We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For good price she same quality”
Review of Hotel Las Olas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Las Olas
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Brena Baja
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“For good price she same quality”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

It is standard quality hotel with very different level of rooms. There are some very nice rooms in hotel and as well some with crazy location (with "view into wall" or very noisy with main street view etc.). Dinner is average quality and You can search a some other opportunities to take lunch in near surrounding.

Room Tip: "Economy room" could be bad surprise - before taking Your luggages into room first visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poker589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Our stay 12-19 April was marred by poor weather (we had to put blankets on bed at night). We were self-catering and had a huge sitting-room, bedroom, small kitchen & balcony overlooking pool. The kitchen was lacking kettle, toaster (which we found later we could have hired) & only had 1 saucepan. The cleaner did a good job & all staff were efficient & friendly. Hotel quiet but noise from people in room above us. We paid for 2 breakfasts & 1 dinner, very reasonably priced & excellent variety. No shop in hotel, but a good well-stocked supermarket just down the hill next to Restaurant Sadi. None of the 3 pools was heated & hardly anyone swam - the water was too cold. Pool surround attractive. Beach 15 mins walk away & black sand so not very attractive. No parasols there. A few good restaurants nearby: El Rincon, Bodeguita, Tascavasca. Lots of places closed & Santa Cruz (a pretty town) very quiet. Buses cheap & fairly frequent, except Sundays. We hired a car for 2 days (from Avia, next to hotel) & went to south and north of island - good roads. Took Thomson trip to Caldera de Taburiente etc - frightening drive in large coach with hundreds of hairpin bends. Lots of huge volcanic mountains & lovely forests and flowers. Tazacorte, other side of island, pretty place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suemoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The hotel is ideally located for holidays in La Palma. Bus stop, restaurants, the beach, car rentals, groceries etc. are just round the corner. It is also close to the airport, but - fear not. There are very few planes landing on La Palma. During our stay there were never more than 8 per day - there are very few regular conections to La Palma. Planes never fly at night. Comparing to West London - an island of silence.
Rooms are very generous in size, well maintained, in very good decorative order, very comfortable.
Two remarks - the hotel does not provide two bedroom apartments, so in case of family with teenagers you either squeeze in single bedroom apartment (doable, but a bit inconvenient) or book two single bedroom apartments (doable, but more expensive and not very supportive of family life). Secondly - the wheels of cleaning ladies' troleys are disastrously loud. If you dream about sleeping out your problems, catching up with your naps - forget it. Practically during the whole day the rumble of troleys being pushed through corridors, on pavements outside, in rooms above cannot be overheard. Planes are nothing comparing to this.
The staff was always very friendly and supportive. We would like to great Petra, who was always very professional, helpful and solved every of our few problems.
In terms of management we were a bit put of with the large deposits (15 euro) asked for every item rented from the reception. The hotel either suffered from pool-towel-thieves in the past? Anyway - it was extremely inconvenient to carry 15 euro in cash anytime you want to have some fun in the hotel. This distrust was also quite discouraging.
The hotel restaurant offers good quality food and nice ambiance, however we preferred to eat outside just to experience a bit of La Palma's ordinary life. Eating in Las Olas was always a very good option in terms of quality, variety and price anyway and we used this backup few times.
The pool. Great, nice retreat, well maintained etc. etc. however based on the pre-travel information we were expecting one of the pools to be heated. And it was not. I have to admit that at the end we were swimming in the pool anyway, despite the freezing entrance. But lack of heated pool was a disappointment.
Entertainment - we are not fans, but the Spanishman with the guitar was such a delight that we spent the evening listening to his music. Good selection of books in the micro-free-library. We stayed in La Palma building. There is a nice restaurant on the ground floor, playing jazz in the weekends. Absolute hit.

Room Tip: We can recommend La Palma building. All rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zimag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was our second stay in 2 years at Las Olas Aparthotel on arguably the greenest Canary island of them all, Santa Cruz de La Palma. Plus points - the hotel/car rental deal is very good value, the hotel comfortable with all the usual facilities and mature gardens with interesting flowering trees and bushes. We opted for half-board which includes more than sufficient breakfast choices with lots of fresh fruit (but why oh why is the orange juice a diluted cordial and not real orange juice, this is Spain after all !) and the evening buffet style meal was fine and changed every day. The staff are friendly and helpful with cleaning every day, towels changed as necessary and linen once; not all the rooms with views have balconies though, so specify when you book. There is a fridge and small kitchen with 2 hotplates, enough to boil water and make coffee etc. Airport transfer time to this quiet location is exceptional, 10 minutes. We had a good holiday with sun (February both times) but it has to be said the hotel and furnishings are now looking a little tired, just one BBC World Channel and CNN on a pre-flat screen, small box TV with 12 Spanish channels is barely sufficient these days. Overall, very good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brena Baja
0.2 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
936 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
558 reviews
12.3 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis San Antonio
Oasis San Antonio
#2 of 13 in Brena Baja
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Cerrito Apartamentos
El Cerrito Apartamentos
#3 of 13 in Brena Baja
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas

Property: Hotel Las Olas
Address: Calle Cancajos S/n, 38712 Brena Baja, La Palma, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Brena Baja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Brena Baja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Olas 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas La Palma/Brena Baja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing