We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vistamar Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finca Atalis(Migjorn Gran)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 55(Santo Tomas)(Great Value!)
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Sol Beach House Menorca(Santo Tomas)(Great Value!)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Santo Tomas(Santo Tomas)
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca(Son Bou)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Valentin Son Bou(Son Bou)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Globales Lord Nelson(Migjorn Gran)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
28
61
25
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
61
25
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon tomasgas cookerceiling fanon site restaurantsea viewself cateringreliable bus servicepool areano air concrockery and cutleryfrench doorsironing boardtop floorapartment blockthomas restauranthave stayed here many timesgood sized bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Booked a studio last minute and the first impressions when you enter the reception is its clean and well kept. Very helpful staff gave us a map, bus timetable and other leaflets. There is a lift to the studios or stairs if feeling fit.
The studio (106) very well equipped full sized cooker and microwave if you want to cook. No air con but did have a ceiling fan above the bed.and if you left the bathroom door open got a good through breeze. The bed was a little uncomfortable.
The bathroom is very large considering its hidden behind a cupboard door.
Room slightly noisy as it's above the bar and restaurant.
The restaurant is very good but be warned the portions are large, house red wine very good. Bar area with pool table and childrens games. You can also eat from a snack menu (or have takeaway to you room). This leads on to the pool area also very clean lots of beds and umberellas and a gate leads to a path and the beach.
Even though this a a summer resort we really enjoyed it lots of coastal walks which are signposted and a good bus service to both the major cities. On a Tuesday night catch the special bus 1 euro to the next town of Es Migjorn and walk round the market and watch the entertainment eat tapas great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Nice place, It seems that all apartment have a balcony with a sea view, which is really nice as the sun sets above the sea. The apartment has a full equiped kitchen and a big fridge. The bathroom is very spacious. Very quiet resort.
Breakfast :I recommend to walk along the beach for 5 minutes, there is a place offering fantastic breakfast for 8 euros. You'll find everything you can dream of there !!
The only negative point would be the parking. Not enough space and you have to be very careful if you do park on the left side of the building since the parking space is not relative. If you park in the back, you might not be able to get your car out until all the other ones moved...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Myriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at the Vistamar Apartments from 14th to 21st October 2011. It was our first visit to Minorca and we fell in love with it! The transfer from the airport took about half an hour. We arrived about 9pm and had to wait for 5 or 10 minutes for the keys to be brought down from the Hamilton Apartments. In need of a cuppa we discovered we needed matches to boil the kettle on the gas ring. Luckily the previous occupiers had left some matches and a lighter in a drawer, so if you are non-smokers like us arriving late this is something to bear in mind. The supermarkets had closed about 8pm so we had to make do with powdered milk we had brought with us (for just such an emergency). The apartment itself was very clean and the bathroom fully tiled with good lighting. (No hair-dryer provided.) The kitchen had a toaster and a microwave plus a full gas-oven and large fridge-freezer. Our twin beds were comfortable - I don't know what the sofa bed would be like to sleep on but it was okay to sit on. The view from the balcony was fantastic, probably facing south-west as we got magnificent sunsets. I imagine the apartments get very hot during the summer months and wind-down sunshades are provided on each balcony. There was a ceiling fan in our room. We didn't see any ants but, as mentioned in other reviews, there are tips in the brochure provided as to how to avoid them and how to get help if needed. Our sheets and towels were changed mid-week.

The resort itself was very quiet, some hotels had already closed down for the winter. During the week we were there one of the two supermarkets closed as did the Chinese restaurant we were going to try! We were advised to do our food shopping in Es Mijgorn Gran but by the time you have paid bus fare (only about 1euro15 per person each way) and then waited for (and missed in our case) one of the only 5 or 6 buses a day - and ended up paying taxi fare of about 7euros, you might be just as well off shopping locally. If you go to the big towns (both well worth visiting) be aware that the shops shut about 1.30pm to about 3.30pm, so you need to get there early. If you have small children, I saw quite a few little play areas with rocking-horse-on-spring type of ride, also there was at least one area with rope climbing frames etc; these were accessible from the walkway between the beach and the hotels. The Vistamar Apartments had a separate children's paddling pool and also a small play area. If you like walking you can follow the Cami de Cavals along the coast in either direction.

If you need the RC church, the nearest one is in Es Mijgorn Gran and it had a Saturday vigil Mass. However, there is more choice in Ciudadella (and probably Mahon also) and if you have 2 hours to wait for the next bus back to Santo Tomas it is probably better to spend it in a town than in the village, which seemed to have little to offer visitors other than a couple of bars and a supermarket. Buses to Ciudadella and Mahon took about 45 to 50 minutes each way. The fare from Santo Tomas was about 3 euros 15/20 per person each way.

Like most European apartments/hotels, the walls are 'hollow' sounding and in Vistamar the kitchen sink units are the other side of the wall from the beds next door, so people coming in late or leaving early can be heard washing pots, stirring drinks, banging cupboard doors etc. The other problem we had was a seemingly floodlit bedroom - lit by a safety lamp outside our door (all the apartments are reached by an external corridor, with lights on every other apartment wall). There is a small window over each door and the light just filled the room until we found some way of blocking it out. (I have mentioned this problem in the questionnaire left behind with the management.) Then of course there is the noise from the fridge-freezer - which we turned down to a lower setting at night to alleviate the problem. Also our apartment was near the speed-bump on the only road into (and out of) Santo Tomas, not a lot of traffic but more noticeable when you are trying to sleep! So if like me you are a light sleeper, go armed with ear-plugs and an eye mask! It hasn't put me off going again - I had such a lovely time in spite of the reduced sleep!

Room Tip: To avoid noise from overhead apartments, choose floor 3 (top) if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Twoflower71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Our first time to Menorca and the Vistamar Apartments in Santo Tomas the airport transfers were fine any small gripes about the apartment (a bit tired need a spruce up) disappeared when seated on the baalcony watching the magnificent sunsets. It is a quiet resort but that suited us fiftysomethings. We only had booked for a week so didn't do any exploring and we hampered by the fact that Chrissey was still recovering from Hip replacement op.Don Tomas restaurant was very good, Es Bruc also shame about the surly waiting staff. We've already booked to go back next year for 2 weeks and have a car hired to explore more of the island! We booked with low cost holidays via the Internet and had no complaints except their flight prices from Exeter were very high! We've got a better deal via Travel Republic for 2012.

Room Tip: Suggest rooms above ground floor level and for best balcony views rooms ending 09 upwards.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CHRIS w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The Vistamar apartments are in Santa Tomas which is a very small resort in Menorca. The good thing about the apartments is that they are very clean and every room has a sea view. The reception is only open from 9-1pm each day as they have a sister hotel which is just 5 minutes up the road and can be called if you need them.

As we arrived after 1pm one of the waiters in the restaurant rang the sister hotel and it was literally 5 minutes before someone arrived and checked us in. We were then escorted to our room and we were asked if everything was acceptable before the receptionist left.

The apartments are well equipped and have a gas cooker, large fridge with freezer and plenty of cooking pans, crockery and cutlery. They also provide you with tea towels and washing up liquid so no need to take them. Our apartment also thad 2 single beds, a couch, dining room table and 3 chairs and on the balcony table and 3 chairs with clothes airer.

Large bathroom with shower/bath, bidet, washbasin and toilet. Towels changed twice weekly and bedding once.

The reception also provide you with a map and the local bus timetable and this stops literally outside the hotel.

There is an in-house restaurant called Don Tomas which was a mixture of pasta, pizza and normal meals and was of average price.

Book library in reception and we also had a selection of books in our room.

The pool area was lovely and really clean, and you saw them cleaning and testing the water in the main and childrens pool each morning. There were 2 showers and a foot spray in the pool area. Also at the back of the pool area there were steps and a gateway onto a path that went along the shoreline leading to restaurants and to the beach. Made a very pleasant stroll and it had obviously been well thought out.

The only issue we had with the hotel is that they have an ant problem and this is documented in their welcome folder which is in your area. It was especially bad as we had a storm but we raised this with reception and they sprayed instantly, and it did also say in their welcome information to contact them if there was a problem.

You need to be aware that this resort is really quiet and basically there isn't a lot of restaurants and shops. We did have some lovely meals especially at Espins and Malibu, and the chinese Singapur II was ok.

Also be aware that if you book this hotel with Thomson they put you on the coach at Mahon airport and you don't see a rep again until you arrive back at the airport which we weren't expecting and for which we will be escalating our dissatisfaction with them as this wasn't notified to us in advance.

Overall a great hotel, clean, friendly staff, mixed with eating in and out and the weather you will have a good time here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Suesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews