We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely relaxing atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Port Mahon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Port Mahon
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mahon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you want a relaxing break in a beautiful setting then this is the place for you. A fabulous view over Mahon harbour as it is on the next level up. There are a steps down to the harbour opposite the hotel or just down the way there is a lift. The walk along the harbour front is lovely and plenty of choice of places to eat and drink.
The hotel is very pleasant. We had a room overlooking the garden, with a balcony. The room was smaller than we are used to and in need of updating but for the amount of time we spent in it it was sufficient. The walls are thin so you can hear next door's TV and voices if they are loud.
Wifi is good if you need it and you can pay for a safe.
We had been upgraded to half board without realising and we used this facility. The food is very good and there is lots of choice. Sometimes it may be a little lukewarm but generally it was very good so we only ate out twice because we felt we were getting good value. My husband is a fussy eater yet he found lots to enjoy.
Finally and most important to us, the staff are simply brilliant. Efficient, courteous, friendly and incredibly hard working. Martin, Luis, Johanna, Elvis etc, all wonderful people and helped to make our holiday special.
One tip, hire a car and get yourself around the island, there are so many beautiful places to explore. The roads are very good, signage is good and parking is easily available and mostly free. We visited two fiestas which were great fun. Go to SonBou, Sant Thomas, Fornells,
Cuitadella and Sa Mesquida to name but a few.
The hotel does attract people of a certain age (50s up) although there were some children there I do not think it is really the place for children as there is not much for them apart from the pool. Entertainment twice a week, not too bad, other than that it is quiet in the evenings which suited us. Menorca is not a partying island.
So if you just want to unwind and relax then this hotel is for you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank jacchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

First time in Minorca couldn't have picked a better hotel. Stayed 11 days without problems. Good location very quiet location. Handy lift to port 200 yards away. Very good staff, hotel clean, great pool area. Food diverse and always something to enjoy. For a relaxing stress free break it is hard to beat. Not that much to do in Mahon but there is enough if you want to explore. Not that we wanted to do much anyway so no issues.

Room Tip: I would have preferred a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This is our third consecutive stay at the hotel and as usual were greeted by the hotel reception staff remembering us. I had emailed requesting we may have a room overlooking the garden and the email was on our papers and duly given. All staff are very attentive, the atmosphere is relaxed but staff continually ensure the highest standards are maintained. All in all another most enjoyable stay and look forward to returning next year...keep up the excellent standards.
Regards
Mr & Mrs Greener

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candsgreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife & I have been visiting the Port Mahon Hotel for over 25 years, for us it's a relaxing week to do nothing. My wife & I offten walk to the town approx 10 to 15 mins which is very nice, great views all the way.There are lots of restaurants all the way along the harbour for a great choice of food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank maf605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

At first glance one may be forgiven for thinking the Hotel is a product of the 30's with its art deco fittings/ furnishings and marble floor in the main restaurant and reception areas.Not so it was apparently built in 1956 and is situated in a quiet residential part of Mahon about 150 feet above the Marina and promenade area.(or 104 steps) So from a location perspective the position is wonderful and the view from the veranda commandsa wonderful vista over the whole seascape.The staff are very helpful and well informed.As to accommodation well I am not a great fan of wood floor coverings that are obviously stuck down but leave air pockets.Rooms could do with some refurbishment as could the corridor carpets and banisters.The pool is nothing to write home about and don't forget one pays for the use of towels and for that matter the safety deposit box in ones room.
Readers will find all that they need at the breakfast buffet but as far as evening meals go the hotel is hard pressed to compete with the large selection of restaurants on the prom which suits all needs/tastes and about which i shall post some of my recommendations.

If you enjoy hills then Port Mahon is the place to be

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony and sea viewalthough more expensive would be my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bader54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location is good, view from the terrace excellent and the bar staff are friendly and helpful. However, our room is like a dungeon, the food is certainly not 4 star and the reception staff are not at all friendly or helpful. Overall we are disappointed and will not return.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony essential the other rooms are dreadful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I have been visiting the Hotel Port Mahon for 16 years - so what can we say. Its marvellous, rooms spacious (we now have a sea view suite with terrace) but have stayed in 3 different types of room over the years - they do differ in size but all are cleaned thoroughly every day. The views are superb overlooking the outer reaches of Mahon harbour. You are very close to the commercial centre of Mahon and can amble in along the cliff top walk or along the waterside and when you get there the shops are small and individual and there are plenty of tapas bars to try for a quick snack.
The breakfasts cater for all tastes with plenty of choice. We book B&B but do eat in the hotel at their evening buffet a few times for a change from the restaurants. There is plenty of food but we do find that the desserts are not replenished after 9.30 pm even though the restaurant is open until 10.00 pm. We now feel like part of the family as some of the staff have been there as long as we have been visiting - Martin on the bar, Manel & Sylvia on reception. All the staff are friendly and helpful. We always book a hire car for part of our holiday so that we can visit the beautiful beaches on offer on the island - this is easy to do via Reception. The next day you just go and pick up your keys what could be easier!
So if you like to have something to look at from your balcony, good food, a relaxed atmosphere at a hotel without hordes of families and children - you will love the Hotel Port Mahon.

Room Tip: The best and largest are the sea view with terrace junior suites. However, you do pay a premium for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahon
1 mi away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jardi de ses Bruixes
0.8 mi away
Catalonia Mirador d'es Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#4 of 8 in Mahon
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Port Mahon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Port Mahon

Address: Avenida Port de Mao s/n, 07701 Mahon, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Mahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mahon
Price Range: £73 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Port Mahon 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Port Mahon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Mahon Mahón

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing