We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,759)
Filter reviews
1,759 results
Traveller rating
676
681
267
70
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
681
267
70
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool family hotel santo tomas kids club thomson reps sickness bug self service ice cream son bou young children rooms are small soft play area toasties evening entertainment baby room on tap great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
1,462 - 1,467 of 1,759 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

What can we say, loved every minute of this holiday Went as a group of 15. Thomson staff very friendly, excellent with all the children aged between 1 and 10. Thomson holiday advisors were very helpful. Food was to be expected from a 3star, only 2 out of 15 of us didn't really like it but other than that the was always something different. Entertainment was fantastic, great for adults but also kept the kids entertained. Beach was great only a stone throw away however only spent 1 day there as the pool side atmosphere was such fun everyday, especially the famous dive for a prize game which we probably hold the record for!!!! Overall we would recommend this hotel to any family with various aged children and also highly recommended to adults with no children as we meet a few there that just loved the atmosphere. Just a final note... If any of you fab Thomson reps are reading this, then thanks for making our holiday that bit more special and exciting were sure you won't forget us in a hurry!!!! Loud 1's from Sheffield

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natleywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed in Victoria Playa in May 2009 with my husband, my 2 and half old son, my brother in law and his girlfriend. Santa Tomas is small so the local supermarket is quite expensive compared to a more built up competitive town.

The hotel itself is friendly and family orientated. The reps really make an effort to get the adults involved in the sports and my husband and brother in law loved the competition between the reps and the guest. The childrens play area is slightly dated and the foam filled play room is a bit grubby so had to hygiene wipe my little one after he'd been playing in there. There was a small hut at the back of the hotel that had children's activities on such as colouring, painting and crafts. Catered more for the older child, however I stayed in there with my son and he enjoyed listening and copying off the other kids.

The food is slightly repetitive and the childrens cart is basic pizza, chips, sausage for them to self serve but not on the healthy side at all. The evening entertainment is great, with Thomson the dog and varied acts mainly by the reps for the kids and outside entertainment for the adults. Magician, take that tribute, abba and queen tribute bands catered for all of our groups tastes. By 12pm the bar was shut and as it was family orientated most people would be retiring anyway. The room was small for a family but adequate with English channels on the tv so for the time we were in the room my son had children's tv to watch.

Outside of the hotel there was limited shops and bars as Santa Tomas is a quiet town, however the beach was great for an evening stroll and there was a mini golf about 400m from the hotel for some extra fun. The beach is clean and you could easily do a spot of fishing off the rocks.

Enjoyed this holiday, beautiful island would go back if the price was right for half board.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

if u enjoy butlins in the sun, then this is the place to go. the reps were fantastic, always getting the kids involved, taking time out to speak to everyone. the kids clubs were fantasic my children aged 6 and 9 LOVED it, especially the choc-o-lot party(take an old pair of shorts & t-shirt just incase) 5 euros per child, but well worth it to see the kids faces when they came out!!. Pools very clean and the slash pool is brilliant for toddlers.
cant believe its only a 3* hotel, food cant ask for better, my children can be quite fussy but ate everything we pit in front of them, staff in restaraunt couldnt do enough for us.
we had two days of rain but that didnt stop the activities the reps just moved everyone inside and carried on. the walls are paper thin but we put up with it for a week as you cant keep children quiet all the time, it is a family resort so if you dont want to be woken early by children giggling etc dont go!!! very quiet area but safe for children, a stone throw away from a beautiful beach, cant wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsB0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

well what can i say about Victoria Playa-was very apprehensive before we arrived with 3 teenage children 17, 15, 14. For a 3 star hotel it was excellent. We found the staff and reps very friendly, polite and helpful. The staff were constantly cleaning throughout the day to keep the place clean & tidy-our interconnecting rooms were cleaned and bedding changed daily. The rooms werent too bad, but then again i dont go on holiday to stop in a hotel room all day long. the 3 main meals were served in a large very clean restaurant, and yet again, the staff worked constantly clearing the tables. There was a varied selection of soups, stews, cold meats, salads, hot food, desserts and unless you are really very picky, i would have thought anyone would have found it difficult to not find anything to eat.For the reviewer who wrote they expected to be waited on-get a life-its a self service buffet. If you want waiter service go to the Ritz for your holiday next time. Beer, soft drinks, water, tea etc served with each meal(help yourself). All inclusive drinks kicked in 11am-11pm and again was a good selection of spirits, beer, wine & soft drinks all help yourself. Ice creams and sandwiches served between 11am-1pm & 4-6pm.
Kids had a few during our stay but i found once i had my main meals, i didnt feel the need to have sandwiches in between. The ice cream i did have and it was good. Whilst the hotel is geared for smaller children, our teenagers did join in the children and adult activiites which they enjoyed. There was entertainment every night which again i thought was very good. 'Princess Jess', Handy Andy & Gawjus Greg and the other staff of the entertaintment side are a credit to the `thomson team for their relentless work in keeping both the small & 'big kids' entertained.
I must say a big thanks to Wamba in the bar for his excellent cocktails and being a pleasure to talk to.
there were plenty of sun beds and did not have any issues in being able to get them daily. There are shaded areas if you wish to keep out of the sun. The pool is cleaned every morning and the surrounding areas too. Go out of the gate at the bottom of the hotel and down the path and you are on the beach within 30 seconds.
Our rooms were at the front of the hotel and a couple of times it was slightly noisy when people were being picked up to go home, but this didnt bother us too much, nor did the entertainment noise from the hotel over the road(usually stopped about 11.30pm) ocassionally we heard a baby crying, but please bear in mind it is a family hotel and i have had a lot worse from an all adult hotel in Blackpool & Haven holiday site.
PLEASE PLEASE do not be put off going here by some of the minor negative comments from other reviewers. I find that there are some people who will complain and nit pick about anything and never be satisified. I myself can be very picky but i can honestly say this was a great hotel and our teenagers & my husband & I wished we had stopped longer and would go back again.
Go and enjoy your holidayxxx

Room Tip: 202-203 interconnecting rooms at front of hotel
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lynnknapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was our first holiday with our son and his wife and Daughter a two and half year old.
This hotel was ideal for children, lots to do, but I worried about some of the safety aspects, children allowed to run around the bar without any shoes, where there were glasses being broken.
Also in the restaraunt were there was hot food being carried around, parents letting young ones do as they like, even letting them do cartwheels in the restaraunt a peak period, unbelievable.
The playgrounds were of two different heights and slides and climbing frames, I thought the larger of the two (Yellow park) was not safe for younger ones, but parents allowed toddlers on, were in some cases there was a near to six foot drop to the ground and of course there were the odd falls.
It would be better if these access ladders which are metal bar steps are quite spaced out for ittle legs, should have some sort of close spaced net or mesh underneath.
I also thought there had been a E.U. law passed that states all swimming pools in hotels and apartments should have safety rails around the pool to stop little ones falling in, as is the case in Tenerife in the apartments we stayed at in Los Chritianos, this has been the case for two years or more, safety rails around the pool area with gated access by an adult.
We were told a little girl had drowned the week previous at a neighbouring hotel.
Staff were really friendly at this Hotel and could not have been nicer and worked really hard.

Food in the restaraunt was the normal standard for this type of holiday, breakfast's fine and plenty of it if you wanted.
Lunch and evening meal were a bit predictable, the Lamb was as tough as old boots as was the steaks and you knew for a fact the next day would be a rehash of what we had the night before.
We had steak on the menu one night and chicken, low and behold the next day it was pie, I got a portion and got steak, which was exactly like the frying type steak of the night before.
I told my son and he went and got some, what did he get Chicken.
Chicken curry , that bared no resembelance to any curry I have ever had in my life.
I stuck to the fish mainy and it was nice.

All this aside I can say My Grandaughter loved it, the Pool the beach and especially Thomson the dog on the kiddies show,
She loved the pool and the beach and sea and we could just about keep up with her.
So I suppose that was the main thing that she was happy.
But I just think if these issues like the pool and the larger park were addressed it would be much safer and take a lot of worry off parents and Grandparents.
We watched her all the time, she is two and half but looks older and is your typical very inquisitive child.
But a lot of parents just let their children do what they liked and there were a few tears.
The beds were not the most comfortable I have ever slept in and My sons room had hundreds of ants come out of the air con and onto My grandaughters bed had she been in it she would have been covered.
That said they sorted the problem straight away.
If you wanted to get away for a while from all the noise then ideal if you have a room at the back of the hotel , these overlook the sea and a bit of farmland, peacefull and tranquill, for those grandparents who nedd a bit of quiet time.
There is not a lot to do outside of the hotel a few shops 13 euros for a beach ball and 1 euro 40 for a packet of quavers , gives you some idea of prices.
A bar not far away and a couple along the beach, nice walk if you fancy stretching your legs a bit after that meal.

Room Tip: If you want a place to escape for quiet time , choose the rooms at the back of the hotel, sit on the balcony at night and have a drink and read a book, pure heaven.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aspearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews