahon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Mahon

Property: Hotel Port Mahon
Address: Avenida Port de Mao s/n, 07701 Mahon, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Mahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mahon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Port Mahon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Port Mahon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Mahon Mahón

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing